The Granite State Pro Stock Series made the long haul to Speedway 51 in Groveton, NH this Fourth of July weekend. Although DJ Shaw of Center Conway, NH looked like the driver to beat with lap times of 12.7 in practice and the heats, it was Jeremy Davis of Tamworth, NH who walked away with a first place trophy Saturday night.


Mike Parks of Walpole, NH started on the pole, and was fast all afternoon posting the second fastest lap time behind Shaw. Last weeks winner Jeremy Davis started on the outside pole. Davis secured the lead immediately. Lap four saw the one and only caution of the night when area racer Ben Belanger of Whitefield, NH spun in turn two.


After the restart, the race belonged to Davis. Shaw fought early on to capture the lead, however, Davis seemed to be in his own zip code all night. On lap 33 Parks came out of turn four loose and looked like he was going to spin but managed to save it on the front stretch, the other cars managing to get around him without incident.


By the halfway mark Davis and Shaw had lapped half of the field. The race saw the most movement in the middle of the pack with the biggest coming from Tracy Gordon of Strong, ME. Gordon started the race 11th and finished 3rd making an impressive debut in the series this year. Mike Mitchell who came all the way from Cumberland, RI was moved up two positions finishing 6th for the night.


Points leader Barry Gray of Belchertown, MA struggled all night, cutting a tire in his heat and falling off the pace in the feature. Cory Casagrande finished a strong fourth place, moving him up to second in points. At the close of the race Davis won with a strait away lead on Shaw, and Gordon followed in third.


The Granite State Pro Stock Series will be racing July 30, 2016 at Riverhead Raceway in Riverhead LI.


-Granite State Pro Stock Series Press Release

-Photo Credit: Smokin Shutters Photos


Unofficial Finish

1 09 Jeremy Davis

2 60 DJ Shaw

3 14 Tracy Gordon

4 1 Cory Casagrande

5 4ME Brad Babb

6 40 Mike Mitchell

7 51NH Jeremy Harclerode

8 49 Craig Weinstein

9 77 Brandon Lambert

10 66 Mike Parks

11 23 Glenn Martel

12 29 Barry Gray

13 99 Ben Belanger

14 63 John Salemi

Davis Scores GSPSS Trophy at Speedway 51