In this edition of By the Numbers on, our resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at this weekend’s Valley Star 300 at Martinsville Speedway in Virginia.


2: In years past the top two drivers lock in through time trials and sit out the heat races on Sunday.  Who will be those lucky drivers this time around?


300x250 Martinsville Valley Star Club 47 20163: Philip Morris is the only three-time winner of the race.  He took the honors in 2000, 2010 and 2012.  Morris has 17 starts in the big race with eight top 10 finishes.


6: Despite being in the wall and coming across the line sideways while getting t-boned, Timothy Peters was in the top five for a record sixth time in his career last year.  Peters, the 2005 winner was sniffing a win coming to the line in 2015.  We will see what he can do this year.


8: Matt Bowling raced at eight NASCAR Whelen All-American Series tracks to win his national title this year. Some of those he had never seen and he went to victory lane.  While he has raced at Martinsville before, he has never visited Victory Lane. Could this be the year?


16: Lee Pulliam won 16 times this season and secured another track title at Motor Mile Speedway (VA). Perhaps he will have to win the Martinsville race for people to stop saying he’s had a down year.  The new daddy is seeking a historic, record-tying third win at Martinsville.


22: This is the 22nd year of the Valley Star Credit Union 300.  Late Model racing has long been a staple at the paper clip, but this event has been the marquee show since the mid-90’s


25: There will be three 25-lap heats and a 25-lap last chance race to help set the field for the main event.


27: Tommy Lemons Jr. has won two of the last three Martinsville events and he finished third in the other.  He will be one to watch come Sunday.


90: Nearly 90 drivers took part in the test last week at Martinsville.  We could have over 100 cars this year for the 300.


200:  The main event is 200 laps broken up into three segments.  There will be competition cautions on lap 100 and lap 175.  Teams can only fuel at lap 100 and there will be a blind draw among the top 10.  The teams can take tires and make adjustments at lap 175.


550: Over 550 drivers have run or attempted to run.  The list is likely more, but records were not kept well in the early years.  That’s a lot of broken dreams.


653: Number of laps that Philip Morris has led at Martinsville. If he has that No. 01 machine rolling just right he could be tough.  He ran a lot of laps this year and should solidly be in the field after a good test.


$25,000:  Not too many races can say they pay this much, plus the winner gets a clock too.  Not a bad Sunday drive for one driver.


Past Winners 

2015 Tommy Lemons Jr.

2014 Lee Pulliam

2013 Tommy Lemons Jr.

2012 Philip Morris

2011 Lee Pulliam

2010 Philip Morris

2009 Jake Crum

2008 Jason York

2007 Dennis Setzer

2006 Alex Yontz

2005 Timothy Peters

2004 Tony McGuire

2003 Jamey Caudill

2002 Frank Deiny, Jr.

2001 Phil Warren

2000 Philip Morris

1999 Robert Powell

1998 Dexter Canipe

1997 Billy Hogan

1996 B.A. Wilson

1995 Tony McGuire


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

BY THE NUMBERS: Valley Star 300 at Martinsville (VA)