Cape Carteret, NC — Cale Gale scored his first Modified win Saturday night at Carteret County Speedway over a tenacious Zach Brewer. Cale slipped past Brewer with nine laps to go and held on for the win.


Sixteen KOMA Unwind Modified Madness Series moss made the tow to Bobby Watson’s new track near North Carolina’s Crystal Coast for only the second event at the nicest track on the east coast. Fourteen years in the making was worth the wait as local fans and series regulars file through the gates at CCS Saturday evening for qualifying.


The fastest car in practice all day long was the J2 of Jeremy Mayfield and Mayfield didn’t let his fans down in qualifying by blistering the field by 3/10 of a second. KOMA Unwind newcomer, Dean Ward, dusted off the Harpe Motorsports #71 and qualified second ahead of Jason Myers, Brewer and A.J. Winstead. Burt Myers, Mike Norman, Gale, Tom Buzze and Dan Speeney rounded out the top ten ahead of Jimmy Wallace, Jerry Scott, Daniel Yates, Jason Tutterow and Andy Jankowiak. Buddy Ellis started shotgun on the field after rear gearing issues caused him to miss his qualifying attempt.


Mayfield made the right lane choice on the initial start and pulled out to a comfortable lead over Ward, Jason Myers, Winstead and Burt Myers. A scheduled caution period at lap 25 to allow Southern Modified Race Tour Officials to check tire wear closed the field to Mayfield’s bumper.


The restart went south quickly as the cars of Brewer, Jankowiak, Speeney and Ellis tangled entering turn one. All the cars drove away from the scene and all pitted to check for minor damage and continued. Mayfield maintained his spot at the point and motored away from the field until a lap 42 caution for a spin involving Yates and Tom Buzze brought out the caution flag. Both cars continued and the pit strategy began. The Myers brothers, Buzze and Andy “J” made their mandatory stop and some changed their allotted tire and made other adjustments.


Mayfield remained at the head of the pack for the restart with Mike Norman, Brewer, Ward and Jimmy Wallace in tow while Gale, the Myers boys and Jankowiak rode mid-pack conserving their tires until a lap 89 caution for a three car accident involving Norman, Winstead and Ellis. Ellis continued but the night was over for Norman and Winstead who were having great runs. Mayfield, Ward, Gale and others completed their required stops leaving Brewer at the point. Brewer led for two laps before Gale took over the point. Caution flew for the final time on lap 97 when Mayfield’s good run ended when he cut a tire and spun.


On the restart the filed closed too quickly on the pace car and the field bunched up behind the leaders. After everyone got sorted out, the “Lightning McQueen” look-a-like #95 of Gale was at the point with Brewer in hot pursuit. Brewer chased Gale down and made the pass for the lead on lap 104 and appeared to have things under control until Gale chased him down and made the final pass on lap 117.


Brewer held of a fast closing Jankowiak, Burt and Jason Myers to claim second. Ward finished sixth in his first KOMA Unwind start ahead of Daniel Yates, Wallace, Mayfield and Ellis. Wallace was the “Mod Light” winner over Gwyn.


The first nine cars finished o the lead lap. There were four lead changes between three drivers. Mayfield led the most laps with 87 while Gale let led 23 and Brewer led 15. Gale had the fastest lap of the race on lap 119 with a time of 15.570 seconds. Yates earned the “Hard Charger” of the race bonus points moving from his 13th starting spot to claim seventh at the finish.


Burt Myers remains the KOMA Unwind Modified Madness Series point leader over Jason Myers, Speeney, Wallace and Ellis.


October 24, 2015

Cale Gale, Zach Brewer, Andy Jankowiak, Burt Myers, Jason Myers, Dean Ward, Daniel Yates, Jimmy Wallace, Jeremy Mayfield, Buddy Ellis, Darrell Gwyn, Mike Norman, A.J. Winstead, Tom Buzze, Dan Speeney, Jason Tutterow


-KOMA Unwind Modified Madness Series Press Release & Photo

Gale Parks It in KOMA Victory Lane for First Time