Waterford, CT — Waterford Speedbowl was back Wednesday evening with another Wild ‘n Wacky motorsports program.  Four race winners reached Victory Lane, with Mitch Bombard of Willimantic leading the way with an extra-distance X-Car victory. Mike Christopher Jr. of Wolcott continued his dominance in the INEX Legend Cars, Anthony Marvin of Colchester won the INEX Bandolero feature and Dave Yardley of Berlin closed the night with a win in the Super X-Cars.

The X-Car division was in the spotlight Wednesday with a special 30-lap race.  The competition shined in their biggest race of the season, and the top three finishers put on a thrilling clean and hard fought battle for the win.  Bombard took control of the race on lap-2 and held the lead throughout, however Jordan Hadley swiftly moved to second position and stalked Bombard for the lead lap after lap.  Bombard couldn’t shake Hadley, who looked in both the high and low grooves for an opportunity to pull alongside.  Their duel at the front enabled Wayne Shifflett to close in from third position after he picked cars off one at a time to move into contention.  Shifflett joined the mix for the final ten laps and was able to by Hadley’s inside to pressure Bombard through the checkered flag.  Bombard held back all challenges and earned a tough victory that was down to the proverbial wire.  Shifflett came up a half car length short, finishing second, while Hadley finished third however was disqualified in post-race technical inspection, moving point leader Zac Thomas to a podium finish.

Christopher won again in INEX Legend Car ranks, taking his eleventh victory in the Wednesday series and eighteenth overall at the track in 2014.  The 25-lap race was a rough one, with several caution flags plus a red flag for a delay after seasoned racer Dennis Pantani took a hard hit into the fourth turn wall on lap-17.  Christopher actually moved out front on lap-6, staying there the rest of the way.  Mike Blaskey was second and an enthusiastic Devin O’Connell made his first Speedbowl start in the division and took third.

Marvin won for the fifth time on the season in the INEX Bandoleros, checkering the 15-lap race to add to his bulge in the championship standings. Marvin flexed his muscle to get by the outside of Jonathon Puleo exiting turn four early in the race, pulled out to a big lead, and hung on as the tandem of Puleo and Ken Morin Jr. closed in over the final laps.  Marvin won by seven car lengths over Puleo, and Morin finished on Puleo’s bumper in third.

Yardley closed out the evening’s winners in a cleanly competed 25-lap race, which ran without a caution.  Marc Shafer impressed at the front of the pack, leading from the start until Yardley overtook him on the outside of the track over the middle of the race.  Yardley had the lead by inches on lap-12 before he finally cleared Shafer on lap-14.  Once out front Yardley was able to cruise to victory.  Shafer recorded his best career finish in second and Jim Boyle was third.

Saturday, the biggest racing event of summer hits the asphalt when the Speebowl hosts Wings & Wheels. The ISMA Supermodifieds make their one and only appearance at the shoreline oval of the year for a 50-lap race, and they are joined by the Valenti Modified Racing Series, NEMA Midgets plus the track’s SK Modified® and SK Light Modified divisions.  The Valenti Modified Racing Series makes its second of three visits to the Speedbowl with a 100-lap green flag feature race.   The NEMA Midgets and NEMA Lites each race for 25-laps, plus the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series SK Modifieds and SK Light Modifieds.  Gates open early, with pit admission beginning at 11:00am and grandstands opening at 1:00pm.   Qualifying races begin at 5:00pm, with opening ceremonies and the first main event set for 6:30pm.  More details are available online at Speedbowl.com.

Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 8/6 Results & Standings:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps):  1. Mike Christopher, Wolcott;  2. Mike Blaskey, Bethany;  3. Devin O’Connell, Waxhaw, NC;  4. T.J. Thompson, Lisbon;  5. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem;  6. Cassandra Cole, Westbrook;  7. Noah Korner, Canton;  8. Scott Limekmann, East Lyme;  9. David Johnson, Arlington, MA;  10. Connor Holderbach, Wolcott;  11. Joseph Graf, Manwah, NJ;  12. David Lespinasse, Milford;  13. Joey Ternullo, Middletown;  14. Dennis Pantani, Branford

Unofficial standings (top-ten):  1. Christopher, 683;  2. Ternullo, 577;  3. Blaskey, 479;  4. O’Sullivan, 460;  5. Pantani, 442;  6. Limkemann, 422;  7. Lespinasse, 388;  8. Josh Zentek, 384;  9. Holderbach, 336;  10. Thompson, 300

INEX Bandoleros (15-laps): 
1. Anthony Marvin, Colchester;  2. Jonathon Puleo, Branford;  3. Ken Morin Jr., Old Saybrook;  4. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin;  5. Ethan Durocher, Plainfield;  6. Andrew Morin, Old Saybrook

Unofficial standings (top-five): 1. Marvin, 655;  2. Puleo, 641;  3. Hovey, 446;  4. K. Morin, 403;  5. Durocher, 346

X-Cars (30-laps): 
1. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic;  2. Wayne Shifflett, Preston;  3. Zac Thomas, New London;  4. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI;  5. C.P. Burdick, Deep River;  6. Christopher Lee, Uncasville;  7. Kim Bickford, Griswold;  8. Michael Olsen, Deep River;  9. Craig Tavernier, Moosup; 10. Tom Sheehan, Baltic;  11. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield;  12. Rich Nye, Stonington;  13. Corey Comeroski, Lebanon;  14. Ray Herman, Oakdale;  15. Onie Pierce, Norwich;  DQ – Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill;  DQ – Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford

Unofficial standings (top-ten):  1. Thomas, 698;  2. Johnston, 623;  3. Nye, 544;  4. Bombard, 534;  5. Loomis, 504;  6. Hadley, 502;  7. Lee, 478;  8. Jeff Dombrowski, 476;  9. Finkbein, 453;  10. Olsen, 414


Super X-Cars (25-laps):  1. Dave Yardley, Berlin;  2. Marc Shafer, Groton;  3. Jim Boyle, East Windsor;  4. Dan Moon, Exeter, RI;  5. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI;  6. Jon Porter, Canterbury;  7. Shane Peele, Wales, MA;  8. Bill Reiman, Southington;  9. Ray Reed, Norwich;  10. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington;  11. Todd Taylor, Waterford;  12. Scott Bellisle, Wauregan;  13. Ken Downing III, Branford;  DQ – Matt Carlson, Griswold

Unofficial standings (top-ten):  1. Reed, 588;  2. K. Moon, 584;  3. Reiman, 536;  4. Boyle, 516;  5. Downing, 492;  6. Peele, 490;  7. Carlson, 446;  8. Shafer, 434;  9. Yardley, 461;  10. Porter, 457

-Waterford Speedbowl Press Release

Christopher, Jr. Wins 18th Legends Feature at Waterford