LANCASTER, N.Y. (September 24, 2017) – Lancaster National Speedway kicked off the competitive portion of the 29th U.S. Open weekend on Saturday night with over 100 cars pitside across four divisions. Chuck Hossfeld of Ransomville, N.Y. captured the main event of the program as he won the 75-lap Race of Champions Sunoco Sportsman feature for the second year in a row.

In other X-Press Signs Stock Car Series action, Tim Gullo of Elmira, N.Y. won the Race of Champions Super Stock feature. Kevin Bainbridge of Buffalo won the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinder U.S. Open feature for the second-straight year. Dave Wollaber of Ransomville, N.Y. won the NYPA TQ Midget feature.

A total of 39 Sunoco Sportsman attempted to qualify for the 28-car starting field for round two of the Race of Champions Sportsman Series. Neal Dietz, Jr. established a track record for Sportsman cars during qualifying with a quick time of 18.174 seconds.

Sportsman rookie Jeremy Haudricourt and Kevin Miller led the field to the opening green flag. What started out as a promising night for Dietz ended very quickly as he was involved in an incident on the opening lap of the race. He returned to a few laps before dropping out on lap 8. Miller and Tommy Catalano eventually settled into the top two spots when the race restarted. Catalano took the lead from Miller on lap 5 before pulling away from the field early on.

Defending race winner Chuck Hossfeld started ninth and was on the move from the drop of the green flag. He moved up to fourth place by lap six and took over the runner-up position from Miller just five laps later.

Catalano and Hossfeld were the class of the field as they pulled away during a long green flag run through the middle stages of the event. Hossfeld took the lead from Catalano as the pair went under crossed flags to mark the halfway point of the race on lap 38. They caught lapped traffic shortly thereafter and Catalano was able to maneuver around Hossfeld and a lapped car to regain the lead on lap 49.

The 31 laps of continuous green flag racing was interrupted moments later for a spin by Owen Bednasz on lap 49. It took Hossfeld two laps after the race restarted to regain the lead on lap 51.

The biggest wreck of the feature happened on lap 69 for multi-car pileup that included Owen Bednasz, Andy Lewis and Timmy Catalano. All drivers were ok, but all three cars suffered serious damage.

Hossfeld held on through a few final restarts to win the U.S. Open Sportsman feature for a second year in a row. The victory gives him seven career U.S. Open with five in the Modifieds to go along with his two Sportsman wins. That gives Hossfeld the record for most overall U.S Open victories.

Catalano had to settle for second after leading on two separate occasions. Tyler Rypkema rebounded from an early race spin to finish third. Daryl Lewis, Jr. finished fourth. George Skora III rounded out the top five.

Joel Gleason and Joe Mancuso led the field to the green flag in the 30-lap Race of Champions Super Stock feature. The pair battled back-and-forth early on before Mancuso took control of the race.

Tim Gullo came up through the field quickly after starting in the tenth position. He had moved up the second spot by just lap 6. Mancuso and Gullo were the dominant cars for most of the race as they pulled away from the pack during the longer green flag runs.

Mancuso slipped up around lap 23 when pushed high in turn two, which allowed Gullo to take the lead. Mancuso eventually got tangled up with Gleason as the pair battled for second place with less than five laps to go.

Gullo cruised the rest of the way for this fourth RoC Super Stock win at Lancaster in 2017 and his first victory in the U.S. Open. Eric Hadley finished second followed by Tommy Reese, Terry Cheetham and TJ Cochrane.

Kevin Bainbridge captured his second straight U.S. Open win in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders. Bainbridge started tenth and he managed to pick-and-choose his way through the field to get to the front. The race came down to catching teammate Chris Bugenhagen for the lead in the closing laps. Both cars approached lap traffic going into turn 1 on lap 22 when Bugenhagen got hung up behind a lapped car and Bainbridge drove past him on the inside to take the lead.

Bainbrdige held off Dave Brunka in the final two laps to secure his second U.S. Open win a row. Brunka finished second with Bugenhagen settling for third. Jason Anasiewicz and pole sitter Russ Hartke rounded out the top five.

