Drake Makes Long-Awaited Return to Victory Lane

Nearly six years had passed since Nick Drake’s last trip to a victory lane anywhere.  That changed Saturday night, as Drake took the $1,000 win in the Non-Wing Micro Sprint feature at Millbridge Speedway (NC) to kick off DIAEDGE NC Race Week.


Drake took the win in the 30-lap feature, taking the lead on lap 19 and taking the checkered flag ahead of John Nicholson, Jr.


The victory was Drake’s first since a victory at Phoenix Raceway in what was then the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West in 2014.


“It’s been probably six years since I’ve won anything,” said Drake in victory lane.  “The last one was a K&N race at Phoenix.  There hasn’t been much of anything since then.”


Drake inherited the lead when Chase Cabre slowed and pulled to the infield.  While Drake commiserated with Cabre, he knew other chances of his own to win had slipped by earlier in the season, and was pleased to see fortunes shine on him Saturday night.


“Cabre was quite a bit better than us, but here we are.  I’ve had a chance to win two of these, and got up into a lapped car spinning in front of me or something.  It’s tough to avoid them, but someone’s got to avoid them.”


It was also a strong night for Drake’s younger brother, Trevor Cline.  Cline raced his way from 13th to fourth, catching the eye of his big brother.


“He’s 12 years old and probably better than I’ll ever be already,” said Drake.  “It’s fun. It’s a good family affair.”


DIAEDGE NC Race Week continues Sunday, September 6, with Micro Sprint teams putting the wings on their machines for another $1,000-to-win feature.  Millbridge’s four Outlaw Kart divisions will also be in action, with the Open Division racing for $1,000 as well.


Fans will be able to watch Sunday’s race with a subscription to Speed51.TV by clicking here.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo


  1. Nick Drake
  2. John Nicholson, Jr.
  3. Hunter Kohn
  4. Trevor Cline
  5. Caden Englehart
  6. Matt Jones
  7. Tim Nye
  8. Austin Barnhill
  9. Matt Francis
  10. Ethan Burdett
  11. Jay Fabian
  12. Joey Robinson
  13. Chase Cabre
  14. Nick Fauci
  15. Brett Carruth
  16. Sam Corry

Drake Makes Long-Awaited Return to Victory Lane