Spartan Speedway was blessed with perfect weather this last Friday, June 27, as the track welcomed the wingless Sprint cars, Michigan Legends, Bandoleros, Spartan Stocks and Pony Stocks to the high banked quarter mile oval in Mason.
The first race on the docket was the Bandolero division for their 12 lap feature. Cameron Leasure led at the drop of the green followed by Logan Haughton and Danica LaPointe. Both Toby Tyler and Mason Ludwig were moving up through the pack, with Tyler grabbing the top spot followed by Ludwig and Jon Parish. Toby pulled away with the laps winding down, as the 11 year old Parma resident scored his fourth in a row. Finishing second was Ludwig with Nathan Logan third, Parish fourth and Nate Jenkins rounding out the top five.
The Sprint cars were pushed out on the track for their 30 lap feature event. Really an honor to see Hall of Famer Jeff Bloom in the field, as the legend from Bangor, Mich. has been mashing the gas since 1967. Don Hamilton Jr. started on the pole and led the first handful of laps before getting loose and surrendering the lead to Steve Irwin with Chance Rice moving to second. While Rice was all over the rear nerf bar of Irwin, Chance had to fend off Doug Dietsch as the top three were nose to tail. Dietsch was able to slip by Rice and then with just 2 to go, powered his way past Irwin for his first ever Sprint car win at Spartan. Rice was second followed by Steve Irwin, Bloom, and Hamilton.
In the 30 lap feature for the Michigan Legends, it was a two car duel between Matt Todd and Tony Monge. Todd led the majority of the race with Monge glued to his rear bumper as the two battled furiously for the top spot, with Levi Rouster trailing in third. Todd and Monge swapped the lead back and forth 3 times the last few laps, with Monge prevailing at the stripe as the two made contact both before and after the checkered flag. Tony Monge from Howell, Mich. won over Todd, with Rick Kilbourn third over Rouster and Greg Rudzik.
Next out on the track were the Pony Stocks for a pair of 20 lap features. In the “A”, it was pole sitter DJ Marciniak leading over Laura Beckner and Nick Leonard. Marciniak was able to hold the point through halfway, but Tyler Heeney, with some three wide racing, made his way to the front on lap 13 and pulled away over Marciniak and Brian Beckner. Brian Beckner was able to grab second as they approached the white flag, but taking the flag for his seventh in a row was Heeney. Beckner was second with Marciniak third, Laura Beckner fourth, and Brian Boesel fifth.
In the “B” it was Mariah Caswell leading at the start over Wayne Parkhurst II and heat race winner Jerry King. Last week’s winner Ryan Gordon moved up into the top three and got by Mariah for the lead, followed by Jennifer Larner and heat race winner Jerry King. Ryan “Flash” Gordon was able to hold off Larner with King third, Anthony Lane in fourth and Caswell in fifth. Gordon, who won his first feature last Sunday backed it up with another.
Last races for the evening were the Spartan Stocks for a pair of 25 lap features. In the “A” it was Craig Stephens on the pole and leading at the start, but surrendering the lead to Angelo Buchino. Mike Ammerman moved into second as Steve Prucnell and Joey Barnhart battled for third. The driver on the move was fast qualifier Dane Long in No. 7L. Long was able to pass both Buchino and Ammerman to seize the lead. It was Long winning his second of the season over Ammerman, Barnhart, Buchino and Prucnell.
Last but not least was the ‘B” with Harold Braman leading over Junior Gokee at the start. Gokee took the lead from Braman with Cory Coddington, Mark Carson and Jason Luce all battling behind. Luce picked them off one by one and took the lead from Gokee, with Bryan Jenks getting by Gokee as well a few laps later. Jason Luce took his second win of the year followed by Jenks, Gokee, Braman and Coddington.
– Spartan Speedway Press Release.  Photo Credit: Spartan Speedway

Dietsch Wins Sprint Car Main at Spartan Speedway