West Salem, WI – Steve Carlson, even at an older age, proves every week that he can still drive the wheels off a race car. Tonight he did exactly just that.
The Old Dutch Foods 25 for the Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models began with Curt Eckelberg and Jason Dummer on the front row.  Dummer grabbed the lead quickly, but that was short-lived as Jack Litsheim passed Dummer on the high side on the race’s fourth lap.
Carlson, meanwhile, started deep in the pack, eleventh, and to the common eye, it looked like a short 25 lap main would not allow him enough time to get to the leaders. 
“The car worked really good on the top groove tonight,” Carlson commented after the race.  “I think we passed nearly every car on the top lane.”
By the eighth lap, Carlson was in the top five, and once he got around Matthew Henderson for second at the halfway lap, it was a matter of time, or laps, until he caught Litsheim.  Taking the lead coming out of turn four, the blue and black number 66 took the lead with ten laps to go.
A caution came out on lap 20, as Matthew Henderson spun in the first turn, trying to take second place from Litsheim, which forced a double wide restart.  Jonathan Eckelberg spun on the restart and forced another realignment of the field for another green flag.
Carlson regained the lead and held on over Brad Powell, Ty Majeski, Mike Carlson and Jack Litsheim at the finish.
“I’m having a pretty good year,” the veteran driver Carlson summarized.
The Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen Old Dutch Foods 15 went caution free, but did include some intense racing.  Jeff Thompson got out to the early lead from the outside of row one, but it was Tony Leis, the sixth place starter, that showed he had the fastest car.  By Lap three, Leis’ car was
hooked up and passed Thompson for the lead.
Point leader Nick Clements started ninth and fought traffic all race long, and ended up with a top five.  With five laps to go, Bill Martin broke out of a four car pack ahead of Clements and Brian Hesselberg to take third.  Leis took the win, followed by Thompson, Martin, Clements and Hesselberg.
Auto Value Thunderstox took to the track for the Old Dutch 15 with Scott Mahlum on the pole.  Mahlum spun on the frontstretch just after the green flew, leaving Kyle Lockington to take the lead.  With five laps to go, Lockington and Bill Schott began a spirited battle for the remaining laps.  At the finish the two cars got together in turn four heading to the line, and it was Schott spinning as he took the win, edging out Lockington. Charles Vian Jr., Andy Moore and Kaleb Hardy completed the top five. Schott was later disqualified in post-race inspection, handing the win to the Rookie Lockington for his first in the Thunderstox division.
Marc Luethe claimed his first ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornet feature win, holding off Steve Bornitz, Jeff Thompson, Nate Towner and Jeff Von Ruden.  A big melee thrilled the fans as several cars spun as they crossed the finish line on the final lap.
The next event on the Speedway calendar is on June 27th, featuring the Late Models, Sportsmen, Thunderstox, Street Stocks, The Klement’s Racing Sausages, and an Outhouse Race. For more information please call the Speedway office at (608) 786-1525 or visit www.lacrossespeedway.com.
LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is a proud NASCAR Hometrack, part of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series – www.hometracks.nascar.com.
-LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Press Release.  Photo Credit:  LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Photo
Kwik Trip NASCAR Late Models
