XeniaOH:  KilKare Speedway in Xenia had one of its biggest crowds in several seasons as the Chuck Russell Late Model Classic plus the bus races where are the racing card. Russell, a former track champion, passed away in the off season. The race was a 44 lap feature.  Russell raced  #44 for most of his career.

The race took a couple complete restarts due to minor spins and crash. Cody Robinson was the first to bust free of the pack and put his Miami Valley MFG ride out front. The format of the race turned when Kyle Jones and Greg Stapleton caught Robinson. The three waged a torrid battle for the win. Robinson, however, got to the checker first with Kyle Jones second, Stapleton third, Matthew Parsons was fourth with Arlis Williams fifth.

The modified feature saw Troy resident  Greg Stapleton hold off

Jack Jones to take the victory in his Stapleton Machine open wheeler. Derek Barnette, Mike Carroll and Bob Sibila  rounded out the top five.

In the street stock class Jamie Sites picked up his 6th feature win is his Camaro. Jim Lewis Jr was second with Dick Dunlevy, Mike Carroll,and Bob Sibila rounded out the top five.

The compact feature turned out to be one of the events of the night. Bill Honious and Tony Cottrill ran side by side the last 5 laps, before Honious took charge. Honious went on to lead the money lap followed by Nick Barrett, Cottrill, Bob Klein and Davey Shaw. This Friday night (7-18) will host the Must See Racing Xtreme Sprint Series, along with Late Models, Street Stocks, Modifieds and Compacts.


KilKare Results 07-11-14


Late Models:

Fast Qualifier: Kyle Jones 13.585

Feature: 1. Cody Robinson 2. Kyle Jones 3. Greg Stapleton 4. Matthew Parsons 5. Arlis Williams 6.Rob Jacks 7. Russ Bobb 8. Billl Burba 9. Joe Taylor 10. Tyler Mahaffey 11. Don Mahaffey


Fast Qualifier: Jack Jones 13.795

Feature: 1. Greg Stapleton 2. Jack Jones 3. Derek Barnette 4. Mike Carroll 5. Bob Sibila Jr. 6. Zach Stacy 7. Grant Gamble 8. Ethan Mullet

Sport Stocks:

Fast Qualifier: Jim Lewis Jr.

Feature: 1. Jamie Sites 2. Jim Lewis Jr. 3. Dick Dunlevy Jr. 4. Mike South Jr. 5. Josh Longstreth 6. Jacob Heckman 7. David Stump 8. Rodney Kreusch


Fast Qualifier: Bill Honious 14.733

Feature: 1. Bill Honious 2. Nick Barrett 3. Tony Cottrill 4. Bob Klein 5. Davey Shaw 6. Ron Shelton 7. Amber Holley 8. Nick Bertke


– KilKare Speedway press release.  Photo credit: Isaacs Photos


Cody Robinson Wins Chuck Russell Classic at KilKare