CHILLICOTHE, OH – Jonathan Davenport led every lap of a fast and furious Buckeye Spring 50 on Friday Night at Atomic Speedway. With the win, Davenport takes over the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series points lead heading to Brownstown Speedway on Saturday Night.


Josh Richards briefly took the lead from Davenport on a restart, but Davenport quickly shot back around him re-taking the lead. Richards came home in second, followed by 17th starting Mason Zeigler, Chris Brown, and Jimmy Owens.


“The car was unbelievable all night long. We found a few things wrong after qualifying. We were just spot-on in the heat and feature. The track was extremely fast and hooked-up. It is a great feeling to have a car that handled like that for the entire race. The only thing we really tore up was the right front flair, but we will get that fixed and get ready for Brownstown tomorrow night.”


“I can’t thank Kevin and Le Roy Rumley enough for what they have done for me. I have very rarely won north of the Mason-Dixon Line, so to come here and win feels real good. When Josh went by me on that one restart, I just got up on the wheel and was able to get back under him.”


Davenport started on the pole and was into lapped traffic only five laps into the race as he set a blistering pace. At times; to show how dominant Davenport was; he was a full second faster than anyone else several times during the race.


“We have added some new sponsors this year in Sundance Services and Sundance Flowback Well Testing out of Texas. I want to thank TS Crane Service and Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas as well. It’s going to great to go to Brownstown tomorrow night sporting that Midwest Sheet Metal Orange Spoiler. That means we are leading the points, and that’s great.”


Richards was pleased with his second place finish, continuing a good start to the racing season. “Jonathan was so fast tonight. I lost track of him several times out there. Having not raced much last year, and to come here when it’s hooked up, I think I need to get back in the gym and work out some more. I want to thank Valvoline and Seubert Calf Ranches. We are coming to Brownstown tomorrow night, and will try and get the win there.”


Zeigler charged through the field to take third at the finish. He put on an impressive show for the huge crowd on hand. “Wow! What a racetrack and race that was tonight. We had only been here once, and it was rained out. I hoped the crowd enjoyed that one. We were just biding our time out there and then all of sudden we had some really great restarts and we were in the top five. To have Longhorn Chassis finish first and third in this stout field; that is something.”


Completing the top ten were Steve Francis, Devin Moran, Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, and Dustin Linville.

In preliminary action, Jimmy Owens set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 40 entrants, and set a new Atomic Speedway Track Record, with a lap of 12.748 seconds. Steve Francis set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 12.877 seconds. Jonathan Davenport, Josh Richards, Steve Francis, and Chris Brown won their respective heat races. Mason Zeigler and Scott Bloomquist won their respective B-Mains.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on,, and


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release.  Photo Credit:


Feature Finish (50 Laps):

1 6 Jonathan Davenport
2 1R Josh Richards
3 25z Mason Zeigler
4 21B Chris Brown
5 20 Jimmy Owens
6 15 Steve Francis
7 99m Devin Moran
8 28e Dennis Erb Jr.
9 5 Don O’Neal
10 D8 Dustin Linville
11 28 Eddie Carrier Jr.
12 6T Tim Dohm
13 1 Earl Pearson Jr.
14 32 Bobby Pierce
15 777 Jared Landers
16 54 Matt Westfall
17 21JR Billy Moyer Jr.
18 20c Duane Chamberlain
19 47 Greg Oliver
20 7R Kent Robinson
21 0 Scott Bloomquist
22 39 Tim McCreadie
23 c4 Freddie Carpenter
24 c9 Steve Casebolt
25 1J Davey Johnson


Davenport Is The Bomb At Atomic Speedway Spring 50