First-Time Super Late Model Winner Celebrates at New Smryna

Battles raged throughout the field in the Super Late Model feature on Night Two of the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway (FL).  Ahead of them, however, Jesse Love was sailing smoothly to his first career Super Late Model win.


Love started second in the 35-lap Super Late Model feature but quickly jumped to the lead and never looked back, cruising to the victory against a stout field of racers.


In victory lane, Love was overjoyed to score the monumental win.


“It’s awesome,” Love told Speed51.  “I can’t thank these guys enough.  I love this race track.  We’ve been here a few days now and we’re having a ton of fun.”


The Menlo Park, California driver competing for Wimmer Motorsports hopes to carry this momentum into the rest of the World Series, both in the Super Late Model and in his ARCA Menards Series East debut on Monday.


“Hopefully we can keep this rolling in the ARCA race and keep this momentum up.  It should be a fun weekend and week two.  If we can keep this going, maybe we can get a championship under our belts.”


Love, a champion in both Midgets and Junior Late Models on the West Coast, was able to celebrate his first career Super Late Model win.


“I ran Super Late Models a bit last year.  To come out here and run on a big stage like this in front of great people and great fans for a great team, it’s really awesome.”


Derek Griffith rallied from a sixth-place qualifying effort to finish second and take the points lead in the World Series’ Super Late Model division.  He leads Brad May by four points after May finished third, as both drivers matched their finishing positions from opening night.


Colin Garrett finished fourth, with Augie Grill taking the fifth spot.  Garrett and opening night winner Sammy Smith were both running in podium positions for most of the race, but contact between the two dropped them in the standings as Smith finished sixth.


Super Late Models – Night #2 Unofficial Results

121Jesse Love2
212GDerek Griffith6
39Brad May8
424Colin Garrett1
5112Augie Grill3
651Sammy Smith4
774Ryan Moore11
820Anthony Sergi7
935Jake Garcia9
1044Justin Mondeik12
1113Austin MacDonald15
1211David Rogers17
13148Max Calles-McDonald5
149TPatrick Thomas20
1512DDavid Green13
1639Kyle Sieg14
1750Jett Noland10
189BTrey Bayne16
1901Vincent Staggs18
20112WSteve Weaver, Jr.19


-Story by: Zach Evans, Speed51 Content Supervisor – Twitter: @ztevans

-Photo credit: Speed51 photo

First-Time Super Late Model Winner Celebrates at New Smryna