Old Dutch Foods 25 Feature (17 cars) — 1, Steve Carlson, West Salem, 2. Brad Powell, LaCrosse, 3. Ty Majeski, Seymour, 4. Mike Carlson, West Salem, 5. Shawn Pfaff, Sparta, 6. Jack Litsheim, LaCrosse, 7. Matthew Henderson, LaCrosse,  8. Harley Jankowski, Sparta, 9. Adam Degenhardt, Coon Valley, 10. Jason Dummer, Holmen, 11. Jerimy Wagner, Onalaska, 12. Curt Eckelberg, West Salem, 13. Jonathan Eckelberg, West Salem, 14. Jimmy Summerfield, 15. Cole Howland, LaCrosse, 16. Carter Christenson, West Salem, 17. Cam Dezelske, LaCrosse
Qualifying — 1, Ty Majeski, 19.907 sec., 98.634 mph, 2. Steve Carlson, 20.049, 97.935, 3. Brad Powell, 20.078, 97.794,  4. Shawn Pfaff, 20.146, 97.464, 5. Mike Carlson, 20.181, 97.294, 6. Matthew Henderson, 20.184, 7. Harley Jankowski, 20.204, 8. Adam Degenhardt, 20.217, 9. Jerimy Wagner, 20.268, 10.Cole Howland,  20.343, 11. Jack Litsheim, 20.838, 12. Carter Christenson, 20.901, 13. Jason Dummer, 20.941, 14. Curt Eckelberg, 21.825, 15. Jonathan Eckelberg, 21.857, 16. Cam Dezelske, 24.485,
Six for Six Dash – 1. Mike Carlson, 2. Brad Powell, 3. Ty Majeski, 4. Matthew Henderson, 5. Steve Carlson
Heat Race  — 1, Cole Howland, 2. Adam Degenhardt, 3. Jerimy Wagner, 4. Harley Jankowski, 5. Jack Litsheim
Dean’s Satellite Sportsmen
Old Dutch Foods 15 Feature (13 cars) — 1, Tony Leis, Middle Ridge,  2. Jeff Thompson, LaCrosse, 3. Bill Martin, Madison, 4. Nick Clements, West Salem, 5. Brian Hesselberg, West Salem, 6.Brad Warthan, Sparta, 7. Jamie Dummer, Tomah, 8. Justin Mullikin, Holmen, 9. Bob Fort, Fountain City,  10. Mark Challet, Bangor, 11. Mandi Eckelberg, West Salem, 12. Andy Buhrow, Sparta, 13. John Radtke, LaCrosse
Qualifying — 1, Nick Clements, 21.830 sec., 89.945 mph,  2. Tony Leis, 22.093, 88.874, 3. Brian Hesselberg, 22.270, 88.168, 4. Bill Martin, 22.272, 88.160, 5. Jamie Dummer, 22.340, 87.892, 6. Justin Mullikin, 22.388, 7. Bob Fort, 22.946, 8. Jeff Thompson, 22.955, 9. Andy Buhrow, 23.308, 10. Mark Challet, 23.474, 11. Mandi Eckelberg, 23.529, 12. John Radtke, 23.779, 13. Brad Warthan, 24.706
Six for Six Dash – 1.  Tony Leis, 2. Nick Clements, 3. Justin Mullikin, 4. Bill Martin, 5. Brian Hesselberg
Heat Race — 1, Jeff Thompson,  2. Brad Warthan, 3. Bob Fort, 4. Andy Buhrow,
Auto Value Thunderstox
Old Dutch Foods 15 Feature (12 cars) — 1. Kyle Lockington, Mindoro, 2. Charles Vian Jr., Sparta, 3. Andy Moore, Sparta, 4. Kaleb Hardy, Sparta, 5. Jacinda Pfaff, Sparta, 6. Ron White, Camp Douglas, 7. Melissa Rusch, LaCrosse, 8. Nathan White, Rockland, 9. Kayla Lockington, Mindoro, 10. Megan Scholze, Sparta, 11. Scott Mahlum, LaCrosse
Heat 1 — 1, Andy Moore, 2. Kyle Lockington, 3. Jacinda Pfaff, 4. Scott Mahlum, 5. Kayla Lockington
Heat 2 — 1, Bill Schott, 2. Charles Vian Jr., 3. Kaleb Hardy, 4. Nathan White, 5. Melissa Rusch
Dash – 1. Andy Moore, 2. Charles Vian Jr., 3. Kyle Lockington, 4. Bill Schott
ANTS Complete Pest Control Hornets
Old Dutch Foods 15 Feature (20 cars) — 1, Marc Luethe, West Salem, 2. Steve Bornitz, Bangor, 3. Jeff Thompson, LaCrosse, 4. Nate Towner, Trempealeau, 5. Jeff Von Ruden, Norwalk, 6. Garrett Thicke, West Salem, 7. Kim Strom, West Salem, 8. Travis Lee, Chaseburg, 9. John Towner, Trempealeau, 10. Hunter Miller, West Salem, 11. Kris Berg, Ettrick, 12. Tom Luethe, West Salem, 13. Brandon LeMoine, West Salem, 14. Sammy Linnehan, Sparta, 15. Josh Viner, LaCrosse, 16. Jim Thompson, Galesville, 17. Jake Schomers, LaCrescent, 18. John Piotrowski, Black River Falls, 19. Patrick Thicke, West Salem, 20. Matt Cornell, LaCrosse
B-Feature (Top 5 Advance) – 1. Josh Viner, 2. Jim Thompson, 3. Hunter Miller, 4. Sammy Linnehan, 5. John Piotrowski, 6. Robert Stanfield, LaCrosse, 7. Cheyanne Stanfield, Sparta, 8. Cheyanne Williamson, LaCrosse, 9. Jonathan Burbach, Winona, 10. Matt Miller, LaCrosse, 11. Paul Mahlum III, Holmen, 12. Kevin Thompson, Galesville, 13. Jordan Freehill, LaCrosse
Heat 1 — 1, Nate Towner, 2. Jeff Thompson, 3. Brandon LeMoine, 4. Jeff Von Ruden, 5. Matt Cornell
Heat 2 — 1, Steve Bornitz, 2. Marc Luethe, 3. Patrick Thicke, 4. Tom Luethe, 5. Jake Schomers
Heat 3 — 1, John Towner, 2. Kris Berg, 3. Garrett Thicke, 4. Kim Strom, 5. Travis Lee

Carlson Charges Through The Pack To Win at LaCrosse