OSWEGO, NY – The 2014 Novelis Supermodified season is now in the books at Oswego Speedway, with David Danzer charging to victory in the 75 lap Sunoco Race of Champions finale for his third win of the season worth $3,000 on Sunday afternoon.

Danzer’s victory quite literally book ends the season, as the driver of the No. 52 machine won the first main event of the year back on May 10 to kick off the calendar.

Dan Connors Jr. dominated a large portion of the event in the No. 01 before giving way to newly crowned track champion Otto Sitterly on lap 44.

From there Sitterly, the winner of the 58th annual Budweiser International Classic 200, appeared to be well on his way to another victory in the No. 7.

However, Sitterly slipped in lapped traffic on lap 58, opening the bottom of the Speedway for Danzer to take advantage, and run away from the field over the course of the final 17 laps.

Sitterly held his own for the runner-up position ahead of Joey Payne, Shaun Gosselin, and Randy Ritskes in the top five positions.

Michael Muldoon, Tim Devendorf, Michael Barnes, Brandon Bellinger, and Bobby Haynes Jr. finished the top ten runners.

A total of 29 Novelis Supermodifieds were in the pit area on Sunday, making for the largest car count of the point season.

Bellinger, Connors, and Payne won the Shell Shock Custom Helmet Paint heat races with Lou LeVea Sr. claiming the victory in the ten car consolation.

Brian Sweeney, Joe Chillemi, Mike Barbera, and Keith Shampine failed to qualify for the 25 car starting grid.

Shampine was rendered out for the night during warmups with engine issues in the No. 55.

Barbera took a heavy ride into the first turn wall in the ten lap consi with the No. 45, but walked away from the incident unharmed.

With his second place finish on Sunday, Sitterly officially secured his seventh career Novelis Supermodified championship at the Speedway, and his third consecutive dating back to 2012.

With titles in 2006, 2008-2010, and 2012-2014, Sitterly’s seven championships now tie him all-time with Supermodfied legends Jim Shampine and Bentley Warren.

Despite several issues in the main event, Dave Gruel unofficially held on for second in the track championship battle with Randy Ritskes moving to the third position in the No. 37.

Race of Champions and Mr. Supermodified winner Danzer moved up to fourth in the driver standings with Pat Lavery rounding out the top five.

Payne, Joe Gosek, Barnes, Devendorf, and Muldoon unofficially complete the top ten in the driver standings.


-Oswego Speedway Press Release

Danzer Wins the Battle, Sitterly Wins the War at Oswego