Winchester, NH: Todd Patnode added more points to the NASCAR Whelen All American Racing Series NH Standings this past Saturday as he cruised into victory lane in dominating style for his eighth win of the season. Geoff Rollins came back after a tough hit last week to pull off the Super Stock victory as Kyle Boniface, uncontested, took down his eighth Lightning Stock win. The biggest victory of the night was Eric Pomasko scoring his first career Mini Stock win. George Baldwin took the checkers for the Thunder Stocks celebrating his 100th race career win and Mike McGoldrick held of the challenges from Matt Kimball and Dylan Morse for the number one spot in the Young Guns. The visiting Pro 4 Modifieds victor was Robin Berghman with hometrack competitor, Kyle Boniface scoring the win for the Pro 4 Modified Lites. This past Saturday also completed the Triple Crown Series as the following were crowned the champions; Todd Patnode, Tom Carey III, Mike Stebbins, Kyle Boniface, Dave Greenslit and Mike McGoldrick.


JT Cloutier and Dana Smith brought the Sportsman Modifieds to the green flag start. Smith took the lead from rookie Cloutier coming to complete lap one. On lap four the race came to a halt as multiple cars were damaged ending the night for Steve Fifield, Brian Chapin, Brett Gonyaw and Ray Grassetti. On the restart, Smith took control and led for the next five laps as Tyler Jarvenpaa’s engine let go causing the caution flag to be displayed setting up a challenge for the lead between Smith and Patnode. Patnode was denied for several laps as Smith felt Patnode all over his back bumper. Scott MacMichael and Bill Kimball had their own battle going on behind the two leaders for third. On Lap twenty four, the caution again was displayed for a single car spin of Matt Rzewnicki. On the restart, Smith continued to command the number one spot as Patnode continued to put the pressure on with Kimball sitting in third. A few laps later, Smith looking for a victory, was shattered as Kimball made contact going into turn one causing Smith to spin. Patnode now sat in the top spot and never looked as MacMichael and Keith Carzello fought wheel to wheel for several laps for second. Patnode cruised into the victory as Carzello fought hard coming in for second followed by MacMichael, Trevor Bleau and Eric Leclair.


The Super Stocks rolled out and started off with a lap one caution as the field went three wide unsettling competitors behind them forcing Tyler Leary to have contact with Nancy Muni Ruot. On the restart, Ian MacDonald and Tyler Lescord brought the field to the green. Lescord quickly jumped into the lead as Rollins followed in second. By lap eight, the fans saw a new leader of Rollins passing Lescord leaving him in a side by side battle with Ed Brehio III. Ten laps to go, Rollins and Brehio III checked out leaving the battle for third between Striebel and Lescord. On lap twenty one Alyssa Rivera was shown the black flag as the whole side her race machine was coming apart, on lap twenty four Rivera stopped in turn three and four setting the field up for six lap shoot out. Two laps later, the race was under yellow again as Striebel running in third makes contact with another competitor collecting James Thompson, Ken Springer and Tyler Leary. On the restart, Rollins held of strong challenges from Brehio as he was all over Rollins back bumper until Tom Carey III recovering by an earlier spin came to battle. Rollins lead grew as Brehio and Carey ran the race out side by side to the checkered flag for second with Carey taking it over on the final turn of the race. MacDonald and Springer officially came in fourth and fifth.


It was Eric Pomasko’s night in the Mini Stocks as he sat on the pole for their main event. Pomasko quickly took the lead as rookie Faford was left in an early battle with Beth Adams for second. By lap ten, Adams and Mike Stebbins took over the second and third spot. Pomasko felt no pressure from second or third and continued to run a smooth strong race. Stebbins looked inside and outside on Adams to make a pass for second. As laps winded down, the only challenge left for Pomasko was to get through lap traffic as Adams denied any attempts from Stebbins on the inside line. Rookies Monahan and Faford awaited challenges from Chris McTaggart for the top five. At the checkers, it was an emotional Pomasko winning his first career Mini Stock event followed by Adams, Stebbins, Monahan and Faford.


The first lap of the Thunder Stocks was an exciting one as a caution came out immediately for three wide move from George Baldwin causing Ben Williams and Tyler Janovsky to spin. On the restart, Jason Barden and Randy McGee led the field to the green. Barden held off the challenges from Mcgee until lap seven when a little bump run action left Barden in second. McGee pulled away from the field as Greenslit worked on Barden for second. Ten to go, Baldwin sat in second as McGee, Baldwin and Greenslit ran nose to tail. A lap eighteen restart gave Baldwin the lead as McGee attempted to reel Baldwin in. On the final lap, it was Baldwin celebrating his 100th victory followed by McGee, Greenslit, Marshall Usher and Barden.


Matt Somerville and Pat Houle set the pace for the Lighting Stock. Somerville took the lead as Paquette took over the second spot. Boniface starting from seventh quickly took over second by lap six and was on the hunt for first from Somerville. By lap ten, Boniface took over the lead as Chris Davis and Josh Houle took over second and third. The battle between Davis and Houle continued for second as Boniface sailed away from the rest of field. Only four laps to go, Somerville running third suffers mechanical problems leaving Tim O’Shea in the third spot. At the checkers, it was Boniface followed by Josh Houle, Tim O’Shea, Eric Silvernale and Richard Whipple.


Michelle Leh sat in pole position for the twenty lap Young Gun event. By the second Lap, Leh already felt the pressure of Mike McGoldrick and Matt Kimball on her back bumper. Half way, Leh continued to hold on to the lead as Dylan Morse made an inside pass on Kimball for third. Lap thirteen proved to lucky for McGodrick as he made the pass on Leh for the lead. Morse continued to feel the pressure from Kimball as Solomon Brow ran behind the top three awaiting his opportunity. The top three battled it out right to the checkers as McGoldrick scored the win followed by Morse, Kimball, Brow and Bow Smith.


This Saturday is Football Night at the races. All fans who wear their favorite football team shirt receives $5 off Adult General Admission. Race time is at 6pm.


-Monadnock Speedway Press Release. Photo Credit- Gary Dutton.


Sportsman Modifieds: Todd Patnode, Keith Carzello, Scott MacMichael, Trevor Bleau, Eric LeClair, Bill Kimball, JT Cloutier, Kim Rivet, Dana Smith, Matt Rzewnicki, Brad Zahensky, Tyler Jarvenpaa, Brian Chapin, Brett Gonyaw, Raymond Grassetti, Steve Fifield

Super Stocks: Geoff Rollins, Tom Carey III, Ed Brehio III, Ian MacDonald, Ken Springer, Dave Striebel, Tyler Leary, Alyssa Rivera, Tyler Lescord, James Thompson, Nancy Muni, George Frost

Mini Stocks: Eric Pomasko, Beth Adams, Mike Stebbins, Joel Monahan, Justin Faford, Chris MacTaggart, Ethan Marsh, Cameron Sontag, Louis Maher, Kevin McKnight

Contact Between Leaders Gives Patnode Eighth Monadnock Win