Waterford, CT  – Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday action was back at Waterford Speedbowl with ideal conditions overhead for another round of mid-week motorsports action.  The large crowd which turned out was treated to an entertaining night, watching Mike Christopher Jr. of Wolcott continue his tear in INEX Legend Cars action.  Ken Morin Jr. of Old Saybrook won the INEX Bandolero feature, Shane Peele of Wales, MA earned Super X-Car honors and Wayne Shifflett of Preston was a new face to the winner’s circle on the year in X-Car action.  Wacky Musical Car race accolades were shared by Groton’s Chuck McDonald in the X-Cars and Bill Reiman of Southington in the Super X Car class.

Christopher had to work a little harder in the 25-lap INEX Legend Cars feature to take his tenth victory of the year in the Wild ‘n Wacky series.  Joey Ternullo, last year’s champion, provided a stiff challenge in an entertaining race.  Ternullo got to the front first, the third leader of the race when he took over on lap-6 from John O’Sullivan Jr.  Ternullo led while Christopher took second position, then hounded Ternullo’s rear bumper over the next six laps before a crossover move netted him the lead.

On lap-12, Christopher went from the high groove in turn one to the low groove out of turn two to drop underneath Ternullo, diving underneath and into the lead out of turn four.  Ternullo stayed inside Christopher for a lap and was on his tail the rest of the way, pestering him to the checkered flag.  Two late caution flags waved over the final six laps, however Christopher remained flawless to close out the win.  Ternullo was second and Brendon Bock charged from a starting position deep in the pack to end up third.  The fastest lap of the race belong to Ternullo, and came in the final lap as he chased Christopher to the finish.

Morin made a late race push in the 15-lap INEX Bandolero feature to capture the checkered flag by a slim margin over Anthony Marvin.  Marvin, the leader in the season’s championship standings, was at the front on lap-1 with Morin trailing.  The two cars drafted together out to a large lead over the rest of the field, enabling them to battle one another for the win in the closing laps.  Morin finally pulled out of line with two laps remaining, going outside Marvin.  He was able to pull even with Marvin on the final lap in a side-by-side duel to the checkered flag.  Morin streaked ahead off turn four to win, his third of the season, in a photo finish over Marvin in the non-stop race.  Jonathon Puleo battled hard over much of the race behind the leaders to come home a distant third.

Shifflett landed in Speedbowl Victory Lane for the first time of the year in X-Car action.  He wired the field in the 25-lap race, taking the lead from the opening green flag with a pole starting position.  Shifflett, a crafty veteran of the Wednesday racing wars, never faltered over an opening nineteen lap run before the only caution flag of the race was shown. Shifflett restarted strong and cruised to the win.  The battle behind Shifflett was for second, taken by Jordan Hadley.  He finished on Shifflett’s bumper after the caution flag erased Shifflett’s lead. Division point leader Zac Thomas was third.

Peele endured a lengthy 25-lap Super X-Car feature to claim his second victory of the season.  He led throughout and was never seriously threatened as caution flags for skirmishes behind him mounted.  Peele restarted cleanly each time to hold back all challengers, including a final restart with three laps to go over defending champion Bill Reiman.  Peele got away and took the checkered flag.  Reiman was second and Mike Maskell was third.

Racing action resumes Friday with spectator drag racing at Sho & Go at the ‘Bowl, featuring free grandstands admission.  On Saturday, NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing is back with a six division program headlined by a 40-lap SK Modified® feature plus a visit from the New England Pro Four Modifieds.  On Saturday, August 9, Wings ‘n Wheels invades the Speedbowl with the ISMA Supermodifieds, Valenti Modified Racing Series, NEMA Midgets plus the track’s SK Modified® and SK Light Modified divisions.  All upcoming event information can be found online at Speedbowl.com

Waterford Speedbowl Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday 7/30 Results & Standings:

