Scott Dragon of Colchester returned to Thunder Road victory lane during the American Racer event on Thursday, June 26. Dragon piloted his Richard Green ride to an uncontested win as the 50 lap Late Model event went wire-to-wire caution free. It was Dragon’s second career Thunder Road Late Model win with his last coming in May of 2003.

Dragon rocketed to the point from the outside pole and was followed by Jason Allen. The duo built a large lead over the remainder of the field as Ricky Roberts and rookie Josh Demers battled side-by-side for several laps. Roberts finally got the advantage late in the event and broke away for third. Joey Laquerre and Emily Packard followed to complete the top five. Demers slipped to sixth followed by Nick Sweet, Cody Blake, Derrick O’Donnell and John Donahue rounding out the top ten.

Burlington’s Darrell Morin became the second repeat winner of the 2014 season at Thunder Road. He got the advantage after a fierce battle with Eric Johnson for the lead. Morin gained the advantage just before halfway of the 35 lap event. Tucker Williams followed him by Johnson and began the chase for Morin. Williams got to Morin’s back bumper with two to go but ran out of time to contest for the win. Brendan Moodie used the high lane to take third followed by point leader Jason Woodard and Joe Steffen completing the top five. Johnson faded to sixth followed by George May, Cameron Ouellette, Jeff Bousquet, and Christopher Pelkey rounding out the top ten in the caution free event.

Jamie Davis of Wolcott became the first repeat winner at Thunder Road in 2014 when he claimed his second Allen Lumber Street Stock win of the season. He came from the 11th starting position and with the help of several early cautions, took over the lead before halfway. He held off a hard charging Garry Bashaw as they fought through lapped traffic late in the 25 lap event. Davis and Bashaw were followed across the line by Donnie Yates, Bunker Hodgdon and Jaden Perry. Kyle Streeter, Troy Kingsbury, Will Hennequin, Marcel Gravel and Alan Maynard completed the top ten.

The LaForest brothers of Barre made it 1-2 at the front of the Rough Rider finish. Kevin took first while Chris settled for second after the tie breaker in the two segment, lowest combined score event. Paul Dudley completed the podium.

Thunder Road International Speedbowl will be back in action next Thursday, July 3 for Northfield Savings Bank Night. The event will feature all four divisions of racing followed by the annual holiday fireworks show. There will also be Kid’s Race Car Rides from 4:00pm until 4:40pm. Racing will begin at 6:30pm.

Story and Photo from Track Website

American Racer Night
Thunder Road – Barre, VT
Thursday, June 26, 2014

Late Model Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver (Car #) Hometown
1. Scott Dragon (16vt) Colchester, VT

2. #Jason Allen (29vt) Barre, VT

3. Ricky Roberts (3vt) E. Barre, VT

4. Joey Laquerre (15vt) East Montpelier, VT

5. Emily Packard (9me) E. Montpelier, VT

6. #Josh Demers (10vt) Montpelier, VT

7. Nick Sweet (88vt) Barre, VT

8. Cody Blake (99vt) Barre, VT

9. Derrick O’Donnell (60vt) N. Haverhill, NH

10. John Donahue (26vt) Graniteville, VT

11. Lance Allen (17vt) Barre, VT

12. Brooks Clark (68vt) Fayston, VT

13. Phil Scott (14vt) Middlesex, VT

14. Eric Chase (40vt) Milton, VT

15. #Eric Badore (4vt) Milton, VT

16. Jason Corliss (66vt) Barre, VT

17. Dave Pembroke (44vt) Middlesex, VT

18. Trampas Demers (85vt) S. Burlington, VT

19. Brett Gervais (11nh) Island Pond, VT

20. Kyle Pembroke (27vt) Montpelier, VT

21. Shawn Fleury (1vt) Middlesex, VT

22. Boomer Morris (13vt) Barre, VT


Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver (Car #) Hometown

1. Darrell Morin (17) Burlington, VT

2. Tucker Williams (11) Hyde Park, VT

3. Brendan Moodie (94) Wolcott, VT

4. Jason Woodard (68) Waterbury Ctr., VT

5. Joe Steffen (00) Grand Isle, VT

6. Eric Johnson (20) Randolph Ctr. VT

7. George May (16) Barre, VT

8. Cameron Ouellette (90) Barre, VT

9. Jeff Bousquet (44) Worcester, VT

10. Christopher Pelkey (64) S. Barre, VT

11. #Caleb Nelson (07) Moretown, VT

12. Mike Billado (8) Essex, VT

13. Scott Coburn (1) Barre, VT

14. Mike Martin (01) Craftsbury Cmn, VT

15. Doug Crowningshield (14) Barre, VT

16. Joel Hodgdon (36) Craftsbury, VT

17. Dylan Payea (7) Milton, VT

18. #Shawn Franklin (76) Waitsfield, VT


Allen Lumber Street Stocks Unofficial Results
Pos. Driver (Car #) Hometown
1. Jamie Davis (43) Wolcott, VT

2. Garry Bashaw (4) Lincoln, VT

3. Donny Yates (05) N. Montpelier, VT

4. Bunker Hodgdon (83) Hardwick, VT

5. Jaden Perry (92) Hardwick, VT

6. Kyle Streeter (37) Waitsfield, VT

7. Troy Kingsbury (39) Waitsfield, VT

8. Will Hennequin (47) Morrisville, VT

9. Marcel J. Gravel (86) Wolcott, VT

10. Alan Maynard (10) Fairfax, VT

11. Jamon Perry (62) Hardwick, VT

12. Tyler Austin (5) E. Calais, VT

13. Patrick Tibbetts (48) Barre, VT

14. Gary Mullen (29) Tunbridge, VT

15. Tommy Smith (50) Williamstown, VT

16. #Thomas Merchant (38) Eden Mills, VT

17. Keith Fortier (35) Hinesburg, VT

18. Jennifer Getty (25) Cambridge, VT

19. Mike Gay (3) So. Burlington, VT

20. Scott Maynard (59) Burlington, VT

21. Josh Vilbrin (07) Northfield, VT

22. Tommy Elwood (88) Morrisville, VT

23. Paul Grant (46) E. Calais, VT

24. #Kyle Chapin (75) Hardwick, VT

25. Dave Whitcomb (77) Morrisville, VT

26. Kevin Dodge (8) Barre, VT


Rough Rider Unofficial Results
Pos. (Car #) Driver, Hometown, Seg. 1, Seg. 2, Total
1. (49) Kevin LaForest, Barre, VT, 2, 2, 4

2. (56) Chris LaForest, Barre, VT, 1, 3, 4

3. (42) Paul Dudley, Waitsfield, VT, 4, 1, 5

4. (3) Mike Forsey, Westford, VT, 3, 4, 7

5. (Cheetah) Dave Whitcomb, Morrisville, VT, 5, 5, 10

6. (Flower) Aren Keene, E. Hardwick, VT, 6, 6, 12

Dragon Wins First at Thunder Road Since 2003