Tour-type Modifieds will have one last rodeo for the 2016 season this weekend when they travel to Wall Stadium Speedway (NJ) for Turkey Derby XLII.’s resident “Stat Boy” Elgin Traylor takes a look at the history of the race “by the numbers.”


3 – The Turkey Derby is a three-day event with 11 feature events.


5 – Jimmy Blewett is the only five-time winner of the Turkey Derby at Wall Stadium.  Last year he didn’t win the main event, but he did take down wins in the Dirt Modified and SK races. His brother, the late John Blewett III, won four times.


17 – According to Jimmy Blewett himself, he has 17 overall wins at the Turkey Derby.  Six of those have come in the SK event. Blewett will be running four times this weekend.


43 – This marks the 43rd year for the Turkey Derby at Wall Stadium for those of you who don’t do roman numerals.


51 – will have live Trackside Now coverage of the Turkey Derby on Friday and Saturday.


S 51 Network 07.2016


99 – The 99 ride of Jamie Tomaino is still plugging along at the Turkey Derby.  He was second back in 2002 and will be back in 2016 looking to follow up his win back in 1981.


100 – The SK/Wall Modified event will be 100 laps.  Jimmy Blewett won the event a year ago.


150 – The Tour-type Modified race will be 150 laps straight up.  In years past it had been a segmented race, bit not in the modern version.


$5,000 – The check that awaits the winner of the Tour-type Modified race.


Family Traditions: We mentioned the Blewett Family, but Tyler Truex will be on hand in the Tour Mod race looking to follow up the 1999 win by his cousin Martin Truex Jr.


Three is a Crowd:  Matt Hirschman, Jimmy Blewett and Rowan Pennink are three drivers who have won the SK / Wall Modified race and the Tour-type Race in their career.  Only Jimmy Blewett has won it in the same year and that was in 2003 and 2011.


Past Winners of the Turkey Derby

2015 Ryan Preece

2014 Eric Mauriello

2013 Matt Hirschman

2012 Matt Hirschman

2011 Jimmy Blewett

2010 Jimmy Blewett

2009 Rowan Pennink

2008 Jimmy Blewett

2007 James Civali

2006 Jimmy Blewett

2005 John Blewett III

2004 John Blewett III

2003 Jimmy Blewett

2002 Ken Wooley, Jr.

2001 John Blewett III

2000 John Blewett III

1999 Martin Truex Jr.

1998 Dave Michel and Dave Garfinkel

1997 Eddie Bohn

1996 Eddie Bohn, Ken Wooley Jr.

1995 Eddie Bohn

1994 Brian Sisco

1993 Ken Wooley, Jr.

1992 Edward Bohn

1991 Tony Siscone

1990 Leonard Boyd

1989 Martin Truex Sr.

1988 Peter Britain

1987 Thomas Mauser

1986 Thomas Mauser

1985 Jerry Cramner

1984 John Blewett Jr.

1983 Edward Bohn

1982 Leonard Boyd

1981 Jamie Tomaino

1980 John Blewett Jr.

1979 George Kent

1978 Gil Hearne

1977 Gil Hearne

1976 James Hendrickson

1975 James Hendrickson

1974 Gil Hearne


Past SK/Wall Modified Winners 

2015 Jimmy Blewett

2014 Jimmy Blewett

2013 Anthony Sesely

2012 Zane Zeiner

2011 Jimmy Blewett

2010 Matt Hirschman

2009 Jimmy Blewett

2008 Rowan Pennink

2007 Justin Gumley

2006 Steve Reed

2005 Rich Mongeau

2004 Jimmy Blewett

2003 Jimmy Blewett

2002 Harry Reed


-By Elgin Traylor, Southeast Correspondent – Twitter: @ElginTraylor

-Photo credit:

By the Numbers: Turkey Derby XLIII at Wall Stadium (NJ)