2011 Midwest Tour Champion, Andrew Morrissey, has three series wins, one coming at Elko Speedway and one coming at Madison International Speedway. His most recent win was this year on Memorial Day at Illiana Motor Speedway where he made an impressive late race pass on a restart going from third to first and holding off the rest of the field. He was also the 2005 NASCAR Elite Division Rookie of the Year.


In 2006, Kyle Calmes showed the way in the limited late model division at Wisconsin International Raceway and locked up the championship with four feature victories. Calmes ran for Rookie of the Year and was a Midwest Touring Star in 2007. In 2008, Calmes finished second to Steve Carlson in the Dixieland event at WIR.


22 year-old Austin Luedtke from Beechwood, WI found success at an early age. He was the 2011 Super Late Model Rookie of the Year at Wisconsin International Raceway, the Midwest Truck Tour Rookie of the Year, and was part of one of the most exciting championship points battles to date. He and Jerry Wood tied in points for the Truck Tour championship, but Jerry Wood took the crown having two wins that season.


If you’ve made a trip to Slinger Super Speedway within the last 10 years, then you’ve heard the name, Steve Apel. In 2006, Apel was the Super Late Model Rookie of the Year. In both 2011 and 2012, he finished second in the point standings. But in 2013, he came back on a mission and clinched the Slinger Speedway Super Late Model Championship. He returned in 2014 to make it back-to-back championships.


Appleton, WI native, Andy Monday, was the 2003 Late Model Track Champion at Wisconsin International Raceway, and a former track record holder. He was also a past WIR Sport Truck Champion. Monday found victory lane in the Red, White, and Blue Series, winning feature events in 2007, 2012, and 2013.


Cardell Potter has captured some of the most prestigious snowmobile victories in the Midwest. He was crowned the 2015 Eagle River World Champion, which in the snowmobile world, doesn’t get any better. He started racing asphalt late models in 2011. Potter was the 2014 winner of the ARCA Midwest Tour Larry Detjens Sportsmanship Award. In 2014, Potter was the highest finishing ARCA Midwest Touring Star in the Howie Lettow Memorial at the Milwaukee Mile, against top stars like Johnny Sauter and John Hunter Nemechek.


Jacob Goede is, as they say, “on a roll” at Elko Speedway in Elko, MN. In 2014, Goede won seven super late model features and went on to win his first ever track championship. This past Saturday night, Goede won his eighth feature out of the 12 that have been run so far in 2015, in what appears may be the road to a second track championship. In 2009, Goede was the Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year. He has two Midwest Tour victories, one in 2007 and one in 2009. One of Goede’s most memorable race wins came in a late model event in 2007 at the high banks of Bristol Motor Speedway.


Another former Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year, Nick Murgic, will be joining the field at Wisconsin International Raceway. Murgic was the 2008 Midwest Tour ROY and has one fast qualifier award in the series. Nick has three NASCAR Whelen All-American Series feature wins at Elko Speedway. One of those was an event his father, Steve Murgic, won in 1993, the Dwain Behrens Memorial.


Dalton Zehr has recorded over 45 super late model feature wins in his young career. He is the 2014 TUNDRA Super Late Model Series Champion. He was also the 2014 Rookie of the Year at Wisconsin International Raceway. In 2013, Zehr was the Norway Speedway Champion, as well as the ASA Racing National Champion. His most recent win came last Saturday night at State Park Speedway in Wausau, WI in the TUNDRA Series.


Stay tuned as we continue to highlight the best short track drivers in the country making their way to the Dixieland 250 on Tuesday, August 4th.


The ARCA Midwest Tour will also be joined by the Big 8 Series on Tuesday night, August 4th. The grandstands will open at 4:00pm. Qualifying will begin at 5:00pm, opening ceremonies will be at 6:15 and racing at 7:00pm. See you there!


-ARCA Midwest Tour Press Release. Photo credit: Kulwicki Driver Development Program

Drivers Line Up for Their Shot at Dixieland 250 Crown