BRUNSWICK, GA– Jonathan Davenport finally closed the deal on Saturday Night at Golden Isles Speedway. Davenport had led during both of the previous two nights, but suffered misfortune and was unable to finish either feature. On the final night of the Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing; in front of a record-breaking crowd for the famed speedway; Davenport picked up his fifth career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win.


Friday Night’s winner, Earl Pearson Jr. finished second, followed by Brandon Sheppard, Scott Bloomquist, and Ross Bailes rounded out five in an exciting finale to the Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing.


“We finally got it done! We have been fast all weekend, but we’ve just had some bad luck happen or we could have had three-in-a-row. I love coming down here to race, it’s fun to run in front of this size crowd. It’s the most people I have ever seen here. It was also special to win for LeRoy Rumley, today is his 79th birthday.”


Davenport earned his third straight Miller Welders Fast Time Award of the weekend during time trials earlier in the night and won his heat race. At the start of the 50-lap main event, he stormed to the lead. Ross Bailes settled into second and trailed Davenport, until sixth-place starter Jared Landers got by him.


Landers charged after Davenport for the lead, assuming the point on lap 22. Landers led until his left rear wheel broke on lap 30. Landers slowed right in front of Davenport forcing him to take evasive action. Davenport led the remaining 20 laps of the race to record the victory. A tire and wheel from Mike Benedum’s car came off on the final lap, and stacked the field for a final drag race to the checkers. Davenport pulled away and sailed on to the victory in convincing style.


“I was coming to the checkered flag and there was a tire and wheel from somebody’s car flying through the air. They threw the caution then. It was a little scary. I was hoping I wouldn’t run into it. I’m like darn I have to run one more lap. But anyway, it all worked out for us. I have to thank all my sponsors; TS Crane Service, Sundance Services, Sundance Flowback Well Testing, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Longhorn Chassis, and of course, LeRoy and Kevin Rumley for building such good engines.”


Pearson moved into second place on lap 31 and stayed there throughout the remainder of the race. Despite three cautions over the last 19 laps of the race, Pearson could never get close enough after the restarts to challenge Davenport. “He [Davenport] has had the fastest car all weekend, no doubt about it. It was another good point’s night for us. I want to thank all these fans for coming out tonight. The grandstands and the pits were packed. It’s good to see. It’s such a good race track. I am glad all the hard work they put in paid off.”


“I didn’t have anything for Jonathan. Like I said he’s been fast all three days. To go home with a win and a second-place finish we have to feel real good about this as a team. Like I said last night, two months ago we had nothing. Carlton and Kemp Lamm have done a great job to build this team back up and being away from the sport for eight years. I have to thank Dunn-Benson Ford and Lucas Oil Products. Ronnie Stuckey from Black Diamond Race Cars and Andy Durham from Durham Racing Engines.”


Sheppard, like Davenport had run well the two previous nights without the results to show for it. “We had a tough couple of nights here Thursday and Friday. We felt like we had a car that could have won either night. To finish third tonight after changing engines from last night, we will take it and head to East Bay, said the driver of the Kid’s Castle, Valvoline, Rocket Chassis entry.


Completing the top ten were Dennis Erb Jr., Donald McIntosh, Kenny Pettyjohn, Jimmy Owens, and Stormy Scott.


In preliminary action, Jonathan Davenport set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 32 entrants, with a lap of 15.213 seconds. Jared Landers set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.461 seconds. Jonathan Davenport, Ross Bailes, Earl Pearson Jr. and Billy Moyer Jr. won their respective heat races. Kenny PettyJohn and Gregg Satterlee won their respective B-Mains.


For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto and follow the series on,, and

-LOLDMS Press Release.  Photo Credit:

LOLMDS Golden Isles Results- Saturday

(Powered by 51’s Third Turn)

Fin St # Driver
1 1 6 Jonathan Davenport
2 2 1 Earl Pearson Jr.
3 12 B5 Brandon Sheppard
4 16 0 Scott Bloomquist
5 3 5e Ross Bailes
6 14 28 Dennis Erb Jr.
7 5 7 Donald McIntosh
8 17 38 Kenny Pettyjohn
9 23 20 Jimmy Owens
10 10 2s Stormy Scott
11 9 28 Eddie Carrier Jr.
12 8 21 Chris Brown
13 4 21 Billy Moyer Jr.
14 11 5 Don O’Neal
15 22 25x Mike Benedum
16 13 15 Steve Francis
17 6 777 Jared Landers
18 20 40B Kyle Bronson
19 24 91P Jason Papich
20 21 21 Ivedent Lloyd Jr.
21 15 84 Jay Sessoms
22 18 22 Gregg Satterlee
23 7 11 Austin Kirkpatrick
24 19 99m Devin Moran

Davenport Closes The Deal On Final Night Of Super Bowl