SITKA, KENTUCKY — The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by would sanction the Paul H. Salyer Memorial at 201 Speedway on Friday and Zack Dohm of Cross Lanes, WV would take the lead on lap eleven and would never be seriously challenged the remainder of the way, grabbing a $10,000 payday. The Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series would also be in action for the Wince Mayabb Memorial and Clayton Miller of Elkton, KY would lead all twenty-five laps of the event in route to a $1,500 victory.


Dohm’s victory would be his second career Iron-Man Series victory and first of 2018 and would come behind the wheel of the Dohm’s Cycles, Hoosier Tire, Octane Race Products sponsored #17 Swartz Race Car powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine. For Miller, it would be his third career Iron-Man tour win and first of the season and would take place aboard the Lexington Landscape, Wall Construction, C. Blackwell Construction, Hustlin’ Lawn Care, Quick Car, Wyatt-Johnson sponsored #15 Brucebilt Chassis entry.


R.J. Conley would take the lead at the start of the event, with Zack Dohm and Jeremy Burwanger battling for second, with Dohm taking the position on lap two, while Jason Jameson and Brandon Fouts would chase Burwanger for third. Dohm would reel in Conley for the lead and would take the top spot on lap eleven as the lead pair began to encounter slower traffic. Burwanger would get by Conley for second on lap fourteen and that duo would begin a spirited battle for the runner-up slot. The first caution appeared on lap nineteen when Chris Combs would slow on the backchute. The restart would see the front three remain the same, while Jameson, Fouts, and Jared Hawkins would battle three-wide for fourth, with Hawkins taking fifth on lap twenty. With Dohm cruising out front, Burwanger and Conley would renew their battle for second, with Conley taking the spot on lap twenty-six. Brent Cornette would draw the next caution when he slowed in turn two, with the restart seeing Dohm remain the leader, with Conley and Burwanger battling for second, while Jameson and Hawkins dueled for fourth. The action would be slowed by a caution again on lap thirty-one when Michael Chilton’s entry slowed in turn two. This restart would see Dohm continue holding the lead, while eighteenth starting Eric Wells would challenge Hawkins for fifth and take the position on lap thirty-three and Wells would continue to flex his muscle as he gained fourth from Jameson on lap thirty-seven. The caution would fly one circuit later when Eddie Carrier, Jr. stopped on the frontchute with rearend issues and would pull pitside. The restart would see Rod Conley get around Jameson for fifth on lap thirty-nine, while Dohm continued to lead, with R.J. Conley now securely in second. Wells would gain some more ground when he grabbed the third position from Burwanger on lap forty-two, with the final caution of the event waving for Joey Standridge on lap forty-four after he slowed in turn two. The restart would see Rod Conley dispose of Burwanger for the fourth spot, with Kyle Hardy challenging Burwanger for the fifth position. Dohm would not be challenged the remainder of the way and would take the victory, with R.J. Conley taking second and Wells settling for third. Rod Conley would claim fourth, while Hardy would scoot past Burwanger with two laps remaining to complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be Burwanger, Hawkins, Brandon Fouts, Jameson, and nineteenth starting Derek Fisher.


Clayton Miller would lead all twenty-five laps of the Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified feature contest and see the checkered flag first, with Shon Flanary giving chase the entire way and settling for the runner-up position. James Grigsby would complete the podium finishers with a third-place effort, while Austin Francis would outrun Dennis Roberson to claim the fourth spot, with Roberson settling for fifth. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Jody Puckett, Michael Paul Howard, Brandon Hutchinson, Cody Hunley, and Wade Rookard.


The Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series presented by next event will be Saturday June 30 at Lake Cumberland Speedway in Burnside, KY, paying $3,000 to win as part of the 4th Annual Finn Watson Memorial. The Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series will also be in competition at Lake Cumberland Speedway on Saturday June 30, racing for $1,000 to win.


Further information on the Iron-Man Late Model Series and Iron-Man Modified Series can be obtained by calling Promoter/Race Director Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official series website located at


Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Late Model Series at 201 Speedway in Sitka, KY on June 29, 2018
1. Zack Dohm-Cross Lanes, W.V.
2. R.J. Conley-Wheelersburg, Ohio
3. Eric Wells-Hazard, Ky.
4. Rod Conley-Wheelersburg, Ohio
5. Kyle Hardy-Stephens City, Va.
6. Jeremy Burwanger-Murray City, Ohio
7. Jared Hawkins-Fairmont, W.V.
8. Brandon Fouts-Kite, Ky.
9. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
10. Derek Fisher-Olympia, Ky.
11. Jackie Boggs-Grayson, Ky.
12. Scott James-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
13. Todd Coffman-Junction City, Ky.
14. A.J. Hicks-Grayson, Ky.
15. Shannon Thornsberry-Martin, Ky.
16. Connor Meade-Clay City, Ky.
17. Joey Standridge-Telico Plains, Tenn.
18. Stephen Breeding-Isom, Ky.
19. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
20. Eddie Carrier, Jr.-Salt Rock, W.V.
21. Brent Cornette-Pikeville, Ky.
22. Chris Combs-Isom, Ky.
23. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
24. Terry Hicks-Grayson, Ky.

Time of Race: 30 minutes, 32 seconds
Margin of Victory: 2.293 seconds
Yellow Flags: 5 (Lap 19, 28, 31, 38, 44)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: R.J. Conley 1-10, Zack Dohm 11-50


-CT Promotions Press Release

-Photo credit: Jerica Conley/

Dohm Takes the Iron-Man Checkers at 201 Speedway