Crews Continues Non-Winged Success at Millbridge

Brent Crews appeared to be on cruise control for his second Non-Winged Micro Sprint win of the Wednesday season at Millbridge Speedway.  Then, a late-race caution threw a wrench into plans.




With Crews on what appeared to be on his final lap of the race, Joey Robinson and Matt Francis came together in turn four.  This set up a one-lap dash to the finish in Wednesday’s Micro Sprint feature at the 1/6-mile oval in Salisbury, North Carolina.


Nonetheless, Crews executed a perfect restart for the one-lap shootout, prevailing over Gavan Boschele for the victory.


I figured out the clutch and all that and knew I had a good start coming,” said Crews.  “I looked beside me and didn’t see anyone, so I just sent it.


Crews is now two-for-two in Non-Winged Micro Sprint races on Wednesday nights at Millbridge since the points-paying season started on March 11.  Will Boprey won the other Micro Sprint race of the season, a Winged Micro Sprint feature on March 25.


Unfortunately for Boprey, his night ended early on Wednesday after a flip in turn three on the second lap of the feature.  He walked away from the incident.


Boschele finished second after setting quick time in qualifying and winning the first of four heat races for the 29 Micro Sprints on hand.  A four-car invert based on a roll of a die gave the defending track champion some work to do in the feature, but he was able to secure a runner-up finish.


Crews has now won the first two Non-Winged Micro Sprint features of the Wednesday points season at Millbridge Speedway in 2021.


Rounding out the podium was Tim Nye, a winner at Millbridge during the track’s Winter Series in the offseason.  Hunter Kohn and Dillon Welch completed the top-five.


Fans who missed Wednesday’s race can click here to watch a replay of the action on Speed51.TV.


Millbridge Speedway will be back in action next week, April 13-14.  The Open Outlaw Karts, Box Stocks, Beginner Box Stocks and Cadets will race on Tuesday.  The Micro Sprints will put on the wings on Wednesday, joined by Intermediate and Jr. Wing competitors.


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 Photo


Millbridge Speedway Micro Sprint Results – April 7


  1. Brent Crews
  2. Gavan Boschele
  3. Tim Nye
  4. Hunter Kohn
  5. Dillon Welch
  6. Nigel Standish
  7. Ethan Burdett
  8. Neal Allison
  9. Nick Drake
  10. Caden Kvapil
  11. Trevor Cline
  12. Joey Robinson
  13. Matt Francis
  14. Blake Hunt
  15. Aiden Price
  16. Will Boprey


Crews Continues Non-Winged Success at Millbridge