DeGraff OH: The VORES Series front wheel drive cars headlined the nights action at Shady Bowl Speedway Saturday (6/14). The group based out of Indiana, are branching out to compete in several midwest speedways. Gary Eaton of West Liberty dominated the nights action as he set fast time and led the last 25 laps of the feature in his Sarica MFG Honda. Cousin Terry Eaton was second, but was not quite quick enough to pass Gary. Chris Jennings, Chris Crozier and Les Rhodes rounded out the top five.Terry Eaton and Tommy Bigelow notched heat wins

The  late model 35 lap feature was a wild affair with lots of close action. Early leader Austin led thru lap 15 before an oil leak sent him to the pits. Brad Coons then took over for the next seven laps before losing it to former track champion Nathan Herron . Herron had been involved in a early skirmish that forced him to restart at the rear of the field. Herron was a man on a mission in his Helman Brothers Body Shop Chevy  as he set sail on the high groove  to take the win.

Coons was second, with John Stroble third, Mark Parker fourth and Jacob Muncy fifth.Greg Stapleton set  fast time, with Dylan Troyer taking the dash and Brock  Coyer the heat.

Brad Williams of Huber Heights OH in his JP Motorsports ride won the modified main as he and fast qualifier Shane Shirk battlled which had the fans up and cheering their favorite driver . Shirk could only watch as Williams took the checker.. Greg Stapleton. Joe Pequignot  and Logan McPherson. Williams took the dash, with heat checkers going to Greg Winget and Chris Parker.

Jim Lewis Jr of Fairborn proved to be the fastest car on this night in his E.M. Wicks Industrial Tools street stock. Bo Hoelscher ran a very smooth and fast race to finish second. Ray Muncy.Scott Sullenberger and Dave Sage rounded out the top finishers., Sage was fast qualifier. Lewis was the dash winner, with Sullenberger taking the heat.

The Pro 4’s rounded out the night, with Justin Meed taking the feature and posting quick time. Matt Thompson, David Gertsner, Paul Hazelett and Chevy Goodson filled the top five spots.

The Saturday night 6/23 will be the annual “Bob Korn Memorial” for the late models. It will feature a 72 lap feature paying $1720.00 to win. The Modifieds, Street Stocks and Compacts will also be on the racing card. Racing will start at 7.


Shady Bowl Results 06-14-14


Fast Qualifier: Gary Eaton Jr.  15.716

Heat Winners: Terry Eaton Jr. and Tommy Bigelow

Feature: 1. Gary Eaton Jr. 2. Terry Eaton Jr. 3. Chris Jennings 4. Chris Crozier 5. Leslie Rhodes 6. David Callahan 7. Jeff Isbell 8. Steve Vore 9. Tommy Bigelow 10. Donny Bigelow 11. Phil ILiff 12. Nick Barrett 13. Greg Isbell 14. Kevin McCoy 15. Robbie Taylor 16. J R Vester 17. Ron Masters

Late Models:

Fast Qualifier: Greg Stapleton 13.668

Dash Winner: Dylan Troyer

Heat Winner: Brock Coyer

Feature: 1. Nathan Herron 2. Brad Coons 3. John Stroble 4. Mark Parker 5. Jacob Muncy 6. Josh Smith 7. Dylan Troyer 8. Russ Bobb 9. Chris Prater 10. Chris Abbott 11. Brock Coyer 12. Austin Troyer 13. Greg Stapleton


Fast Qualifier:  Shane Shirk  13.772

Dash Winner: Brad Williams

Heat Winners:  Chris Parker and Greg Winget

Feature: 1. Brad Williams 2. Shane Shirk 3. Greg Stapleton 4. Joe Pequignot 5. Logan McPherson 6. Chris Parker 7. Rob Yelton 8. Greg Winget 9. Ray Muncy 10. Mike Pippin 11. Kevin Bloxam 12. Grant Gamble 13. Carl Stapleton 14. Buddy Townsend 15. Brad Yelton

Street Stocks:

Fast Qualifier: Dave Sage 15.144

Dash Winner: Jim Lewis Jr.

Heat Winner: Scott Sullenberger

Feature: 1. Jim Lewis Jr. 2. Bo Hoelscher 3. Ray Muncy 4. Scott Sullenberger 5. Dave Sage 6. Josh Sage 7. Rodney Roush 8. Richard Roush 9. Robert Roush 10. Dan Hall 11. John Gendrow 12. Andy Heath 13. Roger Roush

Pro 4’s:

Fast Qualifier:  Justin Meed 14.450

Feature: 1. Justin Meed 2. Matt Thompson 3. David Gertsner 4. Paul Hazlett 5. Chevy Goodson

Track PR – Issac Photos


Eaton Wins VORES Race at Shady Bowl