Waterford, CT  – Waterford Speedbowl was back on track Wednesday evening with another mid-week Wild ‘n Wacky racing program.  Mike Christopher Jr. of Wolcott continued his successful season with another INEX Legend Cars victory.   Jonathon Puleo of Branford won his third INEX Bandolero feature and Ray Reed of Norwich won for the second time in Super X-Car action.  East Hartford’s Eric Finkbein Jr. was a first-time winner in the X-Cars and Chris Lee of Uncasville was champion of the night’s Wacky Race for the X-Cars.

Christopher rolled to another INEX Legend Cars feature Wednesday.  He moved into the picture early, lining up third by the time the first caution flag came out on lap-2 in the 25-lap feature.  Christopher quickly took second following the restart, then tailed leader Michael Blaskey.  Blaskey was hungry for his second win of the season, however Christopher made a diving move under him through turn four to race into the lead on lap-9.  The race stayed caution free and Christopher maintained a cushion over Blaskey through the checkered flag.  Last week’s winner Joey Ternullo stayed on Blaskey’s rear bumper trying to score second position but his effort came up just short.  Blaskey finished second and Ternullo placed third.

Puleo landed back in the winner’s circle in the 15-lap INEX Bandolero race.  He had to hold off an outside bid for the win by Anthony Marvin, who raced even with Puleo over several circuits.  The two raced cleanly before Puleo was able to wear Marvin out over the final laps.  Marvin fell in line behind Puleo and tailed him to the finish.  Puleo won his third race of the year and Marvin ended up second.  Ethan Durocher claimed his first podium finish, ending up third.

An exciting 25-lap X-Car feature saw Finkbein nail a first career victory in the division, holding back two of the division’s quickest drivers to do so.  Both Jordan Hadley and Zac Thomas were in hot pursuit of Finkbein, who held the preferred line and maintained his lead following the final caution flag of the race, which came on lap-7.  The final laps were run off in quick fashion and Finkbein held off all challengers. Hadley repeatedly tried to make a run but could not pull alongside. He finished on Finkbein’s bumper and Thomas was close behind in third.

Reed recorded his second Super X-Car win of the season by controlling the night’s 25-lap race.  He didn’t take the lead until after a lap-6 restart, but once in front Reed was in command.  He was tested over three additional caution flags and ensuing restarts but powered ahead each time.  Kevin Moon was credited with second position and Shawn Gaedeke third following post-race technical inspection.

Lee came out on top in the night’s Wacky Race, testing the driving skills of X-Car competitors plus the hot dog eating skills of Speedbowl fans during an eight lap race.  Drivers were each paired with one adult and one youth fan in a relay race.   A mandatory pit stop during the dash saw the adult devour a hot dog and the youth douse them with a bottle of water.  Lee held on over Chuck McDonald and Mitch Bombard.

Next Wednesday, the Speedbowl celebrates America’s birthday with an aerial fireworks display at the conclusion of the night’s Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday racing program for the upcoming holiday weekend.  Motorcycle stunt performer Luke Emmons is also part of the card, ready to dazzle the crowd with two-wheeled tricks.  All youth age 14 and under will be admitted free when accompanied by an adult.  Adult grandstand admission remains at $8.00 and the Speedbowl offers acres of free parking.  Event details are available on Speedbowl.com

Unofficial Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 6/25 Results:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps):  1. Mike Christopher Jr., Wolcott;  2. Michael Blaskey, Waterbury;  3. Joey Ternullo, Middletown;  4. Nick Ladyga, Voluntown;  5. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem;  6. Brendon Bock, Franklin Square, NY;  7. Jordan Churchill, Lisbon;  8. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme;  9. Bryan Kelly, Riverhead, NY;  10. Dennis Pantani, Branford;  11. Cornelius Flynn, Hampden, MA;  12. Josh Zentek, East Hartford;  13. David Lespinasse, Milford;  14. Caterina LaBella, Plainville;  15. Noah Korner, Canton;  16. Andrew Molleur, Shelton;  17. Cassandra Cole, Westbrook;  18. George Whitney, Westbrook

INEX Bandoleros (15-laps):  1. Jonathon Puleo, Branford;  2. Anthony Marvin, Colchester;  3. Ethan Durocher, Plainfield;  4. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin

X-Cars (25-laps):  1. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford;  2. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill;  3. Zac Thomas, New London;  4. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield;  5. Rich Nye, Stonington; 6. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI;  7. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale;  8. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic;  9. Chris Lee, Uncasville;  10. Chuck McDonald, Groton;  11. Richard Mollo, Seymour;  12. Craig Tavernier, Moosup;  13. Michael Olsen, Deep River;  14. Ray Herman, Gales Ferry;  15. Josh Barrie, Voluntown;  16. David D’Alessandro Jr., Coventry;  17. Tom Sheehan, Baltic;  18. Kim Bickford, Griswold;  19. C.P. Burdick, Deep River;  20. Andrew Lee, New London

Super X-Cars (25-laps):  1. Ray Reed, Norwich;  2. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI;  3. Shawn Gaedeke, Southington;  4. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill;  5. Matt Carlson, Griswold;  6. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton;  7. Marc Shafer, Groton;  8. Scott Bellisle, Wauregan;  9. Dan Moon, Exeter, RI;  10. James Maher, Shelton;  11. Ray Phillips, Canterbury;  12. Jon Porter, Canterbury;  13. Ken Downing III, Branford;  14. Dave Yardley, Berlin;  15. Rob McCormick, Calverton, NY;  DQ – Jim Boyle, East Windsor;  DQ – Bill Reiman, Southington;  DQ – Shane Peele, Wales, MA

Wacky X-Car Hot Dog Eating Race top-five (20-laps):  1. Chris Lee, Uncasville;  2. Chuck McDonald, Groton;  3. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic;  4. Kim Bickford, Griswold;  5. Tom Johnston, Westerly, RI

-Waterford Speedbowl Press Release. Photo Credit: Mike Christopher Jr. Motorsports

Christopher Continues Legends Dominance at Waterford