Dirt Modified Ace Beats NASCAR Truck Champ in Ohio

Nick Hoffman charged to his ninth DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals victory of the season, extending his championship lead as he attempts to win his second crown with two more weekends of competition remaining.


The victory was the 22nd of Hoffman’s career on the tour — second only to Mike Harrison’s 49 wins — and he tied Harrison’s single-season win record of nine victories.


While two-time NASCAR Truck Series champion Matt Crafton started from the pole, it was 14-year-old Kentucky racer Hunt Gossum who jumped out the early lead, looking for his second consecutive win. Hoffman, of Mooresville, NC, methodically worked his way to second past Crafton and then powered to the outside of Gossum to take the lead with four laps to go and pull away. A late caution set up a final shootout to the finish, which Hoffman won with Crafton second and John McClure in third.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 2-Nick Hoffman [3]; 2. 88-Matt Crafton [1]; 3. 12M-John McClure [5]; 4. 555-Justin Coulter [4]; 5. 5CS-Curt Spalding [19]; 6. 2D-Curtis Deisenroth [8]; 7. 47-Collin Thirlby [6]; 8. 19B-Brandon Ordway [7]; 9. 23-Luke Hubbell [14]; 10. 17T-Michael Tarlton [12]; 11. 7-Drew Smith [17]; 12. 20K-Bill Keeler [10]; 13. 35-Tim Cornett [16]; 14. OO6-Jarrett Rendel [21]; 15. 25M-Brian McFeeters [18]; 16. 8-Adam Lantz [20]; 17. 17-Nick Rosselit [13]; 18. 99-Hunt Gossum [2]; 19. 20M-Josh Morton [15]; 20. 975-Reed Hurst [22]; 21. 49-Brian Ruhlman [9]; 22. 11JS-Josh Scott [11]; KSE Hard Charger Award: 5CS-Curt Spalding[+14]


-DIRTcar Press Release

-Photo credit: Ruben Mireles

Dirt Modified Ace Beats NASCAR Truck Champ in Ohio