CONCORD, N.C. – The Pro All Star Series (PASS) Super Late Models return to Concord Speedway as part of the 14th Annual John Blewett Memorial North South Shootout in Memory of Charles Kepley for a 125-lap race on Saturday, November 5.


Concord Speedway is a track that was literally built for the sleek, high-powered, lightning fast Super Late Model machines.


In 1982 local Concord race promoter Henry Furr carved a four-tenths-of-a-mile dirt track out of the Carolina clay just north of the town of Midland. After operating for a number of years as a dirt track, Furr paved the speedway and ultimately re-configured it for the Super Late Model cars that were the premier short track series at the time.


Furr began hosting high-paying Super Late Model races that attracted drivers from across the country; the Big 10 Series was born.


Jack Sprague, who would go on to become a 3-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Champion, was the first Big 10 Championship in 1987. The Spring Lake, Mich. native won it again in 1989.


During the “hey-day” of The Big 10 Series the very best Super Late Model Driver tackled the triangle-shaped track racing for some of the sports top honors. Drivers like Freddie Query, Rich Bickle and Robbie Faggart won championships at Concord.


Big 10 Series Champions:
· 1987: Jack Sprague
· 1988: Larry Raines
· 1989: Jack Sprague
· 1990: Robbie Faggart
· 1991: Rich Bickle
· 1992: Rich Bickle
· 1993: Freddie Query
· 1994: Freddie Query
· 1995: Mike Thomas
· 1996: Eddie Massengill


Other racers who competed at Concord during this era included Ernie Irvan, Bobby Gill, Bobby Labonte, Dave Mader III and anyone else who was at the top of the Super Late Model scene.


Concord was built for Super Late Models and Super Late Model careers were built at Concord.


As time moved forward the racing landscape was changing, Concord Speedway was sold and with the exception of another attempt at the Big 10 Series in 2003-2005; the Super Late Models became a rarity at the track.


Big 10 Series Champions:
o 2003: Eddie Massengill
o 2004: Freddie Query
o 2005: Freddie Query


In the Northeast the PASS Series was growing and expanded with a “Southern” Tour and Concord Speedway become a regular stop from 2010 through 2013. In 2015 the track hosted a pair of PASS races and the North South Shootout is the second series race at the track this season.


PASS Super Late Model Races at Concord (2010-Present)
Date: Winner:
May 29, 2010 Andy Loden
Nov. 26, 2011 Colt James
Nov. 24, 2012 Preston Peltier
Nov. 23, 2013 Tyler Church
May 22, 2015 Zane Smith
Nov. 8, 2015 Brandon Setzer
May 27, 2016 Ryan Moore


With a rich history and a growing presence in the current Super Late Model landscape, Concord Speedway is poised to write another chapter of Super Late Model racing on November 5 with the North South Shootout. The race is the season finale for both the PASS National Tour as well as the PASS South Super Late Model Series.


The North South Shootout is headlined by 125-lap features for the Tour-Type Modifieds and the Pro All Star Series (PASS) Super Late Models. The SK-Type Modifieds, Limited Late Models, Vintage Racers, Street Stock and Mini Stocks will all be in racing throughout the weekend.


Thursday, November 3 is a day of practice; Friday, November 4 is qualifying for all divisions we well as street stock, mini stock and vintage races. On Saturday, November 5th it’s the headline races as well as the SK-Type Modifieds, Limited Late Models and Vintage racers.


A more-details schedule, entry forms, advance ticket sales, and other information is available at . Further updates will also be made on the North South Shootout Facebook Page as well as through the @NSShootout Twitter Account.


-Steve Post Motorsports Communication Press Release. Photo credit:PASS

Concord Speedway: A Track Built for Super Late Models