Salem, IN — Champion Racing Association powered by JEGS (CRA) officials released the names of the teams competing in the 2017 Championship Chase for the Lawrence Towing CRA Street Stocks powered by JEGS.  Series officials were recently informed that the #44 Scotty Holbert team and driver Chuck Barnes Jr. would not be entering all the events to contend for the championship.  The team notified series officials so that other contenders could move into their spot and prepare for the final four races.  CRA managing partner R. J. Scott noted, “This was a pretty classy move by the Holbert/Barnes Jr. team, to give everyone the heads up. It will give other teams an opportunity to compete for the championship, and more importantly, more time to prepare for the important four-race Chase.”


Similar to the top levels of racing now and all major sports, CRA used a regular season of events to determine those who are eligible to compete in the post season for a championship. The final four scheduled races will be utilized as the playoffs or Chase.  Prior to the start of the final four races, the top 8 teams in wins (then points) that have attended 75% of the events are eligible for the Chase.  Prior to the season’s LAST event, the top 4 CHASE TEAMS in Wins (then points) during the CHASE and were at all CHASE events, will race for the season’s championship, with the highest finishing team in that event declared the season’s champion.


Going into those final four races, the eight drivers contending for the Driver’s championship are Brett Hudson, Josh Poore, Andrew Teepe, James Kirby III, Josh Brading, Daniel Adams, Colby Lane and Mason Keller.  The eight owners competing for the Championship are #00 Willie Hudson, #27 Josh Poore, #84 Speedy Teepe, #22 Jimmy Kirby III, #74 Josh Brading, #57 Dave Stewart, #44 Jeff Lane, and #54 Wendell Layne. All CRA season point awards are paid off the final Owner standings.


If for any reason, one of the above competitors does not appear at the first race of the Chase at Baer Field Motorsports Park on August 19, the next competitor in their respective points would move up into the Chase if eligible. After Baer Field, teams will compete at Winchester Speedway Labor Day Weekend, then at Lucas Oil Raceway September 24th.  Following the Fall Brawl at LOR, the final four competitors will be set and the Champion determined by the highest finisher in the season’s final event, 400 Weekend at Winchester Speedway.


For more information about the Champion Racing Association, the remaining events or Championship Chase details, be sure to visit  Officials reserve the right to make adjustments to the items outlined above if weather/cancellations affect the originally announced Championship Chase plan.


-CRA Press Release

-Photo Credit:

CRA Street Stock 2017 Championship Chase Teams Announced