Compacts Storming Into Eldora This Weekend

There’s a first-of-its-kind event for Compact racing this weekend as the asphalt Vores Compact Touring Series and dirt Sport Compact Dirt Racing Association (SCDRA) join forces for the Clash of the Compacts at Eldora Speedway this weekend. A total of 55 cars are entered for the event, with a golden shovel similar to the one that was given to NASCAR Truck Series winners on the line.


Former VCTS champions Terry Eaton Jr and Chris Jennings lead the Midwest-based series into battle with their dirt counterparts. Other top drivers representing Vores include former Bristol Motor Speedway winner Steve Vore, Todd Metz Sr. and Jr., and former VCTS Eldora winner Harvey Yoder.


Current SCDRA points runner-up Brandon Gibson Jr leads the way for the Southeast-based touring series. 2021 race winner John Windham is also entered, along with drivers from 14 different states.


The Clash of the Compacts is a non-points event for both series’. Friday night will consist of qualifying and heat races for teams, with B-Mains and the $3,500 to win main event Saturday night.


The winner will also get an automatic starting spot for the SCDRA Winter Freeze at Screven Motor Speedway in 2022. That race will pay an unheard of $18,000 to win.


The Vores Compact Touring Series have contested four previous races at “The Big E.” Along with Yoder, Rick James, Matthew Morris and Ricky Weaver Jr. have also won races at Eldora.


The full entry list can be found below.


-Story by: Koty Geyer, Speed51 National Correspondent – Twitter: @kgeyer3

-Photo Credit: Speed51 Photo


SCDRA Entries:

13B Barnes, Josh
W1 Campbell, John
2 Chandler, Brad
0n Cosman, Owen
35 Deese, Cale
777J Erb, Jeff
132 Gibson, Brandon Jr.
19G Gill, John
11 Hines, Brady
35 Hobday, Lonnie
24 Johnson, Dylan
3 Kiesel, Matt
1A Krouskoupf, Jeremy
24 Langlois, Bryce
4m McGrew, Eddie
6 Modesty, Donnie
19m Moss, Dan
18 Orr, Jay
41 Saam, Kevin
41s Slone, Austin
OO Smith, Dan
34 Smoot, Dave
11 Spears, Casey
8a St. James, Colton
5 Weaver, Shannon
14w Wert, Jason
9mm Williams, Rob
44 Wilson, Alex
65 Windham, John
72 Windham, Walker

VCTS Entries:

O7 Steve Vore
23 Tony Newman
14 Joseph Jennings
21 Rodney Sutton
85 Phil Iliff
67 Rob Rehm
24T Aaron Teegarden
107 Jeff Vore
6 Chris Jennings
1 Tim Hintz
8 Will Jennings
35 T.J. Fannin
75 Dusty Harding
1 Josh Fults
37 Darek Morris
56 Sean Frederick
82 Harvey Yoder
4 Terry Eaton Jr.
54 Brandon Dalton
OO7 Don Rufener III
5 Brett Smith
62 Yogi Metz
13 Mark Jennings
29 Ron Sagers
79 Todd Metz Jr.

Compacts Storming Into Eldora This Weekend