Canadian Racer Scores Southern All Stars Triumph

RACE RECAPMARYVILLE, TN–The Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series presented by Max Fab made its first stop of the season Friday night at the Smoky Mountain Speedway and the series had another first time winner as Ricky Weiss of Headingly, MB became the first international winner with the Southern All Stars as he took the lead from pole sitter Ashton Winger on lap 11 and cruised to the win.  Chris Madden came home in the second spot from his 7th starting spot, Winger brought home third, Jimmy Owens finished fourth and Brandon Overton rounded out the top five from his 11th starting spot.


Vic Hill finished sixth, Michael Page seventh, Kyle Strickler eighth, David Breazeale ninth and Donald McIntosh tenth.


RACE TIDBITS: 2018 Southern All Stars Champion Jay Scott failed to make the show due to power steering issue, took a provisional and used Mark Dodson’s car to start the event.  Point leader Riley Hickman debuted his new Barry Wright chassis.  David Breazeale took over the points lead.  Outside pole sitter Jonathan Davenport has motor issues that took him out of race, Kyle Strickler and Cameron Marlar made their first career Southern All Stars starts.


Weiss Sponsors: Sweet/Bloomquist/Vic Hill Racing Engines/Derricks Sandblasting/AE Communications


Car Count: 36


SUNOCO RACE FUELS GROUP QUALIFYING: Group A: Ashton Winger Group B Jonathan Davenport


Knowles Race Parts Fast Qualifier: Jonathan Davenport


PPM Race Products B Mains: Brandon Overton, Robby Moses, Michael Brown, Michael Page


AR Bodies Last Car Lead Lap: Tyler Millwood


COR Suspensions 10th Place Finisher: Donald McIntosh


36 Racing & Fabrication Hard Charger: Tyler Millwood


BrakeOMeter 4th Place Finisher Award: Jimmy Owens


Rugged Radios Communications Award: Ricky Weiss


Results Pending Tire Test: 1.Ricky Weiss; 2.Chris Madden; 3.Ashton Winger; 4.Jimmy Owens; 5.Brandon Overton; 6.Vic Hill; 7.Michael Page; 8.Kyle Strickler; 9.David Breazeale; 10.Donald McIntosh; 11.Tyler Millwood; 12.Michael Brown; 13.Robby Moses; 14.Billy Franklin; 15.Austin Smith; 16.Zack Leonhardi; 17.Tommy Kerr; 18.Dakotah Knuckles; 19.Gary McPherson; 20.Shannon Buckingham; 21.Jonathan Davenport; 22.Riley Hickman; 23.Camerson Marlar; 24.Jay Scott


DNS: Bobby Giffin; Harrison Hall; Chicky Barton; David Crabtree; Pierce McCarter; Eddie King Jr; Mark Dodson; Scott Cook; John Tweed; Ryan King; Nick Hoffman; Andrew Littleton


For more information concerning the Southern All Stars contact Lynn Acklin – General Manager: 256-924-4546


-Southern All Star Dirt Racing Series Press Release and Photo

Canadian Racer Scores Southern All Stars Triumph