CRA Street Stocks Four Crown Resumes Sunday at Mt. Lawn

Salem, IN — The Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks Powered by JEGS will have their second event with the 2019 Four Crown Series this Sunday at Mt. Lawn Speedway. The Four Crown Series will feature in 2019 four 200 lap, $3000 minimum to win events. The first Four Crown event was held on Sunday, July 14th at the Indianapolis Speedrome were Ben Tunney got his first ever CRA win. The third Four Crown event will be at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 10th and the Four Crown Series Championship event, which will be at Shadybowl Speedway on Saturday, August 24th.

The Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks had a very popular Triple Crown Series from 2014 through 2016 with the events at Shadybowl Speedway, Kentucky Motor Speedway and Anderson Speedway. Jason Atkinson won the Triple Crown Series Championship in 2014 and 2015 with Brett Hudson winning the 2016 Championship. The series was expanded to the Four Crown Series for 2017 with Chuck Barnes Jr. winning the title. The series was expanded to a Five Crown Series in 2018, but two events were cancelled because of weather, Jacob McElfresh was the 2018 Champion.

In addition to the $3000 minimum to win for each event, there will be a Points Champion from the four events who will receive a $1000 bonus. Second in points will receive a $600 bonus, third place a $400 bonus, then there will be two $250 bonuses from a random draw from the cars that attended all four events. Each of the Four Crown Series events will be 4 tire races, all four will have a break at lap 100 to add fuel and make adjustments. Each Four Crown event winner and the overall Champion will receive a specially designed buckle from Crumrine Buckle Manufacturing.

Sunday’s Bob Fields Memorial 200 will be the first series event at Mt. Lawn Speedway since July 17th, 2010 were Atkinson took the win. In all there have been five series events total at Mt. Lawn, other winners include Joe Beaver with two wins, including the series’ first ever event at Mt. Lawn in 2006 as well as Jeff Lane and Jason Thompson with one win a piece. The Bob Fields Memorial 200 event was rained out twice in 2018 and again earlier this season on May 19th and was rescheduled for this Sunday.

Sunday will be the sixth event of the 2019 season for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks, who opened their 2019 season at Anderson Speedway on April 13th, were Bret Miles Jr. got the victory. Chuck Barnes Jr. won the second event of the season on June 1st at Bristol Motor Speedway. Atkinson picked up the won at the series third event of the season on June 29th at Baer Field Motorsports Park. Ryan Amonett got his first ever CRA win in the series fourth event of the season, the non-points $5,000 to win Crown Jewel event at Baer Field on July 6th. Tunney was the most recent winner.

Atkinson comes into Sunday’s event as the series points leader and with his win at Baer Field is locked into the series 2019 Chase for the Championship. McElfresh is second in points, he is 29 points behind Atkinson. Andrew Teepe is third in points, he is six points behind McElfresh. J.J. Schafer is fourth in points, he is 20 points behind Teepe. Brian Lewis is fifth in series points, he is 64 points behind Schafer.

All the top five in points are entered for Sunday’s event along with Baer Field Crown Jewel winner Amonett and previous Mt. Lawn CRA Street Stock winners Jeff Lane and Jason Thompson. Other top area drivers entered include Calvin Parham, Colby Lane, Brian Hopkins, Fred Hopkins, Tyler Hopkins, Tyler Marsh, Jake Owens, Nathan Greene and Randy Anderson.

There will be an optional open practice at Mt. Lawn Speedway this Saturday from 12 to 5pm. On Sunday, pit gates open at 2:30pm. Practice will begin at 4pm with qualifying beginning at 5:45pm. The race program is set to begin at 7:30pm and will include the Bob Fields Memorial 200 Four Crown event for the Van Hoy Oil CRA Street Stocks. Also racing that night will be the Mt. Lawn Thunder Cars, Pro Compacts, Stock Compacts and Crown Vic’s.

More event and track information can be found at

More information on all the CRA Series is available at

-Champion Racing Association Press Release
-Photo Credit: CRA

CRA Street Stocks Four Crown Resumes Sunday at Mt. Lawn