DeGraff OH: Shady Bowl Speedway saw a full field of modifieds on hand to compete in the first Lee Raymond Memorial .

Raymond, from Dayton OH began his racing career on the local ovals before turning his attention to the ARCA SERIES. Raymond posted two series titles in the Jim Coyle owned Riverside Auto Parts

Chevy. He went on to run a Winston Cup Series car and a NASCAR Nationwise off and on before giving up his seat and became an official at KilKare. At some point just about every local racer has sought his advice on car set ups and driving points. Lee served as a track official before the cancer he had forced him to slow down. Raymond lost his battle on December 12th .

The forty lap feature saw Rob Yelton led the first thirteen circuits before giving was to Shane Shirk. Soon Mike Carroll go to the front of the pack and went on to win the race in his McDonalds backed mod. Brad Williams, Bud Perry, Greg Stapleton and Rob Yelton rounded out the top five. Joe Pequignot and Chris Parker took heat wins. Carroll carried the checker for the dash. Stapleton was fast qualifier.

The late model feature was once again a feature win for Josh Smith of Quincy. The Hunt Motor Sports Smith driven car of Smith was chased across the line by Curt Frazier, Jim Lewis Jr. , Greg Stapleton and Greg Jackson. Lewis was the dash winner with Russ Bobb taking the heat win. Stapleton was the fast qualifier. The event was a two track series , as KilKare also ran a race. Greg Stapleton was the overall champion. Chris Parker won the hard charger award for passing the most cars.

The street stock main was won by Bo Hoelscher in his TJ Stables Camaro. Jamie Sites was in front for 13 laps before giving way to Hoelscher. Hoelscher then led the pack to the checker for his first Shady Bowl win. Andy Heath, Josh Sage, Sites and Richard Roush rounded out the top five. Josh Sage was the dash winner with Cory Lauderback and Sites taking the heat checkers. Dave Sage was fast qualifier.

In the compact class Ryan Barrett posted his first career feature win at the Bowl. Kenny George, Nicholas Meade, Chris Lucas and Zack Doolin were second thru fifth. Lucas took the dash with Rob Sharpe winning the heat

The tuner class saw Terry Eaton win easily in his Honda. Chris Crozier was second followed by Austin Eaton, Les Rhodes and Lane Crabtree.

Next Saturday Night Aug 30th fans will be treated to a full night of racing. The rained out 72 lap Bob Korn Memorial will be ran with a payout of $1,720 to win and $200 to start for the Late Models. The Street stocks will also run a 72 lap feature paying $1,500 to win. Pro Fours will be competeing for a top spot of $300. In addition the Ladies will take the track over as they will compete in a Powder Puff Challenge. There will be two divisions, one will be a novice division and a Pro division. Racing will start at 7.

Shady Bowl Results 08-23-14
Late Models:
Fast Qualifier: Greg Stapleton 13.662
Dash Winner: Jim Lewis Jr.
Heat Winner: Russ Bobb
Feature: 1. Josh Smith 2. Curt Frazier 3. Jim Lewis Jr. 4. Greg Stapleton 5. Greg Jackson 6. Matthew Parsons 7. Chris Abbott 8. Brad Coons 9. Jacob Muncy 10. Russ Bobb 11. Tyler Mahaffey 12. Scott Sullenberger

Fast Qualifier: Greg Stapleton 13.777
Dash Winner: Mike Carroll
Heat Winners: Joe Pequignot , Chris Parker and Brian Cottrill
Feature: 1. Mike Carroll 2. Brad Williams 3. Bud Perry 4. Greg Stapleton 5. Rob Yelton 6. Brad Yelton 7. Chris Parker 8. Logan McPherson 9. Kevin Bloxam 10. Buddy Townsend 11. Carl Stapleton 12. Rob Schaeff 13. Rob Dutra 14. Shane Shirk 15. Joe Pequignot 16. Jason Wells 17. Chad Feissenger 18. Jamie Sites 19. Brian Brewer 20. David McPherson 21. Don Fleming 22. Don Skaggs 23. Chris Prater 24. Mike Pippin 25. Brian Cottrill 26. Tony Ewing

Street Stocks
Fast Qualifier: Dave Sage 15.193
Dash Winner: Josh Sage
Heat Winners: Cory Lauderback and Jamie Sites
Feature: 1. Bo Hoelscher 2. Andy Heath 3. Josh Sage 4. Jamie Sites 5. Richard Roush 6. Ray Muncy 7. Tim Hines 8. Robert Roush 9. Roger Thornhill 10. Cory Lauderback 11. Dave Sage 12. Chad Small 13. Rodney Roush 14. Roger Roush 15. Chad Brandberry 16. Jim Lewis Jr.

Dash Winner: Chris Lucas
Heat Winner: Rob Sharpe
Feature: 1. Ryan Barrett 2. Kenny George 3. Nicholas Meade 4. Chris Lucas 5. Zack Doolin 6. Rob Sharpe 7. Jay Lakins Jr. 8. Alex George 9. Jarrett Sage 10. Dean Adams

Fast Qualifier: Terry Eaton Jr. 15.798
Dash Winner: Rodney Roush
Heat Winner: Austin Eaton
Feature: 1. Terry Eaton Jr. 2. Chris Crozier 3. Austin Eaton 4. Les Rhodes 5. Lane Crabtree 6. Damon Killen 7. Mark Smith jr. 8. Eddie Kemp 9. Larry Kemp 10. Randy Owens 11. Rodney Roush 12. Jesse Stone

– Shady Bowl Speedway Press Release

Photo Credit: Shady Bowl Speedway

Carroll Takes Lee Raymond Memorial at Shady Bowl