Columbus, OH — David Carter annexed the NASCAR Whelen All American Series late model feature Saturday night at Columbus Motor Speedway. It was his first visit to victory lane since 2011 as the former track champion who looks to repeat his 2010 title run.


Carter started on the outside of the front row and battled Ryan Fleming for the top spot in the early stages of the 35-lap feature event. Swapping the lead for through lap-4 when Carter seized the lead, Fleming dropped into a battle with Minnesota driver Joey Miller. Two laps later the former NASCAR Truck racer slid high in turn one and before he could recover point leader Donnie Hill slipped past. Both Hill and Miller powered around the outside of Fleming as lap-10 went up on the NASCAR scoreboard and closed gradually on leader, Carter, pressuring him through the races first caution on lap-25. With Hill lined up right behind Carter for the restart it became obvious that something was amiss with his Architect Glass entry. A deflating right front tire was the culprit allowing Carter to pull away and an astute Kyle Purvis to steer into the outside lane. He swept past Miller and Hill in short order and set out after the race leader. Puris closed on Carter but ran out of laps to chase him under starter Jim Paugh’s checkered flag. Purvis was followed by Miller, fast qualifier Chad Pendleton who was making his first appearance this season and Fleming.


Terry Humphrey put an end to Shane Shirk’s early season win streak at two by capturing the 30-lap Columbus modified main event. The local engine builder started sixth and was on the move early. Up to second by lap-6 he dispatched early pacesetter Jimmy Whittridge with a convincing outside pass and was off to the races. Meantime, fast qualifier Shane Shirk was making some noise of his own as the Springfield native advanced from his tenth starting berth. Taking up residence in the outside lane of the third-mile paved oval, Shirk claim the runner-up spot near the races midpoint and went after the leader. Benefiting from a late race caution that bunched the field, Shirk pressured Humphrey pulling alongside for a heated battle only to be repelled each time. The final caution of the event flew when contact between the lead duo sent Humphrey spinning and Shirk to the tail for a 3-lap dash to the checkered. Humphrey led Scott Leach back to the green and under the checkered flag to collect the win. Behind Leach at the stripe were Whittridge, Josh Kempf and a resurgent Jeremy Menninger after a mid-race spin and charge back from the tail.


George Lindsay posted his first sport stock feature win of the 2016 season in convincing fashion. The Groveport, OH driver started ninth and swept past early leader Kenny Simpson on lap-6 and never looked back in route to the victory. Simpson eventually surrendered the runner-up spot to current point leader Ralph Vinson but held on for third at the stripe. Chris Meier and Bruce Holmes completed the top five.


Michael Robison charged from twelfth starting spot to secure the crazy compact finale. It was win number two for Robison who powered around Dusty Harding halfway through the 20-lap affair and went on to a convincing win. Harding, Devin Stansbury, Lonnie Brown and Jeremiah English rounded out the first five finishing spots.


Brandon DeBrakaleer capture the 20-lap legend car feature outdueling Zach Miller, Adam Sturgil, Ryan Smith and Bob Eaton.


-Columbus Motor Speedway Press Release

-Photo Credit:

Carter Gets First Victory at Columbus in Five Years