Dave Wollaber captured his fifth career U.S. Open win in the NYPA TQ Midgets. Wollaber took over the lead with just seven laps to go on a daring three-wide pass between leader Kyle Hutchinson and the lapped car of Vinny Christiano, Jr. Wollaber held on to score his first U.S. Open win since 2008.

Bobby Holmes finished second followed by Hutchinson, Erik Musto and Brandon Zavarella.

About Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway: Founded in 1959, Lancaster National Speedway and Dragway, WNY’s Premier Motorsports and Event Facility, is a multi-use facility located on 77 acres just outside of metropolitan Buffalo, N.Y. The facility features a 1/8-mile drag strip, a 1/2-mile oval track and hosts several non-motorsports events such as car shows and concerts. For the latest information on Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway check out our website Additional information for racers and fans can be found on our Facebook page ( and on Twitter (@LancasterSpdwy).



Heat Winners: Chuck Hossfeld, Neal Dietz, Jr., Kevin Miller, Tyler Rypkema

Consi winners: Timmy Catalano, Bobby Holmes

Fast qualifier: Neal Dietz, Jr. (18.174 seconds)

Feature: CHUCK HOSSFELD, Tommy Catalano, Tyler Rypkema, Daryl Lewis, Jr., George Skora III, Shawn Nye, Zack Knowlden, Jeff Brown, Joe Evans, Rusty Smith, Andy Jankowiak, Alan Bookmiller, Bobby Weber, Kevin Miller, Amy Catalano, Keith Flanigan, Owen Bednasz, Andy Lewis, Timmy Catalano, Sam Fullone, Jayme Thompson, Bobby Holmes, Sherri Hogan, Tony Hanbury, Jeremy Haudricourt, Neal Dietz, Jr., Scott Wylie, Tim Nies DNQ: Jake Lyon, Mark Pennell, Jake Vernon, Tony Carbone, Connor Sellars, Russ Gian, Justin Demelo, Jay Withey, Jr., Mike Meyers, Dave Kozlowski


Heat Winners: Joel Gleason, Tim Gullo, Terry Cheetham

Feature: TIM GULLO, Eric Hadley, Tommy Reese, Terry Cheetham, TJ Cochrane, Joe Mancuso, Zach Willis, Joel Gleason, Josh Hunter, Dana Novoa, Rob Misczak, Dale Lazzaro, Shawn Frarey, Bobby Schosek, Kyle Sharpe, Ryan Lagoda, Jeff Whalen, Josh Schoonamker, Vern Hedderick DQ: Tommy Barron, Jake Wylie DNS: Mike Scott, Tommy Krawczyk


Heat Winners: Bobby Woch, Kenny Hejna, Dave Milbrand, Jr.

Feature: KEVIN BAINBRIDGE, Dave Brunka, Chris Bugenhagen, Jason Anasiewicz, Russ Hartke, Chris Pennell, Dan Dressel, Kenny Hejna, Dave Milbrand, Jr., Marc Scarpace, Tim Durfy, Casey Pew, Paul Flye, Mark Meyers, Michele Russo, Bob Palmer, Charles Palmer, Jr., Bob Bogner, Mark Annis, Jr., Josh Schosek, Jacob Gustafson, Nikki Maltby, Joe Brunka, Bobby Woch, Travis Murphy DNS: Bobby Hanel, Jr.


Heat Winners: Dave Wollaber, Bobby Holmes

Feature: DAVE WOLLABER, Bobby Holmes, Kyle Hutchinson, Erik Musto, Brandon Zavarella, Andy Nye, Tommy Catalano, AJ Hessler, Mark Schulz, Jonathan Reid, Chad Haywood, Vinny Christiano III, Vinny Christiano, Jr., Tony Patrea, Jim Fleischman, Dan Dressel, Jamie Pew, Kevin Wilson, Patrick Smith, Ryan Hessler, Sean McNamara

Hossfeld Captures U.S. Open Sportsman 75 for Second Straight Year