CRA Street Stocks Return to Mt. Lawn to Start Championship Chase

Salem, IN — The Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS will begin its 2020 Chase for the Championship this Sunday at Mt. Lawn Speedway. The Mt. Lawn Speedway Labor Day Weekend event was a late addition to the schedule after Winchester Speedway cancelled its traditional Labor Day Weekend World Stock Festival.


After having several events postponed or canceled because of the COVID 19 pandemic, Sunday will be the sixth event of the 2020 season and the fifth points event for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks, who opened their 2020 season at Lebanon I-44 Speedway on May 30th with a special non-points event that was won by 2017 series Champion Colby Lane. Lane then picked up the series’ first points event win of 2020 at Mt. Lawn Speedway on June 14th. Andrew Teepe got the win at the Indianapolis Speedrome Triple Crown Event on July 11th.  Brett Hudson has won the last two series events, the Triple Crown win at Shadybowl on July 25th and the Triple Crown win at Anderson Speedway on August 15th.

The series will begin its 2020 Chase for the Championship on Sunday, 2020 will be the fourth season the series has used this playoff style format to crown its Champion. The second event of the Chase will be at Lucas Oil Raceway on September 20th, the third event of the Chase will be at Bristol Motor Speedway on September 26th with the final Championship event on Saturday, October 10th of Winchester 400 Weekend.

2014 and 2015 series Champion Jason Atkinson was the regular season points Champion and is locked into the final four drivers who will race for the series Championship, as long as he competes in all three Chase events leading up to the Championship event. The other drivers earning the right to compete over the next three-point events to be in the final four drivers to compete for the series Championship on Winchester 400 weekend include Ryan Amonett, Alan Williams Jr., leading series rookie Brandon Roberts, Teepe, Chad Pendleton, Josh Poore and Troy Phillips.


There will be optional early hauler parking available on Friday from 6 to 8pm. Pits open on Saturday at 11am. The first of three rounds of practice for each division racing this weekend will begin at 1:30pm, the third practice session will also be group qualifying for each division. Racing begins on Saturday evening at 6pm and will include a Fastest 5 Dash for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks five fastest qualifiers with the winner getting $200 from Gary Crossgrove Painting.

Pits open at 10am on Sunday. Warm Up Sessions for all divisions will begin at 12noon. Racing will begin at 2pm and will include the 75-lap feature for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks . Also racing on Sunday will be the Vore’s Welding CRA Late Model Sportsman in a 75-lap feature, the Mt. Lawn Speedway Modifieds, Crown Vic’s, Pro Compacts, Stock Compacts, and Thunder Roadsters.


More event and track information can be found at


For more information on all the CRA series go to


-CRA Press Release
-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo

CRA Street Stocks Return to Mt. Lawn to Start Championship Chase