Modified racers from throughout the Northeast will make their way to the Jersey Shore this weekend for Turkey Derby XLIV at Wall Stadium Speedway (NJ).  To get you ready for the big race, we take a “by the numbers” look at the Turkey Derby.


3 – The Turkey Derby is a three-day event with 15 feature events on the schedule.


5 – Jimmy Blewett is the only five-time winner of the Turkey Derby at Wall Stadium.  Last year, he didn’t win the main event, but he did take down wins in the Dirt Modified and Sportsman class. His brother, the late John Blewett III, won four times.


300x250-51-network-201719 – According to Jimmy Blewett himself, he has 19 overall wins at the Turkey Derby.  Six of those have come in the SK/Wall Modified race. He also won the Dirt Modified race at the Turkey Derby last year.


44 – For those of you who struggle with roman numerals, this marks the 44th year for the Turkey Derby at Wall Stadium.


99 – The No. 99 ride of Jamie Tomaino is still plugging along at the Turkey Derby.  He was second back in 2002 and will be back in 2017 looking to follow up his 1981 victory.


100 – The SK/Wall Modified event will be 100 laps.


150 – The Tour-type Modified race will be 150 laps straight up.  In years past, it had been a segmented race, but not in the modern version.


$5,000 – The amount of the check that awaits the winners of the Tour-type Modified race and the SK Modified race.


Big Money Matt: With 18 wins this season, after taking the victory last week at Myrtle Beach Speedway (SC), “Big Money” Matt Hirschman looks to run his total to 20 with a possible sweep this weekend.  Hirschman is one of only two drivers who have swept the Modified races at the Turkey Derby.  Jimmy Blewett completed the sweep in 2003 and 2011.


Sleeper: Steven Reed won four races and finished second in points this year at Wall Stadium.  Look for him to run well in the Modifieds.


Past Winners of the Tour-type Modifeds Turkey Derby

2016 Matt Hirschman

2015 Ryan Preece

2014 Eric Mauriello

2013 Matt Hirschman

2012 Matt Hirschman

2011 Jimmy Blewett

2010 Jimmy Blewett

2009 Rowan Pennink

2008 Jimmy Blewett

2007 James Civali

2006 Jimmy Blewett

2005 John Blewett III

2004 John Blewett III

2003 Jimmy Blewett

2002 Ken Wooley, Jr.

2001 John Blewett III

2000 John Blewett III

1999 Martin Truex Jr.

1998 Dave Michel and Dave Garfinkel

1997 Eddie Bohn

1996 Eddie Bohn, Ken Wooley Jr.

1995 Eddie Bohn

1994 Brian Sisco

1993 Ken Wooley, Jr.

1992 Edward Bohn

1991 Tony Siscone

1990 Leonard Boyd

1989 Martin Truex Sr.

1988 Peter Britain

1987 Thomas Mauser

1986 Thomas Mauser

1985 Jerry Cramner

1984 John Blewett Jr.

1983 Edward Bohn

1982 Leonard Boyd

1981 Jamie Tomaino

1980 John Blewett Jr.

1979 George Kent

1978 Gil Hearne

1977 Gil Hearne

1976 James Hendrickson

1975 James Hendrickson

1974 Gil Hearne


Past SK/Wall Modified Winners 

2016 Matt Hirschman

2015  Jimmy Blewett

2014  Jimmy Blewett

2013  Anthony Sesely

2012  Zane Zeiner

2011  Jimmy Blewett

2010  Matt Hirschman

2009  Jimmy Blewett

2008  Rowan Pennink

2007  Justin Gumley

2006  Steve Reed

2005  Rich Mongeau

2004  Jimmy Blewett

2003  Jimmy Blewett

2002  Harry Reed


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Turkey Derby XLIV at Wall Stadium (NJ)