Chemung, NY — There was a little bit of everything at Chemung Speedrome Friday night – presumptive winners who weren’t, unexpected winners who were, loose helium balloons going skyward during meet and greet at intermission, and a rash of cautions that slowed the show. After all was said and done, the June 10th winners included Zack Curren (Sunoco Modifieds), Tim Gullo (New York Super Stocks), Kyle Youngs (INEX Legends) and Garrett Zacharias (Bandoleros). The scheduled Four Cylinder feature fell victim to the track’s curfew and will be run this week.


The 40-lap Sunoco Modified feature was clearly the best race of the night. Heat winner Jesse Kent powered his way around pole-sitter Chris Clemens for the early lead. Jimmy Zacharias, heat winner TJ Zacharias and Zack Curren all got around Clemens and then Kent for the top three positions. Tony Hanbury, opening day winner, was on the move and up to fifth at the halfway point. Cody Jackson spun exiting turn two and put the field under caution with 29 of 40 complete. Jimmy Zacharias opted for the outside lane and it worked for him. The final caution came out after Paul Johnson spun in four, setting up another Zacharias/Zacharias restart with Curren and Kent behind them. Again Jimmy chose the outside lane but this time the pair ran side by side for well over a lap. TJ got the lead but Curren found an opening and made a beautiful inside pass on lap 36 that gave him the lead and relegated Jimmy Z to third. Over the final four laps the trio ran nose to tail but it was Curren’s nose that crossed the finish line first. The crowd rewarded him for that nice move with cheers and applause as he exited the car. TJ Zacharias was second, Jimmy Zacharias third. Kent, fourth, held off Hanbury for his best finish.


The scheduled 20-lap INEX Legends feature was a caution-plagued mess that left some drivers disappointed and one the surprise winner. This one had a hard time getting going but once it did David French led, with heat winner Keith Youngs and Dylan Hoffman behind him. With yellow fever in force, officials opted for single file restarts. Keith Youngs took the top spot near the halfway point but he spun by himself in turn four, handing the lead back to French. In a strange case of déjà vu French did the same thing two laps later, spinning unassisted in turn four. Kyle Youngs, who had earlier won his heat race, inherited the lead and had Alexandria Smith restarting right behind him. The race fell victim to caution again when Zack Bennett, French and Cody Frantz collided coming off turn four. While Frantz was initially treated at the scene the track crew cleaned up the wreck and dried up the oil that has caused the mishap. Frantz went to a local hospital and was diagnosed with some ligament injuries. Damage to his car was severe. Drivers opted to end this one at 17 laps, giving Kyle Youngs his first win over Smith, Hoffman, Pat Judson and Matt Evans.


Smokey and the Bandit strike again! For the fifth week in a row Garrett Zacharias and Bryce Bailey parked in victory lane following the 10-lap Bandolero feature, Garrett as the overall winner and Bryce as the Bandit class winner. Heat winner Sean Verwys started the feature from the fourth row but led the first two laps. Behind him Teddy Bowen and Zacharias were on the move, up to second and third. The duo got around Verwys and ran together until Zacharias made a nice inside move coming off turn four and passed Bowen for the lead. From then on it was what has become standard – Zacharias in victory lane, where he remains undefeated. Bowen was second, followed by Verwys, Bailey and DJ Shaw. Zacharias also won his heat race.


-Chemung Speedrome Press Release

-Photo Credit:

Curren Outruns a Fast Field at Chemung