Two-time Jefferson Speedway track champion Casey Johnson had Saturday’s TUNDRA Super Late Model Series date highly marked on his calendar. While he has many feature wins at “Wisconsin’s Action Track”, he was hoping to put a Super Late Model win from Jefferson on his resume.

On Saturday night, he got that win with an exclamation mark.

Johnson was also the fast qualifier but a deep invert had him starting 13th in the 60-lap feature event.

The action in front of him was wild with two early cautions allowing Johnson to move up to fifth as the field settled to race around the tricky quarter-mile oval.

Johnson would get by Ty Majeski on lap seven and quickly chased down early leader Mike Lichtfeld on lap 11.   On lap 12, he would get a run on the inside of Lichfeld on off of turn two. Two laps later, Johnson cleared Lichtfeld and drove into the sunset.

“It was awesome. When I was younger, I would come out here and watch the Midwest Tour race here and I thought it was cool,” Johnson said after the race. “To come out here and get quick time and win the feature, it is just incredible.”

Majeski would try to run down Johnson and challenge for the lead, but would run out of time to earn his second runner-up finish in the last 24 hours. Majeski finished second in the ARCA Midwest Tour event on Friday night at Grundy County Speedway in Morris, Illinois.

“We missed a little bit today, we were too tight,” Majeski said. “We had a problem early on in practice and that kind of set us back. Not sure if the problem made the handling bad, but we took a swing at it for the feature and just missed it a little bit. Casey Johnson had a great car, and we just came up a little bit short tonight.”

Defending race winner Nick Panitzke finished third with Dalton Zehr in fourth. Mike Lichtfeld rounded out the top five.

TUNDRA Super Late Model Series-

60 lap Feature Results- 1) Casey Johnson, Edgerton 2) Ty Majeski, Seymour 3) Nick Panitzke, Lakeville (MN) 4) Dalton Zehr, Port Orange (FL) 5) Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville 6) Billy Mohn, Lakeville (MN) 7) Jordan Ives, Gladstone (MI) 8) Trent Erdman, Fort Atkinson 9) Brandon Selle, Dale 10) Reagan May, West DePere 11) Bobby Kendall, Montello 12) Eugene Gregorich Jr, Amherst 13) Travis Dassow, West Bend 14) Corey Jankowski, Tomah 15) Steve Lichtfeld, Portage 16) Ty James, Oconomowoc 17) Wyatt Blashe, Clintonville 18) Steve Rubeck, Cherry Valley 19) Frank Nitzke, Berlin 20) Ryan Farrell, East Troy 21) Michael Bilderback, S.Beloit (IL) 22) Brent Strelka, Seymour 23) Tom Gee Jr, Sobieski

Fast Qualifier- Casey Johnson—13.750 seconds

Fast Five Dash Winner- Michael Bilderback

Heat Winners- 1) Nick Panitzke 2) Reagan May

The TUNDRA Super Late Models will be back in action on Saturday, July 5th at Norway Speedway in Norway, Michigan.


– Kevin Ramsell, Midwest Editor/Director of Business. Photo Credit:

Johnson Thunders to TUNDRA Win in Wisconsin