The “super moon” of the night helped to provide plenty of wild action for the fans on John Poor Memorial night at Bear Ridge Speedway on Saturday August 9, 2014.

Chris Donnelly, the current points leader in the DIRTcar Bond Auto Sportsman Modifieds, seemed to be in a bit of a funk of late, but the full moon mojo pushed that funk away.  Mike Dunn appeared to be having his best performance of the season leading  31 of the 40 laps. Dunn would succumb to Ed Patterson and eventually slip back to fourth before the checkers waived.  Paterson’s time at the point was short lived as Donnelly took away the lead with six to go and cruised on to his fifth win of the season from his eighteenth starting position. Patterson was able to hold onto second, not allowing Gary Siemons, who ending up advancing one position to finish third, his fourth visit to victory lane this season.  Robert Tucker and Bryan King completed the top-five.

It was madness night for the DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Pro Stock Sportsman Coupes, with over $8000.00 on the line and 116 laps to be run. Starting on the pole in the first segment was rookie Michael Danforth by virtue of acquiring the most laps (44 ) for the event. Unfortunately his time at the point was short lived as Jason Colbeth, the current points leader, grabbed the lead on lap three and held on to the point until the checkers were out and Josh Harrington nipped him at the line to win segment number one.

Segment two started with the field being inverted from the first segment, and at the checkers it was rookie Brian Chaffee taking the win. Colbeth came back in segment three for the win and by one point was claimed the overall winner over Josh Harrington.

After a super moon start in segment one the drivers were able to get things under control with segments two and three going off without a hitch. Third place was a tie between Brian Chaffee, Thomas Placey and Jeff Robbins. Their third segment finish broke the tie with Placey claiming third, Robbins in fourth and Chaffee in fifth.

Speedway Illustrator Karl Fredrickson was in the house on Saturday night in the 76x Manafort team car in the USAC DMA Midgets. The laps ticked off quickly and Fredrickson was only able to advance to 16th.

The kid on the move and looking poised to be only the second driver of the year to beat out Adam Pierson was Jeff Champagne. Champagne, back in his own car after mechanical issues, started on point and led the field through 24 rotations around the track. Unfortunately for Champagne the race was one lap to many as Pierson grabbed the lead on the last lap to take the checkers. Champagne finished second with Dean Christensen coming home in third. Scott Viets and Joe Krawiec finished the top five.

It was “super moon” mania for the Laquerre’s Sports Limited Late Models. With the point leader off for the night everyone else seemed to struggle to keep their noses clean and machines in one piece. When it was finally over Mike Greene III claimed his first win of the season with Matt Lashua coming home in second and Kevin Harran in third, both with their first visits to victory lane.

Charlie Lakin was able to narrow the gap  to within four points for the points lead as a result of  his win and Mike Ryan’s fourth-place finish. Bobby Bell came home in second for the feature with Rob Gioia coming in third. Hornets Mike Ryan and Sean Perron completed the top-five.

Bear Ridge Speedway’s 47th season of stock car racing continues on Saturday, August 16th for the ROCK99 Weekly Racing with the Bradford Bull Dogs benefit night sponsored by Swenson Insurance. The card will include the weekly Bond Auto Parts DIRTcar Sportsman Modified, Wells River Chevrolet DIRTcar Pro Stock Sportsman Coupe, Laquerre’s Sports Limited Late Model, Weglarz Property Service Fast Four, and KDD NAPA Auto Parts Hornet divisions. Plus the Granit State Mini Sprints and Sprint Cars of New England. Plus Kids Rides! USAC DMA Midgets-off.

Special show admission pricing applies $13 for adults (age 18-61), $10 for teens (12-17) and seniors (62+), and $2 for children. Visa and MasterCard are accepted. Racing begins at the famous “6:00-ish” start time.

Bear Ridge Speedway is located on Kidder Road in Bradford, VT, just off Exit 16 on Interstate 91. For more information, call (802) 222-4052 or visit

-Bear Ridge Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit: Alan Ward


99ROCK Weekly Racing Series

Bear Ridge Speedway — Bradford, VT

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Bond Auto DIRTcar Sportsman Modified Feature (40 laps)

20         Chris     Donnelly

27         Ed        Patterson

5          Gary     Siemons

42t        Robert Tucker

X          Bryan    King

24         Jordan  Fornwalt

73         Kevin    Chaffee

OO       Jason   Gray

11         Josh     Sunn

15         Adam   Pierson

4          DJ        Robinson®

1x         TC        Forward®

91         Tim       Tucker

10         Derek   Graham

42c       Josh     Currier

O1        Mike     Gendron

77         Alan      Hammond

1B        Derek   Barker

34         Richie   Simmons

28         Bob      Shepard

10s       Ryan     Christian®

9          Mike     Dunn (dq’d)


DIRTcar Wells River Chevrolet Pro Stock Sportsman Coupe Feature (116 laps)

18           Jason     Colbeth

71           Josh       Harrington

22           Thomas                Placey

4              Jeff        Robbins

16           Brian      Chaffee ®

81           Louie     Cadwell

44           Michael                Danforth

26           Logan    Oliver®

3              Jason     Horniac

8              Teddy   Salomaa

43           Earl         Maxham

24           Jeremy Beckley

33           Melvin  Pierson

13           Buster   Kathan

14           Mitchell Frost®

21           Matt      Ellsworth

32           Jerry      Catterall


USAC DMA Midgets (25 laps)

76m      Adam   Pierson

77         Jeff      Champagne

9          Dean    Christensen

2          Scott    Viets

6          Joe       Krawiec

76         Josh     Sunn

47         Scott    Holcomb

1w        Ray      Miller

12         Adam   Whitney

5          Tim       Hodge

33         Tim       Gallant

18c       Mike     Chaffee

57         Dylan    Duhaime

24         Tom      Thompson

11r        Alex      Rose

76x       Karl      Fredrickson

11v       Vince    Lucca

1R        Jeff      Horn

21         Lauryn  Burd

78         Stan     Otterman


Laquerre’s Sports Limited Late Model Feature (20 laps)

29           Mike      Greene III

18           Matt      Lashua

57           Kevin     Harran®

3              Travis    King

2              Derrick  Stearns®

OO         Brandon Gray

91           James   Fadden


Weglarz Property Service Fast Fours/KDD NAPA of Bradford Ridge Runner Hornets (20 laps)

3              Charlie        Lakin

24           Bobby         Bell

4              Rob              Gioia

86           Mike            Ryan

8              Sean            Perron

71           Cody            Stearns®

36           Kodi             Sabins

87           Don              Reynolds

23           Jason           Porter

17           Deven         Stearns®

56           Chris            LaForest

21           Russ             Coutu

7              Brian            Bishop

Donnelly Ends “Funk” with DIRTcar Win at Bear Ridge