Thorold, Ontario – Brent Begolo of Saint Catharines, Ontario and Dave DiPietro of North Tonawanda, N.Y., ran to victories on respective nights in Race Of Champions Dirt 602 Sportsman Modified competition at Ohsweken (Ontario) Speedway this past Friday and Merrittville on Saturday.

On Friday night at Ohsweken Begolo started 9th and quickly worked his way through the field and wrestled the lead away from Brad Rouse of Saint Catharines, Ontario at Oshweken to gain the top spot. Begolo had to hold off the challenges of top Sportsman driver and 2016 Series champion Brad Rouse of Saint Catharines, Ontario to earn his first ever Series victory.

“It was a good night for us and the car was fast for us from the time we unloaded,” smiled Begolo in victory lane. “Any time you can top a field like this, it feels great. This is a great way to start the weekend, thank you to my Dad and my family for a great opportunity to race like this.”

Rouse came home second with Darrell Farraway of Hamilton, Ontario coming home third. Justin Sharp of Port Colborne, Ontario, fourth and Chad Chevalier of Port Colborne, Ontario, fifth, rounded out the top-five. Begolo, Rouse and Farraway won the qualifying races and Rouse earned the “Top of the Board” Award and an additional $51 in group qualifying by posting the fastest overall time.

On Saturday night the Series moved to Merrittville Speedway in Thorold, Ontario for the Driver Appreciation Night presented by Saint Catharine’s Husky. In the 30-lap main, DiPietro redrew second, took the lead on the first lap and turned in a dominating performance leading the remainder of the laps enroute to his first-ever series feature victory.

Dipietrro bested 2017 Series Champion, Chad Chevalier of Port Colborne, Ontario. Chevalier worked his way from the 5th starting spot to finish second. Cody McPherson of Saint Catharines, Ontario, finished third after starting on the pole.

Adam Leslie of Saint Catharines, Ontario finished fourth and Jay Mallory of Port Colborne, Ontario rounded out the top-five.

Rouse, McPherson and Mallory won qualifying races, while Mallory earned the “Top of the Board” Award.

The Series races again Sunday night to close out its five race season with the running of the Pete Cosco Memorial at Humberstone Speedway. Three drivers; McPherson, Rouse and Chevalier have a shot at the Series championship and the accolades that go with it. McPherson leads Rouse by 4 points and Chevalier sits just 13 points back in third. The winner of the race will have their name etched on the perpetual Pete Cosco Race of Champions Dirt Memorial Trophy.


-Race of Champions Press Release. Photo Credit: Zachary Skotnicki

DiPietro, Begolo Become RoC Sportsman First-Time Winners