CRA Street Stocks Crowning a Champion at Winchester

The CRA Street Stocks will crown a champion on Saturday as part of the Winchester 400 weekend alongside the CRA Late Model Sportsman and Midwest Modifieds Tour.  As the second longest running series in Champion Racing Association, they will crown a champion in their 16th season of competition.


Just like the Sportsman, the Street Stocks. will settle the championship battle with a 50-lap feature event to cap of Saturday night’s action.  The race has been won by the series champion two out of the three years, with Colby Lane and James Kirby III doing so in 2017 and 2018.




Two-time series champion Jason Atkinson recently won his first race of the season at Lucas Oil Raceway as part of Fall Brawl.  He can tie the mark set by Joe Beaver for most CRA Street Stock titles with a third championship this weekend.


Andrew Teepe heads to Winchester with a shot at a championship for the third time in four years after finishing runner-up one year ago.  He earned his first career CRA Street Stock win back in July at Indianapolis Speedrome.


Despite sitting in the top-five all-time in CRA Street Stock wins, this will only be Josh Poore’s second opportunity at a series championship.  The 2011 series runner-up has won 13 races in his career, but has yet to find victory lane in 2020.


Rookie Brandon Roberts had only made one start with the series before 2020, now he finds himself battling for a championship against three established veterans.  His best finish to date is a fourth, having done so twice at Indianapolis Speedrome and Anderson Speedway.


All three CRA Street Stocks during its inaugural year in 2005 took place at Winchester, with Bret Miles Jr and Jeff Lane picking up wins.  The first Street Stock race during 400 Weekend was competed one year later with Beau Mitchell taking the win.  Lane, Jacob Owens, Larry Matillo, Jason Thompson, Calvin Parham, Colby Lane, Terry Fisher Jr and James Kirby III have also picked up wins during the crown jewel weekend.


Joe Beaver and Jason Atkinson are the only two drivers with multiple series titles, with three and two respectively.  A long list of former CRA Street Stock champions include Dean Baker, Bret Miles Jr, Steve Christman, Jeff Lane, Jimmy Kirby, Dustin Burge, Phil Jenkins, Colby Lane, James Kirby III and defending series champion Jacob McElfresh.


The Winchester 400 weekend is scheduled for three action-packed days of racing at the “Fastest Half Mile” on October 9-11.  More tickets have just been released and are available at


Teams and fans wanting to purchase pit passes early to help expedite their entry to the infield can do so at or download the Pit Pay App wherever you obtain App for your mobile device.


Fans unable to make the trip to Winchester, Indiana will be able to watch all three days of racing via a pay-per-view broadcast on Speed51.TV.  For more information and to order your video ticket today, click here.


Be sure to follow Winchester Speedway’s social media channels for the latest updates on upcoming events. “Like” the Winchester Speedway Facebook page, follow @FastestHalfMile on Twitter and Instagram.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo

CRA Street Stocks Crowning a Champion at Winchester