First time winners continue to be the rule as the South Bend Motor Speedway hosted some of the best short track racing in the speedway’s history. Nearly 70 drivers filled the pit area as Joe Coffin scorred his first ever Street Stock feature win while Rich Boal took his first win of the season in Pro Late Models. Charlie Hanna made it 3 out of 4 in the Bellman Oil Outlaw Lates as Bryan Banta and Derek Davis each too their 2nd wins of the year in FWD and Mini Stocks.

In the 20 lap Front Wheel Drive main, Rowdy Ronnie Holloway of South Bend jumped into the lead at the onset and appeared headed for his first feature win at the track. However, Bryan Banta of South Bend had other ideas. Near the three quarter mark, Banta moved alongside and cruised to the win, donating part of his winnings to the Hoosier Burn Camp. Matt Maurer of Granger also slipped around Holloway for second as Holloway settled for 3rd. Alyson Cretacci took fourth for her best finish to date over Kyle O’Dell of Plymouth. South Bend drivers, Devin Lauderback, James Austin, Drew Davis and Craig Ponsler were next as Bryant Ragsdale of Mishawaka rounded out the top ten. In heat race action, Ponsler topped Jason Horton of South Bend and Ausitn in heat one while Derek Davis of South Bend took heat two over Banta and Brandon Boyd of North Liberty. Ragsdale took heat three over Drew Davis and Sean Stuart of North Liberty.

The Mini Stock 25 lap main started with a multi car crash in the back stretch that, surprisingly resulted in minor damage for all involved. As the checker flew, it was Derek Davis of South Bend taking his second win of the season in convincing fashion over last week’s winner David Raley Jr of Osceola and Dustin Kline of Constantine, MI. Ryne Balsley of Plymouth was next over chad Lindsey of LaPorte and Aaron Zimmerman of Shipshewana. Howie Fisette and Kevin Davis of South Bend, Mike Kline of Centerville, MI and Dennis Frazier of  Rochester rounded out the top ten.  Dustin Kline took the win in heat one over Kevin Davis and Frazier while Derek Davis took heat two ahead of Lindsey and Zimmerman.

So far this season, the Street Stocks have provided some of the best racing action and this week was not exception. Joe Coffin of Plymouth took advantage of his front row starting spot and never looked back. As the rest of the field fought for position, Coffin drove a consistent line and held on for his first ever feature win. South Bend’s Doug Fox gave challenge but fell short as fellow Bender, Derek Wunder was third. Mark Swan of Mishawaka and Danny Brown Jr of LaPorte were next as Jay Coffin of Hamlet, Jeff Kaiser of North Liberty, Mike Walls of Mishawaka, Jordan Cretacci of Walkerton and Kenneth Dodd of Osceola completed the top ten. Jordan Cretacci scored his first ever win in heat one over Fox and A.J. Lubelski of Walkerton. Wunder scored the win in heat two over Jay Coffin and James Haisley of South Bend as Mark Swan bested Joe Coffin and Brown Jr in heat three.

By winning last week’s Bellman Oil Company Outlaw Late Model feature, Charlie Hanna had to start shot-gun on the field but that didn’t deter him as he forged his way to the front of the pack. As the laps wound down, Hanna took the lead and never looked back. However, Scott Ross moved to within striking distance as the duo approached lapped traffic. At the finish, it was Hanna taking his third win in four tries over Ross from Plymouth, John Long of Niles and early leader Andrew DeVreese of Mishawaka. Defending champ, Mike Tutino of Walkerton was fifth while Kenny Lollar Jr of Buchanan, Kevin Clash of South Bend, Corey Woods of South Bend, Chuck Lymangrover of Mishawaka and Terry Lombardi of Elkhart completed the top ten. Long beat out Clash and Tutino for the win in heat one while Lollar took heat two over Hanna and DeVreese.

Defending Pro Late Model champion, Rich Boal appeared as though he just couldn’t get a break this season. That is, until Friday. Boal, of Plymouth, managed to shake off the gremlins that have plagued him for much of the early season to take home his first win of the year at the famed oval. Elkhart’s Rodney Smith, hoping to shake off his ‘brides-maid curse’ finished second for the fourth week in a row while early leader Bobby Stremme of South Bend took third over Brandon Cretacci of Walkerton and Brian McFadden of South Bend. Billy Stevenson of Rolling Prairie, Greg Gifford of Michigan City, Alex Pratt of Elkhart and Danny Brown Sr of New Carlisle rounded out the field. Boal took the win in heat one over Brown Sr and McFadden as Smith topped Gifford and Stremme in heat two.

This Friday night will feature Old Timer’s Night along with inductions into the Michiana Motor Sports Hall of Fame. Fans will be able to check out some vintage race cars on display in front of the main grandstands and get re-acquainted with some of their all time heroes as the new members will be added. Gates open at 7 with racing action set to go green at 8. Adult admission is just $12 with kids 6-12 only $5 and those 5 and under admitted free with an adult. Small coolers are welcome but NO glass or alcohol is allowed to be carried in.

Front Wheel Drive:
1) Bryan Banta – South Bend, IN
2) Matt Maurer – Granger, IN
3) Ronnie Holloway – South Bend, IN
Heat 1:
1) Craig Ponsler – South Bend, IN
2) Jason Horton – South Bend, IN
3) James Austin – South Bend, IN
Heat 2:
1) Derek Davis – South Bend, IN
2) Bryan Banta – South Bend, In
3) Brandon Boyd – North Liberty, IN
Heat 3:
1) Bryant Ragsdale – Mishawaka, IN
2) Drew Davis – South Bend, IN
3) Sean Stuart – North Liberty, IN

Mini Stocks:
1) Derek Davis – South Bend, IN
2) David Raley Jr – Osceola, IN
3) Dustin Kline – Constantine, MI
Heat 1:
1) Dustin Kline – Constantine, MI
2) Kevin Davis – South Bend, IN
3) Dennis Frazier – Rochester, IN
Heat 2:
1) Derek Davis – South Bend, IN
2) Chad Lindsey – LaPorte, IN
3) Aaron Zimerman – Shipshewana, IN

Bellman Oil Outlaw Late Models:
1) Charlie Hanna – Goshen, IN
2) Scott Ross – Plymouth, IN
3) John Long – Niles, MI
Heat 1)
1) John Long – Niles, MI
2) Kevin Clash – South Bend, IN
3) Mike Tutino – Walkerton, IN
Heat 2:
1) Kenny Lollar Jr  – Buchanan, MI
2) Charlie Hanna – Goshen, In
3) Andrew DeVreese – Mishawaka, IN

Pro Late Model:
1) Rich Boal – Plymouth, IN
2) Rodney Smith – Elkhart, IN
3) Bobby Stremme – South Bend, IN
Heat 1:
1) Rich Boal – Plymouth, IN
2) Danny Brown Sr – New Carlisle, IN
3) Brian McFadden – South Bend, IN
Heat 2:
1) Rodney Smith – Elkhart, IN
2) Greg Gifford – Michigan City, IN
3) Bobby Stremme – South Bend, IN

Coffin and Boal Score at S.B.M.S.