CONCORD, N.C. — Just one week remains until the start of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals and DIRTcar Summit Racing Modified Nationals and two drivers looking to repeat their 2015 success are Mike Harrison and Bobby Pierce.

 

Both will be on their game trying to compete for a second season when both tours, among the most grueling in all of motorsports, kicks off on June 15 at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway.

 

Young standout Bobby Pierce, blazed a path to last season’s Summer Nationals title. The 18-year-old driver, edged another young standout, Billy Moyer Jr., to became the youngest ever driver to claim the title. He joined his father Bob Pierce as the first ever father-son duo to claim the Summer Nationals title. The Oakwood, Ill.-native went on from Summer Nationals to win his second DIRTcar Late Model National Championship.

 

Mike Harrison was another driver who had a banner year in 2015. Harrison, annually the driver to beat in the DIRTcar Summit Racing Modified Nationals made sure last year was not any different. The Highland Creek, Ill.-native scored nine of 13 feature wins. He closed out last season’s Modified Nationals with his fourth title since 2011. Harrison went on to claim the DIRTcar UMP Modified National Championship.

 

The Summer Nationals and Summit Racing Modified Nationals are ready to kick off and a number of drivers are looking to unseat Harrison and Pierce and claim their own piece of history. Join both tours as they start the 2016 season at Brownstown Speedway on Wednesday, June 15. To learn more and to find out how to purchase tickets, visit BrownstownSpeedway.com.

 

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at Twitter.com/SummerNationals or on Facebook at Facebook.com/SummerNationals. Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at TheHellTour.com and ModifiedNationals.com.

 

2016 DIRTcar Late Model Summer Nationals Schedule

 

Date Day Track City
Northern Kickoff
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, IL
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI
Heartland Tour
June 20 Monday OFF
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway Farley, IA
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Southern Tour
June 27 Monday OFF
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
June 29 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway Springfield, MO
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Independence Week
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway Boswell, IN
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway Macon, IL
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway Farmer City, IL
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway Highland, IL
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Champions Week
July 11 Monday OFF
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway Plymouth, IN
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway Medaryville, IN
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway Lake City, MI
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

 

 

 

2016 DIRTcar Modified Nationals Schedule

 

Date

Day

Track

City

June 15

Wednesday

Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

June 16

Thursday

Kankakee Co. Speedway

Kankakee, IL

June 19

Sunday

Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN

June 21

Tuesday

Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

June 23

Thursday

Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

June 24

Friday

Tri-City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

June 25

Saturday

Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

June 26

Sunday

Tri-State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN

June 27

Monday

OFF

June 28

Tuesday

Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN

June 29

Wednesday

Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

June 30

Thursday

Springfield Speedway

Springfield, IL

July 1

Friday

Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL

July 2

Saturday

Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55

Pevely, MO

July 3

Sunday

Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

July 4

Monday

LaSalle Speedway

LaSalle, IL

July 5

Tuesday

Daugherty Speedway

Boswell, IN

July 6

Wednesday

Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

July 7

Thursday

Macon Speedway

Macon, IL

July 8

Friday

Farmer City Speedway

Farmer City, IL

July 9

Saturday

Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

July 10

Sunday

Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL

July 11

Monday

OFF

July 12

Tuesday

Plymouth Speedway

Plymouth, IN

July 13

Wednesday

Shadyhill Speedway

Medaryville, IL

July 14

Thursday

Merritt Speedway

Lake City, MI

July 15

Friday

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

July 16

Saturday

Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

July 29

Friday

Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

July 30

Saturday

Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

 

 

 

-DIRTcar Racing Press Release

DIRTcar Summer and Modified Nationals Roll Off June 15