St. Johns, PA- For the second straight time, Berwick’s Brian DeFebo drove around the outside of his competition before driving off with the Modified main event win Friday at Evergreen Raceway Park. The win marks DeFebo’s 55th overall win in the division at the track. In his first start in the Street Stock division this season, Steve Shultz of Drums held off Randy Schlenker to score the victory and in a Four Cylinder race that was nothing short of a demo derby, Bob Azarowicz of Tunkhannock steered clear of trouble to notch his second straight win of the year. Mitch Dowd of Pottstown led the INEX Legends feature from flag to flag to score his second win of the season in just three starts.


Paul Frantz led the Modified field to the drop of the green flag in the 35-lap main event. He led the opening circuit over Jerry Hildebrand, Austin Kochenash, Todd Baer and Brian DeFebo. In the very early going, Kochenash held the third spot over Baer by a bumper and then with five laps complete, DeFebo battled with Kochenash to have the third spot by a nose.


With nine laps in the books, DeFebo challenged Hildebrand and then took second before setting his sights on Frantz.


DeFebo tried an outside move for the lead and Frantz threw a block. Finally, with 13 laps complete, DeFebo took command. Two laps later Hildebrand and Kochenash got by Frantz to take second and third respectively.


The only yellow of the show flew on lap 17 when Baer spun on the backstretch. Green flag racing resumed and DeFebo was untouchable and drove away with his second straight win at the speedway and 55th overall in the division at the track. Hildebrand, Kochenash, Brian Sones and Frantz completed the top five.


Heat race victories went to Jerry Hildebrand and Donny Hartzell.


From the pole, Rich Emel led the Street Stock field to the drop of the green flag in the 30-lap feature. With a great start, Bernie Uphold grabbed the lead before a lap was complete and crossed the stripe to complete lap one over Emel, Robert Fink, Chip Wanamaker and Aaron Higgins.


With five laps comple, Wanamaker got by Fink for third. Two laps later he overtook Emel for second. However, two laps later Emel got into Wanamaker in turns three and four. Both drivers were sent to the rear of the field for the restart. The turn of events moved Steve Shultz into second, followed by Fink, Higgins and Mike Garris, Sr.


With the green flag back out, Shultz challenged the leader and quickly took the top spot.


Following a lap 21 yellow for debris, Shultz continued to set the pace over Wanamaker, Randy Schlenker, Garris and Uphold. Schlenker’s car came to life and he and Wanamaker put on a torrid battle for second.


Schlenker eventually cleared Wanamaker but ran out of time to mount a charge on the leader, as Shultz took the checkers for his first win in his first start in the division this season. Schlenker settled for second, followed by Wanamaker, Garris and Uphold.


Bernie Uphold and Rich Emel were heat race winners.


Richie Pugliese led the Four Cylinder field to the drop of the green flag in the feature. However, things slowed in a hurry when Ron Heeter and Justin Hughes tangled in turn one. Green flag racing resumed and Anthony Pugliese took the lead before another yellow flew for Hughes and Heeter.


Green flag racing was back underway and Jay Skupski came to the front in a hurry. After getting by Heather Fennell for second on lap five he overtook A. Pugliese for the lead on lap six. However, two laps later H. Fennell slammed into Skupski in turn four and the as he slowed A. Pugliese came and pushed Skupski through the infield and into the swamp, nearly turning him over.


The race was halted for some time and following another lap eight yellow, track officials decided to call the race at lap 10. At that point Bob Azarowicz was the leader and eventual winner over Steve Gehman, Carl Born, R. Pugliese and Hughes.


Heather Fennell and Just Hughes were heat race winners.


After winning the heat race earlier in the evening, Mitch Dowd started from the pole position in the 20-lap INEX Legends feature and led flag to flag for the win over Ricky Collins. Bobby Jones appeared to have third in the bag but he spun off the final turn and made heavy drivers side contact with the front stretch wall. Luckily, he was not seriously injured.


The next event at Evergreen Raceway Park, “Full Fendered Friday”, is slated for Friday, July 18. The Late Models, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, Four Cylinders and INEX Legends are on the card. A car show is also planned for the evening. The pit gates will open at 6 PM and practice is slated to begin at 7:15. Heat races will kick off at 8 PM.


Pit Admission at the track is $25 (With Pit License) and $35 without. It is NOT required to purchase a season pit license to compete. As always, grandstand Admission is $10 for adults and children 12 & under are admitted for free.


Evergreen Raceway Park is just minutes from Hazleton, Pa, located on St. John’s Road, between Routes 93 and 309. For more information, including upcoming shows, rules, payouts and news, please visit


Modifieds (35-laps) 1. BRIAN DEFEBO 2. Jerry Hildebrand 3. Austin Kochenash 4. Brian Sones 5. Paul Frantz 6. Todd Baer 7. Donny Hartzell 8. Tommy Wanick III


Street Stocks (30-laps) 1. STEVE SHULTZ 2. Randy Schlenker 3. Chip Wanamaker 4. Mike Garris, Sr. 5. Bernie Uphold 6. Rich Emel 7. Robert Fink 8. Charlie Castiglione 9. Joe Stavoy 10. Aaron Higgins 11. Dennis Buss 12. Bob Wink 13. Gordy Buchman, Jr.


Four Cylinders (20-laps) 1. BOB AZAROWICZ 2. Steve Gehman 3. Carl Born 4. Richie Pugliese 5. Justin Hughes 6. Ray Fennell III 7. Heather Fennell 8. Jay Skupski 9. Ron Heeter 10. Anthony Pugliese


INEX Legends (20-laps) 1. MITCH DOWD 2. Ricky Collins 3. Rick Collins 4. Bobby Jones


DeFebo Repeats in Modifieds at Evergreen Raceway Park