3: The race on average can take over three hours to run.

6: Bret Hearn is the only six-time winner of the Big-Block Modified feature.

7: The main event has bee won back-to-back on seven occasions.   Most recently Stewart Friesen has done it twice for his four wins in the last six years.

Dirt Mods 300x300 (1)7: Billy Decker is a seven-time pole winner for the Big Block Modified race.

16: There were 16 cars on the lead lap at the end of the 2015 race.  the competition is by far at it’s peak.

38: Number of starts for Brett Hearn in the main event. He has 10 top 10 finishes.

38: The number of laps that Stewart Friesen has led in the last two runnings.  One year he led 11 laps and the other 27 and he was able to come out on top as the winner.  You just have to be there at the finish.

58: Number of entires for the 358 race last year.

76: Big Block Modifies entered the race in 2015.

150: There will also be a DIRTcar 358 Modified Series Riccelli-Northern Salute the Troops 150 event on Saturday to make this a very busy weekend for teams and race fans. Brett Hearn is also a multi-time winner of this event.

224: Total number of drivers who have earned points this season the Big Block Dirt.

300: This year’s race will be 300 laps.

707:  By the record of the 51’s Third Turn there have been 707 different drivers to run this event.

1972:  The year the race was run for the first time.

Point Leader: Matt Sheppard comes into this race as the series point leader looking to add to his 2009 win at this event.

Three-Peat: Gary Balough is the only driver to win the race three years in a row.  He is also the only Snowball Derby winner to win the Big Block Modified race.

Venue Change: Oswego Speedway will be the backdrop for the 45th Annual NAPA Super DIRT Week. The asphalt track has had dirt added for this historic event.  The track has spared no expense in making the move one of the most anticipated events in short track history.

Past Winners

2015 Stewart Friesen

2014 Stewart Friesen

2013 Billy Dunn

2012 Brett Hearn

2011 Stewart Friesen

2010 Stewart Friesen

2009 Matt Sheppard

2008 Frank Cozze

2007 Vic Coffey

2006 Danny Johnson (NY)

2005 Billy Decker

2004 Tim Fuller (NY)

2003 Alan Johnson (NY)

2002 Vic Coffey

2001 Billy Decker

2000 Billy Decker

1999 Kenny Tremont, Jr.

1998 Billy Decker

1997 Danny Johnson (NY)

1996 Doug Hoffman

1995 Brett Hearn

1994 Jimmy Horton

1993 Brett Hearn

1992 Toby Tobias, Jr.

1991 Brett Hearn

1990 Brett Hearn

1989 Alan Johnson (NY)

1988 Kenny Brightbill

1987 Jimmy Horton

1986 Bob McCreadie

1985 Brett Hearn

1984 Jack Johnson (NY)

1983 Alan Johnson (NY)

1982 Merv Treichler

1981 Merv Treichler

1980 Gary Balough

1979 Jack Johnson (NY)

1978 Gary Balough

1977 Gary Balough

1976 Gary Balough

1975 Toby Tobias

1974 Billy Osmun

1973 Buzzie Reutimann

1972 Buzzie Reutimann

-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Contributor.  Photo Credit: Speed51.com

DIRT MODS: By the Numbers: Breaking Down Super DIRT Week