What won the race: A caution on lap forty of the fifty lap event would see race long leader #81 Andrew Gressel line up beside #48 Dwayne Baker. After a couple of false starts as each driver was looking for the slightest advantage, the two raced side by side for the next five laps. Baker was able to pull the pass off and went on to lead the final five laps to win the first annual Bruce Gowland Memorial event. Gressel held on to second adding to his points lead over #17 Kevin Cornelius who rounded out the podium. Jeff Hanley and Jesse Kennedy rounded out the top five in the feature event.

Bad Luck of the event: #39 Shane Gowan never got the chance to compete for the win in the feature event as mechanical issues sidelined the team early. #82 Corey Jones made slight contact with the #70 of Hanley coming out of turn four and stacked up the field. The #82 suffered heavy front end damage and was done for the night.  Coming into this event Rob Poole and Glenn Watson were tied for fourth in the points, both teams suffered through a feature event that would see both involved in a couple of incidents.

Rookie Battle: Three Rookie of the Year candidates were in attendance this weekend at Sunset Speedway. Dave Doucette took advantage of his outside pole starting spot in the feature to record a seventh place finish in the feature and the honours of the top rookie of the race. Kelly Balson scored a ninth place finish and Corey Jones was twentieth after retiring with damage.

Car Count: 22

Top qualifier: #10 Jesse Kennedy

Pole Sitter: #07 Todd Campbell

Heat Race winners: #48 Dwayne Baker x2, #10 Jesse Kennedy x2 , #81 Andrew Gressel 1, #17 Kevin Cornelius

Top Five in points: 1st #81 Andrew Gressel 606 pts, 2nd #17 Kevin Cornelius 565 pts, 3rd #10 Jesse Kennedy, 4th #22 Glenn Watson, 5th #45 Rob Poole

Next Series Event: Peterborough Speedway August 30, 2014

Feature Finish: 1) #48 Dwayne Baker, 2) #81 Andrew Gressel, 3) #17 Kevin Cornelius, 4) #70 Jeff Hanley, 5) #10 Jesse Kennedy, 6) #54 Mike Beyore, 7) #44 Dave Doucette, 8) #07 Todd Campbell, 9) #b10 Kelly Balson, 10) #51 Dave Taylor, 11) #64 Chris Burrows, 12) #40p Charlie Gallant, 13) #22 Glenn Watson, 14) #57 Craig Stevenson, 15) #45 Rob Poole, 16) #13 Gary Passer, 17), #91 Mike Westwood, 18) #42 Tyler Hawn, #19) Ron Hollis, 20) #82 Corey Jones, 21) #67 Rob Riemer, 22) #39 Shane Gowan

OSCAAR 2014 Partners: Crane Cams Hanover Holidays Hoosier Tire, Jenco Equipment, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, Knightworks Designs Ltd, McGunegill Engine Performance, Midas of Orangeville, North Toronto Auction, Ontario Oval, Race Time Radio, Race2way, Reinhardt Trailers, South Shore Services, Stefko Race Engines

Follow OSCAAR: www.oscaar.ca on twitter @OSCAARRacing, on face book at OSCAAR Racing

Series PR – Dale Little Photo

Dwayne Baker wins Inaugural Bruce Gowland Memorial