Daytona 500 Champion Returns for Rich Vogler Classic

Speedway, IN — Ryan Newman will return to the seat of a USAC Silver Crown Champ Car this Saturday night, September 7, in the Rich Vogler Classic at Lucas Oil Raceway in Brownsburg, Ind.

Newman, the 1999 USAC Silver Crown champion, has gone on to have a highly-successful Monster Energy NASCAR Cup career with 51 poles and 18 victories, including wins in the 2008 Daytona 500 and the 2013 Brickyard 400.

Newman (South Bend, Ind.) will drive the No. 2v for Bowman/Vance Racing on Saturday, a tribute to Johnny Vance, one of the most successful USAC car owners of all-time, earning three National car owner titles and 52 National wins. Newman raced in the USAC National Sprint Car and Silver Crown Series for Vance during the late 1990s-early 2000s.

Newman will race as a teammate to five-time Lucas Oil Raceway Silver Crown winner Tanner Swanson (Kingsburg, Calif.). Newman himself earned both his first career USAC National Midget victory in 1997 as well as his initial Silver Crown triumph in 1999, both of which were televised on ESPN’s “Saturday Night Thunder” program.

Pits open for the Rich Vogler Classic at noon eastern on Saturday, Sept. 7. Grandstands open at 3pm, Silver Crown practice at 4:15pm, Silver Crown qualifying at 6:30pm and the green flag for the USAC Silver Crown main event slated for 7:45pm.

Advance general admission tickets are $25 for adults and $10 for children (11 & under). Race day general admission tickets are $30 for adults and $10 for children (11 & under). Pit passes are $30 for USAC members and $35 for non-members.

Speed51 Super Select joins the USAC Silver Crown Champ Cars on the event card.

The Rich Vogler Classic will have live, flag-to-flag coverage on FloRacing. You can listen to live audio of the broadcast for free on the USAC app or follow along with live updates
on and with live timing and scoring available on both the USAC and Race-Monitor apps.

1. (5) Mike Bliss & Tanner Swanson
3. (4) Bobby Santos & Kody Swanson
5. (3) Bobby East
6. (2) Kenny Irwin, Jr., Jim Keeker, Jason Leffler & Ken Schrader
10. (1) Pat Abold, Jeff Bloom, David Byrne, Bob Cicconi, Jay Drake, Bruce Field, Russ Gamester, Kyle Hamilton, Tracy Hines, Rick Hood, Kasey Kahne, Jason McCord, Ryan Newman, Johnny Parsons, George Snider, Dave Steele, Tony Stewart, Brian Tyler & J.J. Yeley

(Winchester Speedway)
1991: Robbie Stanley (Sprint) & Don Schilling (Midget)
1992: Jim Mahoney (Sprint) & Kenny Irwin, Jr. (Midget)
1993: Robbie Stanley (Sprint) & Stevie Reeves (Midget)
1994: Robbie Stanley (Sprint) & Mike Bliss (Midget)
1995: Kenny Irwin, Jr. (Sprint) & Mike Bliss (Midget)
1996: Andy Michner (Sprint) & Tracy Hines (Midget)
1997: Andy Michner (Sprint) & Tracy Hines (Midget)
1998: Chet Fillip (Sprint) & Ricky Shelton (Midget)
1999: Dave Steele (Sprint)
2000: Ryan Newman (Sprint) & Ryan Newman (Midget)
2002: Dave Steele (Sprint)
2003: Michael Lewis (Sprint)
2005: Dave Darland (Sprint)
2006: Bryan Clauson (Sprint)
2007: Marc Jessup (Sprint)
2008: Darren Hagen (Sprint)
2009: Tracy Hines (Sprint)
2010: Shane Hmiel (Sprint)
2011: Tracy Hines (Sprint)
(Indianapolis Raceway Park)
2012: Bobby Santos (Silver Crown) & Tracy Hines (Midget)
2013: Tanner Swanson (Silver Crown) & Tracy Hines (Midget)
2014: David Byrne (Silver Crown)
2015: Tanner Swanson (Silver Crown)
2016: Kody Swanson (Silver Crown)
2017: Bobby Santos (Silver Crown)

-USAC Press Release
-Photo Credit: David Nearpass

Daytona 500 Champion Returns for Rich Vogler Classic