BARBERVILLE, Fla. — Shane Clanton became the first driver in history to win four Dirt Late Model races during one DIRTcar Nationals when he pulled off a breathtaking slider to go from third to first in turn three on Saturday night at Volusia Speedway Park. It was his fourth World of Outlaws Late Model Series victory of the season.


In the Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series finale at DIRTcar Nationals, Neal Williams ran down Billy Pauch and rolled to an upset victory in a field of superstars.


This week, though, belonged to Clanton. He has won several different ways this week at Volusia, and on Saturday night he started sixth, worked his way to third by lap 13, was in second by lap 18 in a battle with Jimmy Owens, dropped to third for a couple of laps then pulled off a massive slider on lap 31 going into turn three, splitting race-long leader Tim McCreadie and Owens. From there, it was all Clanton as he drove to victory and claimed the Big Gator trophy for winning the Dirt Late Model week DIRTcar Nationals championship.


“That was a good ol’ Georgia ass-kickin’ right there,” said Clanton, of Zebulon, Ga. “We were by far the class of the field. I don’t give a damn what anybody says. We worked our ass off all winter long. This feels good. I drove my heart out tonight just biding my time and making the right moves at the right time.


“The pace tonight was just unbelievably fast. I was afraid I was gonna hurt my right-rear tire, so I just paced myself the first 15 or 20 laps. Owens got up to second there and I knew I had to go then. I just took the right moves and got back by him and made the right move to get by McCreadie.”


Owens wound up second with Scott Bloomquist, the only driver other than Clanton to win this week at Volusia, in third.


“Shane really just had everybody covered tonight and he was good all weekend,” Bloomquist said. “We know when we get beat, and we got beat this week.”


Williams stunned everybody in the Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified finale, keeping pace with the leaders before pulling away from a field of modified legends like Billy Pauch, Brett Hearn and Danny Johnson.


“I was just able to stay in my zone, everyone talks about running in second in lapped traffic, I just put that in my brain and it really paid off,” said Williams, of Pittsgrove, N.J. “Pauch made a couple of mistakes and I was able to capitalize. Once I got out in front, I knew if I stayed smooth and consistent, I didn’t have any wheel spin, the car was on rails and we were able to pull away.”


Larry Wight earned the Big Gator for the Big-Block Modified week championship at Volusia. In four races, Wight posted a third, a fourth and two seventh-place finishes.


“We had some struggles tonight and brought out the backup car and started in the rear again,” said Wight, who restarted from the tail of the field early on Friday night and finished third. “Maybe if we started in the top-20 we could have won it, but Neal had a great car, the dominant car, and he seemed to be able to hold his own.”


NOTEBOOK – Early in the Super DIRTcar Big-Block Modified Series feature event, several cars collided with one rolling on the frontstretch that caused part of the racing surface to come up and fly over the fence, injuring four fans. The track safety crew responded immediately and attended to the injuries. Two fans were transported to a local hospital for further evaluation while the other two fans left on their own. … Saturday night was the finale to the 2015 edition of the DIRTcar Nationals. The 2016 event will be Feb. 9-20, 2016. Renewals are taking place right now; tickets go on sale April 1, 2015. … The next event at Volusia Speedway Park will be March 8-10 during Bike Week featuring the AMA Flat Track Series among others.


For more information and updates on the DIRTcar Nationals, click or follow on Twitter at @DIRTcarNats.


-DIRTcar Nationals Press Release. Photo credit: DIRTcar Nationals Twitter


DIRTcar Nationals Statistical Report; Feb. 21, 2015; Volusia Speedway Park; Barberville, Fla.

World of Outlaws Late Model Series A-Main – (50 Laps) – 1. Shane Clanton ($10,100); 2. Jimmy Owens; 3. Scott Bloomquist; 4. Darrell Lanigan; 5. Steve Francis; 6. Tim McCreadie; 7. Kent Robinson; 8. Eric Wells; 9. Chase Junghans; 10. Boom Briggs; 11. Morgan Bagley; 12. Ricky Weiss; 13. Chub Frank; 14. Rick Eckert; 15. Brandon Sheppard; 16. Tyler Bruening; 17. Josh Richards; 18. Kenny Pettyjohn; 19. Chad Hollenbeck; 20. Dennis Erb Jr.; 21. Billy Moyer; 22. Kyle Bronson; 23. Jonathan Davenport; 24. Frank Heckenast Jr.; 25. Mark Dotson; 26. Walker Arthur; 27. Jared Landers; 28. Brandon Overton; 29. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.; 30. Dale McDowell.

Clanton Does Something Never Done at DIRTcar Nationals