OCALA, FL — Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Jonathan Davenport took the lead on lap 31 from Scott Bloomquist and sped on to win the LOLMDS event on Sunday Night at Bubba Raceway Park. Scott Bloomquist was in command of the race until Davenport and Josh Richards went by him. A few laps later Bloomquist’s night ended with a flat right rear tire.


Richards finished second to Davenport, followed by Brandon Sheppard, Eddie Carrier Jr., and Frank Heckenast Jr.


“We got beat around out there pretty good early in the race. We’d pass a couple of cars then there would be a caution and I would have to go back. It got to be quite frustrating for a while. I just kept being patient though. The ignition problems we have been having were in the back of my mind tonight. I know Kevin, Lee Roy and Brian went to work on the car and they looked it over meticulously to have it ready for me and once we got past Josh [Richards] there it really took off.”


Richards completed a successful Georgia-Florida Speedweeks with the LOLMDS series garnering a runner-up spot to Davenport. “The new Rocket car has been exceptional since we came down here. We have been here several times before and that definitely helped tonight. The track was different than what we have seen in the past. We made the right choice on tires and set-up. Congrats to Jonathan on the win, he deserved it! Anytime we can run close to him the way he has been running the last couple of years, says a lot for our team and our preparation.”


Sheppard, who started 15th on the grid made his way to third as the 23-year-old unofficially moved to second in the championship points standings. “We have been here before and won, so we had some experience with set-ups and such. Mark Richards came over and helped us some tonight. It was another strong points night for the Best Performance Motorsports Team.”


Completing the top ten were Tim McCreadie, Ivedent Lloyd, Jr. Don O’Neal, Gregg Satterlee, and Jared Landers.


In preliminary action, Jonathan Davenport set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 26 entrants, with a lap of 14.185 seconds. Josh Richards set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 14.249 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Eddie Carrier Jr., and Ivedent Lloyd Jr. won their respective heat races.


-Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Press Release. Photo credit: Heath Lawson

Davenport Drives to Victory Lane After Slow Start in Ocala