Over 45 cars are entered into this Sunday’s first ever Icebreaker 100 at Dells Raceway Park in Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin. This will be the first Super Late Model event in the Badger State in 2015, and the entry list is showing that drivers are ready to race this year.


“I think it being the first big event of the year in Wisconsin is really helping draw the list of drivers for this event,” Dan Lensing, who is a former track champion and his father Wayne owns the track, told Speed51.com powered by JEGS.   “It’s really cool to see this caliber of cars signed up, from series champions to track champions, the field is stacked up. I haven’t seen that much competition for one event outside of Oktoberfest at La Crosse.”


Some of the big names registered include NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver Johnny Sauter along with his nephew Travis Sauter. Along with TUNDRA Series Champion Dalton Zehr, ARCA Midwest Tour Champion Ty Majeski, former Big 8 Series Champion Jeremy Miller and many more.


“It’s going to be a huge race to kickoff Super Late Model racing in Wisconsin this Sunday,” ARCA Midwest Tour Champion Ty Majeski said. “The track has put some good money on the line and it has created a lot of interest.”


The 100-lap race will pay $3,000 to win. The top 14 in qualifying automatically get a starting spot for the main event. Four will come from an odd qualifier race along with four from an even qualifier race. Two more cars will advance from a B-feature.


Majeski feels this will be a very intense and competitive race given the design of the 1/3-mile oval.


“It can be a pretty easy track to get around, but it is a tough track for me,” Majeski explained. “It is a fun track because there is one solid inside groove and that is the preferred way to get around, unless you can set your car up to race the outside line. It will be a tough race.”


This will also be the first race for the track to use the new Hoosier F-80 tire, which will be the tire the Super Late Models will compete on this season at Dells Raceway Park.


“This is a hard compound tire and it is very repeatable. This is a good tire for weekly racing,” Irish Saunders, Manager of Contract Sales at Hoosier Racing Tire said. “This tire will run the same time lap after lap. It will take a while to get heat in them, but they won’t fall off. It doesn’t have the instant gumball fire off effect like touring drivers like to have under their cars. But the weekly competitors at Dells Raceway Park will like the repeatability of this tire.”


Lensing was part of the tire test last year.


“It is harder but has good grip, which means less wear and saves the racer money,” Lensing said. “We had a set of 140 lap tires we went out on and got a baseline. We then went out on brand new tires and didn’t gain a tenth of a second. New tires won’t have an advantage anymore. Teams won’t have to buy three sets of tires so they can do a mock qualifying run.”


The track will be open on Saturday for practice from 12-5pm. On Sunday, April 19th, practice will start at 10:30am with time trials at 12:30pm. The first race is at 2pm.


For more information, please visit www.dellsracewaypark.com.


Dells Raceway Park

Icebreaker 100

Entry List


1 Danny Church Jr. Delevan, WI
2 Andy Monday Appleton, WI
3 Dan Fredrickson Lakeville, MN
4 Johnny Sauter Deforest, WI
5 Nathan Haseleu Pardeeville, WI
6 Reagan May DePere, WI
7 Travis Sauter Prairie Du Sac, WI
8 Alex Prunty Lomira, WI
9 John DeAngelis Hubertus, WI
10 Brian Johnson Jr. Machesney Park, IL
11 Colin Reffner Wisonsin Rapids, WI
12 Dalton Zehr Menominee, MI
13 Jeff Storm Waterford, WI
14 Landry Potter Genoa City, WI
15 Jim Olson Harvard, IL
16 Dennis Prunty Lomira, WI
17 Ty Majeski Seymour, WI
18 MG Gajewski Wausau, WI
19 Dan Lensing Roscoe, IL
20 Jeremy Miller Rockford, IL
21 Tim Schendel Sparta, WI
22 Andrew Morrissey Deforest, WI
23 Bobby Kendall Montello, WI
24 Dan Lindsley Vulcan, MI
25 Jamie Wallace Genoa City, WI
26 Chris Weinkauf Merrill, WI
27 Cole Anderson Northfield, MN
28 Michael Sauter West Salem, WI
29 Mike Lichtfeld Portage, WI
30 Derek Lemke Shakopee, MN
31 Ben Pettis Elk Mount, WI
32 Haley Kapp Portage, WI
33 Brad JJ Mueller Random Lake, WI
34 Keith Tolf Union Grove, WI
35 Dave Gawronski Reedsburg, WI
36 Mikie Breiner Wonder Lake, IL
37 Joel Thiesen Maple Grove, MN
38 Bryan Roach Goodhoe, MN
39 Kirby Kurth Wisconsin Rapids, WI
40 Tim Lampman Oak Creek, WI
41 Chad Walen Prior Lake, MN
42 James Swan Genoa City, WI
43 Jeff Kendall Montello, WI
44 Skylar Holzhausen Sparta, WI
45 Tim Sauter Sparta, WI

– Kevin Ramsell, Speed51.com Director of Business/Midwest Editor. @KevinRamsell

Photo Credit: Jeff Blaser

Dells Raceway Park’s Opening Event is an Icebreaker