Cedar Springs, MI driver Dakota Carlson piloted the LeClair Racing #8 to an impressive victory in the Discount Tire 100 for the ARCA Discount Tire Late Model Gold Cup Series Friday night at Toledo Speedway. Mike Pyman and John Cody, representing Discount Tire, presented the Gold Cup to Dakota in the 7-Up Winner’s Circle.

Just 3 yellow flags slowed the action in the 100 lap contest, with Jeff Ganus and Harold Fair Jr. on the front row. Ganus stormed into the lead and set sail in the early going, building up a big lead. At the lap 38 mark, Ganus dropped down pit road with mechanical woes, ending his brilliant run. The DTS Drive Train Specialists Fast qualifier Dakota Carlson (15:073), starting 8th, was on the move and begun to reel in the leader and now inherited the lead as Ganus exited. Carlson began to take charge and really clicked off the laps, only to have his lead erased when a lap 89 yellow was displayed for a piece of a fender that fell on the track. Brad Riethmeyer, in his first race at Toledo, was very strong and ran in the top 3 for the duration of the event, stayed in the hunt. The lap 89 yellow flag and double file restart gave Brad a shot at Carlson and Brad pushed his machine hard in the high groove. The duo swapped lanes for laps 90 and 91 until Carlson nosed out front on his way to his first Toledo victory.

Riethmeyer took the runner-up spot, Harold Fair Jr. was third, Jake Francis fourth and Dennis Strickland fifth, followed by Scott Hantz, Brian Ross, Scott Pemberton, Nick Bailey and Nick Grodi. Brent Jack, Joe Hawes, Mike Root, Brian Clay, Ganus, Dave Stehouwer, Bob Mikolajczyk, Steve Cronenwett Jr. and Steve Hawes were next in line at the finish. Steve Needles was forced to scratch from the race with mechanical trouble after practice. 13 cars were running at the finish, with 11 on the lead lap.

Howard Kelley Jr. snapped Ron Allen’s 2-race win streak as he took the victory in the caution-free 35 lap ARCA Aramark Sportsman feature race. Tom O’Leary IV took the lead on the start and led the first 21 laps until Kelley, who had steadily moved through the pack, caught the leader and grabbed the point on lap 22 as he notched the victory. Allen was second, Mike Young third, O’Leary IV fourth and Kenny McKay Jr. fifth. Norm Lewallen, Kent McCloskey, Greg Stilwell, Andy Harding, Dan Grigsby and Chad Stilwell were next in the finishing order. Allen set fast time at 17:443, with Greg Stilwell and O’Leary IV taking the heat wins.

The Great Lakes Mini Cup Cars visited Toledo with 14 cars. Elliot Pritchett wheeled his way to the win in the all-green flag 20 lap main event. Stefanie Hile, Matt Kemp, Tim Phillips, Darren Bohne, Bob Hile, Justin Carley, Chris Morgan, Jon Sattison and Trent Jenson rounded out the top ten. Fast time was set by Pritchett at 11:845. Heat winners were Bohne and Chris Morgan.

Friday, June 13 is the Fastest Short Track Show in the World, featuring an all open-wheel night of action on the fast ½ mile oval! All American Coach, Super Fitness and Hemelgarn Racing will sponsor the night. The much-anticipated time trials begin at 5:30 as the time to beat is an incredible 12:389 for the Auto Value/Bumper to Bumper Sprinters, while the MSA Super Modified mark is 12:893.

Save $5 on advance tickets by calling the track at 419-727-1100. Most major credit cards are accepted for phone orders. The advance sale ends Thursday at 5 p.m.

The pit gates open at 2, practice begins at 3, time trials are at 5:30 and race time is 7:30 p.m. Toledo Speedway is located on Benore Road at the I-75/Alexis Road exit on the Michigan-Ohio border.

PR – Toledo Speedway PR – Photo 51 Elite Photography

Carlson Wins Gold Cup Race at Toledo