Dustin Mitchell Masters Late Models at Lake View

LAKE VIEW, SC – Pine Level, NC’s Dustin Mitchell qualified on the pole and dominated to score the Late Model win in the regular season opener Saturday night at Lake View Motor Speedway.


Mitchell jumped out front entering turn one ahead of outside polesitter Shaun Harrell.  The best battle on the track was a back-and-forth fight for third between rivals Willie Milliken and Christian Thomas.  The only caution of the night waved with 10 laps to go when Matt Pridgen took a lazy ride over the turn two embankment.  In the end, Mitchell led every lap to take the win over Harrell, Thomas, Taylor Puckett, and Milliken.  Rounding out the top ten were Michael Marlowe, Steven Blanton, Zachary Cox, Pridgen, and David Baker.


Polesitter Cameron Norris, IV took the lead on lap two, leading the rest of the way for the win in the debut of the new Carolina Outlaw Super Street Series event.  Benji Thompson got the lead on lap one but a flat right rear on lap two sent him to the rear of the field after a pit stop.  Scott Neighbors had a rough night after getting into the inside guardrail on a restart.  Chris Powers, Jerry Johnson, Johnny Moore and others were caught up in an incident entering turn one on a restart.  Following Norris at the checkered flag were Ron Pope, Michael Freeman, Thompson, and Jerry Johnson.


Dustin Parker took the lead at the drop of the green flag and led the rest of the way for the 602 Modified win.  Case Daniels and several other contenders were eliminated after getting caught up with a lapped car.  Following Parker at the finish were Eric Bentley, Greg Cain, JP Cascell, and Tyler Kussman.


Polesitter Mike Manes got the advantage over Zach Blackwell at the start and led to the finish of a time limit shortened Crate Racin’ USA Street Stock race.  After a caution for a spin by Kerry Foster, Tyler Doyle slammed the turn four wall on the ensuing restart, but was okay.  Behind Manes and Blackwell at the finish were Matt Spigner, Michael Butler, and Tanner Rodanis.


Defending SCDRA Sport Compact track champion, Derek Kemper, led every lap for the win. Calvin Miller was running a strong second, but went over the turn two embankment with two laps to go to end his night.  Behind Kemper at the finish were Kyle Jenks, Andrew Rabon, Ronnie Perritt, and Jason Brown.


Ian Padgett led flag-to-flag for his first Stock V8 win at Lake View.  Rounding out the top five were Ed Mason, James Smith, Tim Lovett, and Jaden Locklear.


The next event at Lake View Motor Speedway will be the 2nd Annual JD Pridgen Memorial on Saturday night, April 3rd, featuring the Blue Ridge Outlaw Late Models, as well as the 602 Open Wheel Modifieds, Crate Racin’ USA Street Stocks, Stock V8s, SCDRA Sport Compacts, and Bell & Bell Vintage Cars.  For more information, please “Like” Lake View Motor Speedway on Facebook, follow @LakeViewDirt on Twitter or by visiting lakeviewmotorspeedway.com.


-Lake View Motor Speedway Press Release


Dustin Mitchell Masters Late Models at Lake View