Salem, IN — The Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS will return to action this Saturday at Shadybowl Speedway located in De Graff, Ohio, for their second event of the 2017 season. Saturday’s Shadybowl 200 will be the first event of the 2017 Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stock Four Crown Series, that will feature four 200 lap, $3000 minimum to win events. The other three events in the Four Crown will be at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, June 17th, at Kentucky Motor Speedway on Saturday, July 15th and the Four Crown Series Championship event, which will be at Winchester Speedway on Saturday, August 5th and will feature an increased purse.


The CRA Street Stocks have had a very popular Triple Crown Series for the past three seasons with the events at Shadybowl Speedway, Kentucky Motor Speedway and Anderson Speedway. That series was expanded to the Four Crown Series for 2017 with the addition of the 200 lap event at Winchester Speedway. Brett Hudson was the 2016 Triple Crown Series Champion. Individual 200 lap event winners in 2016 were Josh Poore at Shadybowl, Chuck Barnes Jr. at Kentucky and Jason Atkinson at Anderson. Atkinson was the Triple Crown Series Champion in 2014 and 2015.


In addition to the $3000 minimum to win for each event, there will be a Points Champion from the four events who will receive a $1000 bonus. Second in points will receive a $600 bonus, third place a $400 bonus, then there will be two $250 bonuses from a random draw from the cars that attended all four events. Each Four Crown event winner and the overall Champion will receive a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing. Each of the Four Crown Series events will be 4 tire races with a break at lap 100 to add fuel and make adjustments.


To date there are 38 cars entered for Saturday’s event. Shadybowl Speedway promoter Rick Young announced on Monday that if there were 38 or more cars that qualified for the Shadybowl 200, the event would have a B Feature. The winner and second in the B Feature will have a choice to make, take the $400 for winning the B Feature and the $250 for second, or give up that money to race in the Shadybowl 200. If they take the money, the same option will be offered for the rest of the finishers, starting at the third place finisher, until two drivers take the option to start the Shadybowl 200.


Saturday’s race is the second race in the CRA Street Stocks “Road to Bristol”, Saturday’s winner and second place finishers will have a guaranteed start at the U.S. Short Track U.S. Nationals at Bristol Motor Speedway in the CRA Street Stock A Feature, if they are CRA members and race in the final CRA Street Stocks “Road to Bristol” event at Anderson Speedway on April 29th.


CRA veteran racer Chuck Barnes Jr. won the series season opener at Lucas Oil Raceway on April 2nd, with the win Barnes Jr. comes into Saturday’s race as the series point’s leader. Mark Mason is second in points. Mason Keller is third in points, with Jake Hinton fourth and Austin Coe in fifth place. Everyone in the top five in points is entered for Saturday’s event except Mark Mason.


Also entered is 2014 and 2016 Shadybowl 200 winner Josh Poore and 2016 Triple Crown Champion Brett Hudson. Other top CRA Street Stock drivers entered include 2016 series Champion Phil Jenkins, 2015 Shadybowl 200 winner Colby Lane, Jimmy Kirby, James Kirby III, Andrew Teepe, Justin Oberlin, Jake McElfresh, Brandon Mefford and Jason Thompson. Local drivers entered include Gordon Watson Jr., Ricky Young, Rodney Roush, Josh Smith and Jeremy Purtee.


There is an open practice scheduled for Friday from 4pm until dark. Pit Gates open on Saturday at 2pm. Practice is set to begin at 4pm with qualifying at 6pm. The race program will begin at 7pm and will include the Shadybowl 200 for the Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks. Also in action will be the Shadybowl Compacts and Pure Stocks.


More event and track information is available at For more information on Champion Racing Association and the Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks visit


-CRA Press Release

-Photo Credit:

CRA Street Stocks Set to Begin 2017 Four Crown Series