Dakota Carlson grabbed the lead with 13 laps to go to score the victory in the Mid-Michigan Toyota Dealers Draper 100 for the Great Lakes Helicopter Main Event Racing Series Friday night at Michigan’s Dixie Motor Speedway.  In addition, Rohnert Park, California native JoJo Helberg secured the win in the Auto Value Super Sprint Series portion of Big One XII at Dixie.


The Outlaw Super Late Models of the Main Event Racing Series were first on the card and it would be Eric Lee and Drew Charlson leading the field to chief starter Will Patterson’s green flag.  Charlson, the New Bremen, Ohio native who came into the weekend second in MERS points, vaulted out to the lead and set an early torrid pace in the 100-lap grind around the 4/10-mile Dixie oval.


Dakota Carlson poses by his potent No. 8 after winning at Dixie

Dakota Carlson poses by his potent No. 8 after winning at Dixie

Charlson began working his way through traffic in a fast-paced event that would see only one caution flag fly.  On lap 52, Mickey Maier, who was running second at the time, suddenly slowed and darted to the inside lane in an effort to get off the race track.  Unfortunately it was right into the path of the second place car of Lee.  Both drivers were ok, but were done for the night.


On the lone restart, Charlson again jumped out to a big advantage, but soon, Dakota Carlson began his charge towards the front.  After a lengthy battle with Todd Rosebrugh, Carlson finally got into second place and began reeling in the race long leader, Charlson.  With 13 laps to go, Carlson’s #8 LeClair Fuels entry sailed past Charlson and the 27-year-old from Cedar Springs, Michigan drove away to the win.


“The car was fast and we were just trying to be patient,” said Carlson, who also leads the ARCA Gold Cup Series standings.  “Definitely couldn’t have done it without a great owner in Tony LeClair and this entire crew.  We’ve had a really good season with two wins at Toledo Speedway (OH).  Just hope we can keep this momentum going.”


Charlson hung on for second over Rosebrugh while Bryan Clay scored a season-high fourth-place showing over MERS points leader, Harold Fair Jr., who completed the top five.  Scott Pemberton was sixth as Mike Root, Johnny Belott, Dave Stehouwer and Sam Coulter finished off the top 10.  Fair out-qualified the field in Great Lakes Helicopter qualifying.


In the 30-Lap Auto Value Super Sprint Series Feature, JoJo Helberg grabbed the lead from pole-sitter Davey Hamilton, Sr. on lap five.  From there, the California native in his #71 Coffey Plumbing & Heating open-wheeled machine held off a late charge from Canadian Ryan Litt to pick up his fourth AVSS victory of the 2014 racing season.


“The car wasn’t that good on the bottom in the early stages, but it was working really well on the top,” explained the 24-year-old Helberg.  “I re-grouped after the yellow and gave it everything I had on the outside.  This is a fast and racy track. Plus you can go all out on these Hoosier Tires in 30-lap races.  Big thanks to everyone with Steve Smith Motorsports.  This is a great team and glad to be a part of it.”


Litt settled for second over Florida invader Troy DeCaire.  Davey Hamilton, Sr. held off his son, Davey Jr. for fourth.  Four-time series champion Jason Blonde finished sixth as Kyle Edwards, Kevin Feeney, John Turnbull, Jr. and Jerry Caryer finished off the top 10.  Edwards won the Fast Qualifier Award, while Helberg and Hamilton Sr., won the Qualifier Heat Races.


– By Matt Prieur, Speed51.com Correspondent

Great Lakes Helicopter Main Event Racing Series – Mid-Michigan Toyota Dealers Draper 100 Results

1. 8 Dakota Carlson – 100 Laps

2. 21 Drew Charlson – 100

3. 1 Todd Rosebrugh – 100

4. 30 Bryan Clay – 100

5. 71 Harold Fair Jr. – 100

6. 51 Scott Pemberton – 99

7. 9 Mike Root – 99

8. 0 Johnny Belott – 99

9. 33 Dave Stehouwer – 99

10. 9 Sam Coulter – 96

11. 35 Jeff Reamer – 77

12. 45 Frank Jiovani – 53

13. 5 Eric Lee – 52

14. 72 Scott Hantz – 52

15. 61 Mickey Maier – 52

16. 41 Brent Jack – 39

17. 47 Tim Davis – 14
Lap Leaders: 21 Drew Charlson 1-87, 8 Dakota Carlson 88-100. – Fast Qualifier: 71 Harold Fair Jr. – 14.609 = 98.610mph


Auto Value / Bumper to Bumper Parts Stores & Certified Service Centers Super Sprint Series – Draper 30 Results
1. 71H JoJo Helberg – 30 Laps
2. 07 Ryan Litt – 30
3. 22A Troy DeCaire – 30
4. 1 Davey Hamilton Sr. – 30

5. 60 Davey Hamilton Jr. – 30

6. 42 Jason Blonde – 30

7. 11 Kyle Edwards – 30

8. 61 Kevin Feeney – 29

9. 12 John Turnbull Jr. – 29

10. 75C Jerry Caryer – 29

11. 44 Teddy Alberts – 28

12. 70 Ike Beasley – 16

13. 11G Tom Geren – 8

14. 31 Phil Rutledge – 6

15. 3A Mike Austrauskas – 5

16. 88 Jimmy McCune – 2

Lap Leaders: 1 Davey Hamilton Sr. 1-5, 71H JoJo Helberg 6-30 – Fast Qualifier: 11 Kyle Edwards – 12.713 = 113.307mph
Qualifier Heat Race #1 Winner: 71H JoJo Helberg

Qualifier Heat Race #2 Winner: 1 Davey Hamilton Sr.

Carlson & Helberg Score Big One XII Wins At Dixie