INEX Legend Cars (25-laps):  1. Mike Christopher Jr., Wolcott;  2. Joey Ternullo, Middletown;  3. Brendon Bock, Franklin Square, NY;  4. T.J. Thompson, Lisbon;  5. Michael Blaskey, Bethany;  6. Dennis Pantani, Branford;  7. David Johnson, Arlington, MA;  8. Scott Limkemann, East Lyme;  9. Andrew Molleur, Shelton;  10. Cassandra Cole, Westbrook;  11. Caterina LaBella, Plainville;  12. David Lespinasse, Milford;  13. John O’Sullivan Jr., Salem;  14. Brandon DeBrakeleer, Mill Village, PA;  15. Josh Zentek, East Haven;  16. Cornelius Flynn, Hampden, MA;  DNS – Noah Korner, Canton

Unofficial standings (top-ten):  1. Christopher, 628;  2. Ternullo, 551;  3. Blaskey, 431;  4. (tie) Pantani, O’Sullivan, 418;  6. Limkemann, 386;  7. Zentek, 384;  8. Lespinasse, 360;  9. Connor Holderbach, 304;  10. Jordan Churchill, 294

INEX Bandoleros (15-laps): 
1. Ken Morin Jr., Old Saybrook;  2. Anthony Marvin, Colchester;  3. Jonathon Puleo, Branford;  4. Nickolas Hovey, Chaplin;  5. Ethan Durocher, Plainfield;  6. Andrew Morin, Old Saybrook

Unofficial standings (top-five): 1. Marvin, 600;  2. Puleo, 593;  3. Hovey, 402;  4. K. Morin, 357;  5. Durocher, 304

X-Cars (25-laps): 
1. Wayne Shifflett, Preston;  2. Jordan Hadley, Quaker Hill;  3. Zac Thomas, New London;  4. Mitch Bombard, Willimantic;  5. Eddie Loomis, Plainfield;  6. Eric Finkbein Jr., East Hartford;  7. Jeff Dombrowski, Oakdale;  8. Randy Johnston, Westerly, RI;  9. Michael Olsen, Deep River;  10. Kim Bickford, Griswold;  11. Chuck McDonald, Groton;  12. Craig Tavernier, Moosup;  13. Ray Herman, Gales Ferry;  14. Elizabeth Gaston, Vernon;  15. Tom Sheehan, Baltic;  16. Corey Comeroski, Lebanon;  17. Rick Mollo, Seymour;  18. DQ – Rich Nye, Stonington;  19. Matt Ryan, Groton;  DNS – Chris Lee, Uncasville;  DNS – C.P. Burdick, Deep River

Unofficial standings (top-ten):  1. Thomas, 652;  2. Johnston, 579;  3. Nye, 516;  4. Hadley, 502;  5. Bombard, 479;  6. Dombrowski, 476;  7. Loomis, 474;  8. Finkbein, 453;  9. Lee, 438;  10. McDonald, 398


Super X-Cars (25-laps):  1. Shane Peele, Wales, MA;  2. Bill Reiman, Southington;  3. Mike Maskell, Quaker Hill;  4. Ed Ryan, Preston;  5. Matt Carlson, Griswold;  6. Dan Moon, Exeter, RI;  7. Ray Reed, Norwich;  8. Ken Downing III, Branford;  9. Kevin Moon, Exeter, RI;  10. Todd Taylor, Waterford;  11. Jon Porter, Canterbury;  12. R.J. Cunningham, Clinton;  13. Jim Boyle, East Windsor;  14. Marc Shafer, Groton;  15. Scott Bellisle, Wauregan;  16. Dave Yardley, Berlin

Unofficial standings (top-ten):  1. Reed, 554;  2. K. Moon, 542;  3. Reiman, 500;  4. Boyle, 470;  5. Downing, 466;  6. Peele, 452;  7. Carlson, 446;  8. Shafer, 434;  9. Maskell, 418;  10. Porter, 417

Wacky X-Car Musical Cars Race (top-three): 
1. McDonald;  2. Lee;  3. Bickford

Wacky Super X-Car Musical Cars Race (top-three):  1. Reiman;  2. Peter Pollard, Old Lyme;  3. D. Moon

Christopher Continues Tear on Waterford’s Wild ‘n Wacky Wednesday